We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance?”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed July 22, 2014

There's no critiquing the location of this hotel- very close to the city centre, the lanes and the beach- perfect. The bar downstairs is lovely- small, but nice. My room was 'funky'- all white and orange, with a bed just floating around in the middle of the room. There was something about it that just screamed 'easyjet' though- white/orange, quite basic, minimalistic. The bathroom/shower room was like being in a cockpit of a plane- it all felt very modern. The carpark is AWFUL though- underground, tiny, with pillars that scrape the side of your car at every turn! (plus expensive, at £19 a day)- speaking of expensive, I had to pay extra for breakfast- £10- for serve-yourself cereal and cold croissants.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyFace28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 2,291 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stay here! You won't be disappointed! Attention to detail is second to none! We stayed for our 11th wedding anniversary this time and could have moved in! Highly recommended! Very modern and funky yet felt so at home!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panzi1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfect If you want a night out somewhere fun and at the heart of things. The standard room was spacious, clean and totally cool - lots of fab little design features which set it apart from your typical hotel. You dont have to go far to eat and drink. The bar downstairs is a must -very trendy and with good music.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

What's the definition of a hotel?
Certainly not this.! Okay so it looked quirky, but beyond that it had nothing to offer in terms of facilities. The room was beyond basic and the decor was cheap. My room overlooked a back yard full of bins that were overflowing with rubbish. After a busy day I settled down to a good nights sleep. No chance! The noise from below went on and on and on. I couldn't leave the " hotel " fast enough. When we left 2 nights earlier than intended to move hotels, they didn't even ask why! I'm guessing it's not the first time this has happened to them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is like a really chic, stylish Travelodge but with so much more! The rooms are colour-coded per floor and have speakers built into the ceiling with a jack to play your own music! The bathroom is open plan but so cool. The frosted glass door didn't bother me, no different to an actual wooden door in a travelodge - just ask the person to put the TV on - or some music in the ceiling speakers! High quality bathroom freebies too.

The best bit about our stay was the bed. The most comfortable bed I've slept on. I asked the receptionist where they got the mattress and they said they would happily find out and email me! Service very good and friendly also. They even do an "express checkout" where you can just fill in a form which is popped under your door in the morning with the card and pass to reception, sorting out any extra charges later! Location convenient, right on the North Lanes shopping district and only 10 mins walk to the station. Would definitely come back and recommend!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Redfoxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a hotel with a difference and funky. Service is good and the rooms light and airy and it has free wifi. There were some little design issues with the room e.g. no light switch near the bathroom so the light had to be left on all night, but otherwise it is clean and has a different feel to the run of the mill. Has a great coffee place attached (Small Batch Coffee Co) and all the amenities on the door step.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The MyHotel Brighton offers an interesting and unique visual look however the overall experience is let down in several areas.

The room I was allocated, 190, was initially pleasant upon entry, however this soon changed when I noticed the large orange stain on the carpet, the fact the carpet didn't even fit properly and had come away from the join with the vinyl and then there was the view.... the spectacular view of a white wall, pavement and a pair of grey doors. Not what you expect from any hotel (unless stated no view), let alone a first floor window.

This is the first hotel I have come across where they restrict the number of devices you can connect to the wifi with. I therefore had the choice of which of my three devices to connect. I thought this may not be a problem as when I had one device turned off I could use the other - sadly this did not work and I simply got an error saying the password could not be used again.
Whilst this was a minor annoyance the major annoyance came when actually trying to use the Internet. It was very reminiscent of a dial-up modem, waiting for pages to load became tiresome very quickly. I found the next day that the Internet was much better until shortly after 5pm when it quickly ground to a halt again. I can only assume that the infrastructure cannot cope with the number of guests trying to use it, with the evening being more of a peak time at the hotel. I can only assume this is why there is a restriction to the number of devices a guest can use on it, but either way this is simply not adequate enough and needs serious review. Sure enough the wifi was painfully slow again for the rest of the night.

An interesting part of any hotel stay is working out which light switches control which lights. My room had the infamous switch which appears to control nothing, then a dimmer switch which I assume was meant to control the main lights but didn't want to dim a thing.

One positive was the plug socket next to the bedside table so you can charge your phone and leave it near you over night, something many hotels lack. That said, only one of the two provided next to the bed really worked properly, the other seemed to have a mind of its own as to when it actually wanted to work.

The "tablet sized safe" is just that and should be taken literally. The in-room speakers are a nice touch, however there should really be some literature on how to use the system. As this is something I am familiar with I had no problem but to someone else having a cable with a note saying 'feel free to use me but if you want to take me home there is a charge' is a little non descriptive as to what it is for.

The workstation is not designed for doing any work, the seat area positioned under the smallest part of it.

For £130 a night at a 4* hotel which describes itself as "luxury" you do not expect these flaws. I do not see how this room can be priced at the same rate as other standard doubles when it is in fact an 'inside' room, there may as well not be a window - you get no view from it and you could not even open it as it was locked shut. If the hotel fails to get the basics right on a standard double I would not want to pay more for a superior grade of room.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
7,965 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#17 of 43 in Brighton
2,316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $92 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing