We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for the photographer?”
Review of Brighton Beach

Brighton Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.67*
and up
Twilight Bike Tour of Brighton
More Info
$25.57*
and up
Cycling Tour of Brighton City
Ranked #6 of 167 things to do in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something for the photographer?”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A little something from the bygone era on a freezing and dreary dark winters day are the remains of the Iconic west pier. A Sad neglected, rejected beautiful piece of architecture buffeting in the waves. Built in 1866 and left to decay since 1975 a relic has been born, hungry for the photographer to leave history from history. I adore it. To take something that to some may be a wreck and love it is rebirth in my eyes. I am a photographer and see beauty in everything. If you love photography and have not photographed Brighton's West Pier yet, then Hurry for soon it will be gone. When you have done that go to the Pavilion and capture the array of turrets and beauty there… but one thing, make sure you go on a miserable day!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,364
    1,221
    461
    119
    60
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Brighton beach is very good the only bad things about it are the beach has rubbish in it but a good relaxing fun time for couples teenagers and teen also solo and friends no fee but there is pay for parking

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Daisy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a place full of life”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I visited Brighton Beach on a Sunday evening expecting it to be quiet, how wrong I was, there were more people on the beach at 7 p.m.than there are during the day at most coastal resorts. It was a fun and enjoyable experience. There are so many places to eat, drink and visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank john t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the first beach I have been to in the UK that doesn't have sand (I don't believe there is any in the North where I am) so I found that quite odd, but really nice, it's pleasant to not have to get sand out of everywhere when you get in the car.

It was absolutely baking when we went (about 28 degrees) so it was pretty packed, but not so much that you couldn't find anywhere to sit. And if you walk further to the marina (I think, one of the furthest points away when you get the train) it is very quiet, although not near the food places.

It's clean which is so important, loads of seagulls around, but don't feed them your chips, some people got really angry at me for doing this but we were literally surrounded by them anyway, and I didn't want to just bin the food. I wasn't going to eat.

I really enjoyed it. Also, just off the pier there is a little shop where I believe the owner was an Olympic torch bearer, and he was letting people hold it and have pictures taken of him with it. I thought that was cute, so have a little look at that

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbchannel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
328 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 535 helpful votes
“Hot Spot in Brighton”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a beach that is always crowded even until the early mornings were you see people jogging, or simply just going home from late night partying from the restaurants along the beach. This is a "Hot SPot" in Brighton due to numerous bars, restaurants and fun things to do(wading pool , merry go round etc).

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brighton Beach also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Brighton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing