We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern style and nice location but some areas to improve”
Review of My Brighton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
My Brighton
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Brighton
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Modern style and nice location but some areas to improve”
Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

The modern decoration style is unique but, sometimes, too colorful. The location is great and there are nice restaurants and bars in the area, besides being close to all downtown attractions. The bedroom is bright and has clean decoration, but you have to keep blinds closed all the time for privacy, as there is an office building just in front. The bathroom has a glass door, which does not give you privacy. The shower is great, with glass door. You can plug your iPod/Pad/Phone into the wall and use the room speakers - nice. The breakfast is at a public café and the options are limited, besides the need to share tables - not so nice.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MTR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,057
    693
    299
    95
    65
See reviews for
168
1,287
79
262
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, great location for the lanes, not too far from seafront and plenty of great restaurants both chain and independent. 

Room fantastic, staff amazing (Esp Pippa) and although underground parking is £25 a night (so £1 an hour), it makes things so much easier.

Makes sure you book parking well in advance and also the Chilli Pickle restaurant as it has great recommendations and lauded as best Indian around.

Tip: try and get a room that faces Jubilee square and sit and chill out on the lounger chair in the window. But be warned the public walking past can see you. 

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank mcmark76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Spent two nigts with family in this great boutique hotel. Fantstic staff and loctaion and focus on design. This is third trip and it just gets beeter every time. It now has a michilen starred Indian restaurant attached, and although didn't get to use it, even the taxi drivers were enthusing about it. A must stay for the trip to Brighton.

Room Tip: Try and get room facing street so you can people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

Positives: great location, excellent staff and great contemporary design. Given free room upgrade on arrival. Super comfy bed. Free wifi.
Negatives: floor to ceiling glazed wall with office building directly opposite + no nets meant zero privacy unless you closed the roller blinds which were also inadequate at blocking out any daylight so woken at 5am as the sun rose. Main negative was that the room was already looking tired - stained vinyl floor, frayed carpet edge, missing wardrobe door, worn plastic sink, marked white walls, loose door handle. Had I paid the full advertised price I would have been seriously disappointed.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights when I was in Brighton for work. Being on my own I have to say I found this hotel really great! The hotel itself was really original, great decor and had a really good feel about it. The staff were also great - really friendly and helpful.

I stayed on a B&B basis and the continental breakfast was good - lots of choice although I do think £10 is a bit expensive for what was offered.

The location of the hotel was also very good especially as I was alone. There are lots of restaurants on the same street - so lots of choice without walking far!

Really impressed and would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

An exceptional design hotel with very nice staff, located in the centre of Brighton.
The Indian restaurant they recommend is also a great experience.
When you arrive at the hotel, you are asked to choose the colour of your room!
However, when register ask for a room not located on the street, quite noisy.

Room Tip: when register ask for a room not located on the street, quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dynamicturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We have stayed in Brighton many times and have found the hotels to be shabby and in need of TLC. This hotel is smart clean and couldn't be more central. It also had car parking, rare in Brighton where we have paid over £15 for 3 hours.
Although a little worried on arrival by the busy bar on the ground floor we had no problems sleeping and the excellent continental breakfast was a vast improvement from the terrible pool of congealed fat on our plates which had been the case on our last stay at a 4star on the seafront.
The staff were all happy and helpful, and are at this moment organising the return of a jumper that we left in the room. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Brighton
The Grand Brighton
#9 of 44 in Brighton
7,326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blanch House
Blanch House
#1 of 44 in Brighton
1,164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Brighton

Property: My Brighton
Address: 17 Jubilee Street, Brighton BN1 1GE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brighton
#6 Business Hotel in Brighton
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brighton
#7 Family Hotel in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — My Brighton 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Celebration of Brighton's Renegade Creativity Head into the heart of Brighton's beachside cultural life, the buzzing North Laine, and you'll find us - the naughty little brother of My Hotels. Inside we've combined the aesthetic ideas of New York designer Karim Rashid with cool artist studios created by local artisans to offer a futuristic and native flavour. Outside, the welcoming warren of creative independent shops, bars and eateries will have you dreaming about moving here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your My Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhotel Brighton Hotel Brighton
Myhotel Hotel Brighton
Brighton Myhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing