We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic brighton venue”

English's of Brighton
Ranked #41 of 1,189 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $104
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 27, 2013

4 of us had Sunday lunch there. Some of the best fish and chips in brighton (although the mushed peas were a little disappointing), lovely pea soup, bread from the flint owl bakery, fab scallops and a very tasty fish cake. Including drinks it came to about £30 a head. Not cheap but no worse than any of the other seafood restaurants in town. Staff were very pleasant and friendly with a very classy atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Preime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Preime
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is always a pleasure receiving such positive feedback. I have shared your comment s with the team.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 797 of 1,277 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

Having tried another fish venue on our previous visit we learnt our lesson and returned to this tried and tested favourite of ours, and we were so happy we did. We opted to sit at the bar this visit and we were thoroughly entertained and looked after by amazing and attentive staff. We enjoyed various starter and appetiser dishes as well as many of the fantastic oysters, the highlight was definitely the lobster bisque expression appetiser of which we ordered seconds! The wine was pretty good too! A wonderful place to spend a relaxed lunch and to come away feeling well looked after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulT73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear PaulT73
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at English’s of Brighton. We look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in the area.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The turbot for two was delicious and expertly filleted at our table. However we had mixed thoughts about the starter platter and sides; salmon and prawns were delicious but the fried calamari and croquettes were a little cold and not too exciting and the dauphinoise was disappointing. The restaurant is quaint but a little quiet and formal, and there were a few mishaps on the tables around us; forgotten side orders and queries about the bill. We had a nice evening and the fish is delicious but the atmosphere and service coupled with the hefty bill mean it's not somewhere we'll rush back to.

Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear sarahkc
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry that we did not hit the mark on this occasion. I do hope you give us another try.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

This dining experience could very much be described as hit and miss. The initial course consisted of rock oysters which were bland and tasteless. The hors d'oeuvres of mussels and pea & mint soup fared much better however. Both the soup and mussels were bursting with flavour. Additionally, the mains of plaice in a parsley sauce was delicious. It was perfectly cooked and consisted of a very generous portion. However, the accompanying potato dauphinoise were undercooked.

However what makes this a 3-star rather than 4-star experience is the ambiance of the restaurant itself. Whilst the outdoor terrace has ample space to accommodate diners, the indoor space is very cramped. Diners are squezzed into little pews on small tables whilst the waiters carefully ( and not always successfully) navigate the restaurant floor. This coupled with the price and hit & miss nature of the food on offer makes this a generous 3 stars.

Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Shane M
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied on this occasion. I sincerely hope you give us another try.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our expectations were raised by the reviews on Trip, so we were more than a little disappointed with our dining experience. I had the traditional fish and chips, which was quite bland and certainly not what I would expect from a pricey seaside restaurant that claims to be "The South's leading Seafood Restaurant and Oyster Bar". The service was competent, but rather stuffy and unenthusiastic. They added a generous 12.5% tip to the bill, which is always a really good way to annoy me and keep me from returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank OxfordDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear OxfordDan
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied on this occasion. I sincerely hope you give us another try.
Kind Regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English's of Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to English's of Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing