We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location - Fantastic Hotel”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Brighton
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I booked a weekend stay here based on the reviews I had seen on TripAdvisor – and it definitely didn’t disappoint. Decorated in a modern contemporary style, the hotel is situated in the vibrant North Laine area of Brighton. Here you are surrounded by cafes, bars and all the entertainment you could require whilst visiting the city. The hotel is a stone throw from the Royal Pavilion and Komedia is just one street along.

We opted to stay in the Bamboo Studio – another good choice. It is beautiful corner room with feature circular bed, open plan bathroom, sound system to plug your ipod into and floor to ceiling curved windows.

The hotel has an underground car park but there is limited car parking space so I would suggest you request it at the time of booking. Parking in Brighton is not cheap and parking here will set you back £25 per night on the weekend, but we found it to be the easiest option.

The hotel has a very busy cocktail bar, a coffee shop selling exquisite coffee and pastries plus a very good Indian restaurant. We opted not to take breakfast at the hotel but visited Carluccios which is immediately opposite the front of the hotel – I can definitely recommend this.

The hotel provided the perfect base for our weekend away. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Although a little more expensive the corner studio rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Petplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,297 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked up a 3 night stay in Myhotel just for a little getaway, so had a reasonable budget and wanted something trendy and in a good location.

We got the train from London Victoria and after a very quick 50 minute journey and a 5 minute walk from the Brighton train station, we were at the doors of Myhotel! We were checked in with ease and in quick time and was asked where we'd prefer our room "on the 2nd or 3rd floor" - I had booked a more superior double and we decided to go for the 3rd floor.

Our room was a good size with a great bed and lovely floor to ceiling windows. Our room faced the library so the blinds came in handy as I'm sure people could see into the room from across the road, but as we were on the 3rd floor, I don't think too much was on show! The bathroom could be a little awkward as it's very open with see-through doors, but I didn't mind this so much. Only downside if I had to pick about the room would be that you can't open any windows for fresh air, yet there is aircon/heating you can use. There was no noise from outside or other guests, yet we did stay from Monday-Thursday so I expect weekends would be busier. But overall, we loved the room!

The bar downstairs was perfect, we finished our first night in here and I had the barman create a cocktail that wasn't on the menu for me, which he offered and was more than happy to make! Really friendly and helpful in there.

I had a perfect stay and loved the hotel, I'd definitely love to go back!

Room Tip: You can ask to leave luggage if you need to when you check out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked a one-night stay here to surprise my partner for her birthday and we both loved it.

Brighton has loads of traditional seaside hotels that can be more shabby than chic, but still with that certain charm. Brighton also boasts loads of B&Bs run by locals offering you a warm welcome, so long as you don't mind checking in at 4pm and are comfortable having no concierge or receptionist to call in case you have a problem.

Then there is Myhotel Brighton. A high-class hotel experience at competitive prices. For example our room was £25 more expensive than B&Bs offering a similar level of style but at least £30 cheaper than a sea-front chain hotel a brisk walk from the town centre.

We booked parking at £15 per night and had no problem asking at reception for directions to their car park - just two minutes and a trip around the block later we were in with no problems, although it will test your reverse parking skills, as it's underground you might find it a little snug.

The room itself - a superior double on the third floor - was more than sufficient for our one night stay, although next time I'd like to try something bigger. The bed was clean and comfy, the shower was brisk and all the usual facilities you'd expect were provided. The window was street-facing although we heard little if any street noise. Tip for you though: Our room had roller-blinds and not curtains, remember to use them wisely as there is a friendly-looking office block over the road!

We visited the bar for pre-dinner drinks and it was wonderful, very post-modern, effortlessly cool and guaranteed to impress. Despite their limited cocktail menu they can make pretty much anything you can think of so go armed with the name of your favourite drink and put their mixologists to the test.

We didn't sample the dinner or breakfast options as we were only in Brighton for a short while and you're not exactly short of options given the hotel's great central location.

Would definitely book again, if your partner is professional, image-savvy and likes to have somewhere fancy to brag about to their mates when they get home... Then this is the place!

Room Tip: Rooms to suit every budget but if you're looking to stretch your £££ further try booking through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damienstjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here as part of a business trip. It certainly isn't like most business hotels! The room is funky with a wall light fixture that had mood coloring. Nice double bed in the middle of the room with minimalist furniture. Tea, coffee, biscuits - the usual stuff was also on offer. The cafe downstairs serves breakfast with fabulous lattes although I found protein to be limited and therefore had the chocolate twist croissant (fabulous but not good for the waistline). Two downsides - no on site gym and no onsite restaurant beyond breakfast. No big issue in the sense that you are surrounded by good restaurants (the Chili Indian at the corner was good). Would definitely stay again but would request a room at the back as I'm a light sleeper and was kept awake by kids skating up and down the street and by the Tesco truck making early morning deliveries.

Room Tip: Light sleepers should ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Really snazzy modern themed hotel! I've stayed twice & both times I can't complain - room was brilliant and nicely decorated except it is a bit of a maze to find when you first get there!
Hotel staff couldn't be nicer and were so polite! Bar was amazing and the coffee shop do the best flat whites so try it!
Would recomment this hotel to anyone, I love it & will be staying again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place very unique wonderful service and amazing bar. If you like your vodka this is a must go to hotel. The room are well equiped and modern. the hotel location is ideal close to many great restaurants, bars and even close to the beach. Everyone is very helpful and keen to put you in the right direction.

Room Tip: All room are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Designer hotel right in the thick of Brighton life. Fab design and great bar. Parking is a challenge so gave up and parked elsewhere. Breakfast was unusual but very good. My teenager daughter particularly lived the whole experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fi0nac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#10 of 43 in Brighton
8,085 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 43 in Brighton
2,359 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#18 of 43 in Brighton
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 43 in Brighton
1,237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Malmaison Brighton
Malmaison Brighton
#14 of 43 in Brighton
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
Price Range: $92 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing