We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 97 Brighton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Only visited Brighton for one day so needed somewhere to stay for the night. Booked this last minute after reading reviews. Was really impressed, nice and clean and had personality. Staff/owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing, no wonder the reviews all mention this, they were great :)
Only thing is the rooms are on the small side, not a problem for us, but if you're big/clumsy it might be a problem
Otherwise couldn't fault it and would stay again if I ever came to Brighton or would recommend to someone else

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    174
    55
    19
    12
See reviews for
59
437
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Initially attracted by the amusing name, then the lovely pictures and reviews, I decided to surprised my boyfriend on his birthday with weekend away at in Brighton at Motel Schmotel. Our room (room 2) was small but very cute and spotlessly clean- we couldn't ask for any more from it!!
The owners were delightful, friendly and helpful!
The highlight was their AMAZING breakfasts which we served in bed. They even put a candle on my boyfriend's breakfast which was such a wonderful touch, really put a smile on his face- thank you.
Would highly recommend Motel Schmotel as your base to explore brighton!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Isobel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Motel Schmotel is a lovely place to stay, it is handy to everything in Brighton, you can walk everywhere! It is in a quiet area, away from the main stretch. We stayed at the top of the house facing onto Russell Square which is nice & quiet. The room was lovely & clean, it was small but we knew that before we arrived and it did the job that we needed it to as we were hardly there, just to sleep & shower! The owners were lovely & very friendly & the breakfast in the morning was fabulous! Would definitely recommend this place :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Level Contributor
113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

The owners are a very pleasant couple who obviously work hard to make a success of the business.The rooms which we had ( we changed after one night) were very small with limited storage. The en suite shower rooms were especially cramped and in need of some TLC. The outside 'patio' also needed a good clean up to make it pleasant to have a coffee or a drink there.
The breakfasts were good, and the staff very cheerful and helpful.Good for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Schmotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend and enjoyed our stay.

Pros - Room was very clean, staff very helpful and polite, breakfast was extremely good and very relaxed.
Cons - Room was tiny, although we were aware of this, it really is tiny!! wireless wasnt working when we stayed which was a bit of a pain but this was being rectified. main bugbear though LACK of parking. I had to queue for over an hour to get an overnight parking space at a nearby NCP carpark, this didnt start the break too well. If you can arrange parking prior to staying that would make life easier, this may have just because there were roadworks and it was a bank holiday weekend but worth bearing in mind.

Otherwise I would definitely recommend Hotel Schmotel if I could book a bigger room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JangoFettl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our room was small but clean and modern with good facilities for the size and set in beautiful building. Staff were very welcoming upon arrival and we had a lovely chat with one of the owners over breakfast. The food was excellent, one of the best breakfasts we've had. Located was very close to the beach in a pretty square with several parking options nearby. We were particularly impressed that we were told to text a request of anything we needed and someone would pick it up from a shop for us. Only downside was that we were told the following day that we could have been upgraded to a larger room when we checked in but were not offered this at the time. The owner was however very apologetic about this and did let us stay an extra couple of hours in their parking space. Overall very enjoyable stay and a great atmosphere, will definitely stay here again when we return to Brighton.

Room Tip: Room number 7 is apparently the smallest so if you have booked this one ask if you can upgrade when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We visited Motel Schmotel (me and 2 friends) shortly after it opened in 2007. We loved the atmosphere the welcome and the breakfast in bed, so to celebrate one of the friends 50th we decided to return. Again, faultless. We appreciated the warm but not invasive welcome. The breakfast was great and the room lovely. This is my first review for trip advisor, but realising how much people use it to make their decisions regarding somewhere to stay, I felt I had to comment. Fabulous! Have already planned a return trip with husband!

Room Tip: We have slept in the triple at the top and the triple in the middle. The top was probably quieter b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Granville Hotel
The Granville Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#61 of 97 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#11 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 97 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.8 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 97 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brighton House
Brighton House
#14 of 97 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing