We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Schmotel”
Review of Motel Schmotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Schmotel
Ranked #35 of 93 Brighton B&B and Inns
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel Schmotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Really liked it. Slightly quirky and definitely family run. Loved the style of building (Victorian square) and location - 3min walk to town and beach.
Rooms have a personal touch and makes you feel really welcome, and not part of a chain.
Our room had a bath in it and breakfast was delivered to the room as requested bang on time - top breaky as well! The breakfast room next door can be heard from this room, but if you're getting up early anyway it shouldnt matter.
Only one parking spot so book it early!

Room Tip: Basement room with bath next to breakfast room so a bit noisey - nice little courtyeard off the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    177
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
61
440
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 of our surveyors who stayed here on 14/5/12 for 1 night. I booked last minute & the service was excellent from the start.

The owner was so professional, polite, and friendly. He went above and beyond to accommodate our last minute booking and everything even down to emailing the invoice and texting our surveyors with the information they needed was done efficiently and professionally.

Feedback from the surveyors (2 guys and a lady) was that this was the best hotel they have stayed in this year. They all loved it (and trust me they stay in a LOT of hotels across the country!).

Food - excellent (home cooked breakfast made to order with fresh quality produce).

Service - Faultless.

Location - Walking distance to town

Parking - There are only a few spaces at the hotel so pre-booking is a good idea if poss, but they parked on the residential area for free between 8pm and 8am, and there was an NCP car park nearby also so it wasnt an issue. Parking in brighton is generally a problem so this is the same for most hotels.

Rooms - Lovely, clean and "quirky" but classy.

Room Tip: The manager offered a ground floor room because it was windy and the top floor can be a bit more noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnakebab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What can we say about this place that hasn't already been said?
This was our 5th stay (i think) with Amsy + Paul and the consistency is still there. Fantastic service from the moment we arrived to when we left, excellent yummy breakfasts, helpfull as ever, room was spot on and the patio is a great touch! A great 3 night stay.
Can't wait to stay again this really makes our stay in brighton.

Thanks Guys! :D

Room Tip: Room 3 is a great little upgrade with a bit more room and double glazing that helps keep any noise o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kida2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Nice location on a square with no passing traffic, close to the beach and town centre. Owners were really friendly and helpful when we asked for advice about places to eat etc. Highlight was the breakfast, which you can have in bed, and is worth staying for alone. Room was nice and very clean, although the bathroom in room 1 was a bit of a squeeze. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Really good location for The Lanes and beach. Very nice owners who were extremey helpful. Confortable bed and excellent breakfasts. Would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this adorable little B&B that's two minutes from the sea and brings you breakfast in bed as standard.

I stayed in room 4, which was a good size with a shower, double bed, hair dryer, balcony, free wi-fi, basically all the needs of a girl travelling alone fulfilled. There was a mini fridge with milk and water, and Penguin biscuits!

I arrived late but the owners let me know where my keys would be waiting, and I had no trouble finding my room and getting settled in. The room was cosy and the next morning they brought a lovely breakfast to my room, with homemade bread, kippers and poached eggs.

Despite the fact I was on a business trip this made me feel like I was just staying with a friend, or at my mum's. I travel to Brighton around once a month and have stayed in all the big hotels, but from now on I'll only stay at Motel Schmotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different quirks, so ask before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked this hotel following recommendations from my parents and sister and were not disappointed! We were met with a friendly reception from the owners who were extremely helpful and obliging. We stayed in room 10 with the bath, which is a good size and nicely decorated to a good standard. The hotel is a great base for exploring Brighton, being close to the town and not far from the seafront. After a night out on the town, the delicious (and absolutely massive!) home-cooked breakfast in bed was greatly appreciated! We are planning to move to Brighton within the next 12 months and will certainly stay here again in the meantime.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Churchill Brighton
Churchill Brighton
#43 of 93 in Brighton
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitburn Lodge
Whitburn Lodge
#23 of 93 in Brighton
434 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.8 mi away
Cavalaire Hotel
Cavalaire Hotel
#5 of 93 in Brighton
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#13 of 93 in Brighton
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Schmotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Schmotel

Property: Motel Schmotel
Address: 37 Russell Square, Brighton BN1 2EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on pretty Russell Square, smack bang in the centre of it all, you will be 2 min. walk from the main shopping centre, Brighton's fantastic beach, car parks, The Lanes, Hove and The Brighton Centre for gigs and conferences. All our rooms are en suite (en suites refurbished in May 2008), with clean fresh bed linen, fluffy white towels, tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk. Free view and Wi-Fi are in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Motel Schmotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Schmotel Hotel Brighton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing