We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and really friendly service!”

English's of Brighton
Ranked #40 of 1,154 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Superb food and really friendly service!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My fiancé and I had dinner here during a weekend break in Brighton. We reserved a week or so before our stay and it was well worth going to the hassle. As it was a beautiful evening, we sat outside and watched the hustle and bustle of the square and listened to a rather good guitarist/singer who played there. Wonderful background music! We had oysters (wonderful and really rather cheap!) and for mains fish & chips (or rather 'whale and chips' as the fish was on the massive side) and delicious fillets of sea bream with pan fried gnocchi with chorizo and gremolata. Yummy. One of the best meals I have eaten in a long, long time.

It's true that it's not cheap, but in our case, with a shared starter and a main course each plus only an aperitif and then water, it came to around £60, which is actually good value for money. We didn't try desserts, but they looked fantastic when they were carried past us, so next time we shall leave room for them!

And in case you are impressed by such things, we sat next to comedian David Walliams, which was kind of cool ;-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Remember14
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, it really is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at English's of Brighton and hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    315
    130
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our long awaited trip to English's DID NOT disappoint :)”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I came here today on a beautiful sunny Saturday to have lunch, after months of promising ourselves we would try the seafood platter (not cheap at £42 per person but looks so delicious we had to try it, just once)....all I can say is, MY WORD!

We were seated immediately by a friendly and relaxed waiter who asked us if we wanted outside or inside...we of course chose outside...comfortable seats, good sized tables and parasol shading us from the sun. Swift and courteous service by the waiter.

Our seafood platter took about 20 minutes but was well worth the wait! A whole lobster, a whole crab, mountains of tiger prawns, rock oysters and clams nestled amongst salmon and mussels, all beautifully presented with salad and lemon along with the most delicious bread I've ever tasted meant that we were absolutely stuffed after we'd tackled it! We ate our amazing lunch whilst sat in the shade, listening to the live jazz band next door and watching the world go by, and I thought I'd died and gone to heaven! after we'd finished we went to the beach (only 5 minutes walk away) and sunbathed whilst letting our wonderful lunch go down!

I have lived in Brighton my entire life and this is the first time I've ever visited this superb restaurant. It entirely deserves its glowing reputation and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. A lovely experience from start to finish.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Saill28
We are so pleased to have been part of such a positive day for you! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and now you've been once please don't leave it too long for your next visit.
Kind Regards
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Seafood at its best”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Friend's took us to Brighton for the day and we had lunch at English's. It was a lovely day so we sat outside, listened to an amazing jazz band and singer who I am told play regularly in the square and provided outstanding backgroung music

The service and attention was excellent, despite the restaurant being flat out, the food was outstanding and the bill for four,not cheap but very good value for what we consumed.

What better way than to spend a sunny lunchtime in a perfect setting at a great dining spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ray R
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at English's of Brighton and are very grateful you've taken the time to leave us such a positive review. Your comments have been shared with the team.
We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful food and excellent service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just finished a Inn-to-Inn hiking trip and came to Brighton for a business related meeting. My dining expectations were tempered by experiences at towns similar to Brighton, that is beach towns that were heavy on fish and chips but light on FISH. So our party of four entered English's with a bit of trepidation. Let me say that the food, staring with wonderful oysters (we're from New England and New York City so we know from oysters), whole Brill and sea bass cooked to perfection, was delicious. Our waiter was extremely informative and provided attentive service. If you're going to Brighton and want a great dining experience you won't go wrong at English's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Lew P
Thank you so much for such a positive review. It is much appreciated. I am so please we could do our bit for the improvement of the reputation of seaside dining!
Kind Regards
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Wow!, what a superb restuarant!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

I was on holiday in Brighton last week & had the most fantastic lunch!. Great service from friendly, attentive waiting staff as well as excellent food made for a real treat!. The high standard of deliciously prepared food was reflected in the price!- value for money!. May I recommend the scallops as a starter then monkfish as a main!, the best seafood I've tasted & prepared to a high standard!!!. Chocolate torte with lavender laced honey ice cream & raspberry compote was heavenly!. The perfect seafood restuarant!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weescotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Weescotti
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. It is always a pleasure to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you soon again when you're in the area.
Kind regards
Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English's of Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to English's of Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing