We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious lunch on a cold and windy day”

English's of Brighton
Ranked #39 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $99
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Crawley
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“delicious lunch on a cold and windy day”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We hadn't especially meant to lunch at English's but it looked so inviting and the menu board was so tempting we couldn't resist. We weren't disappointed. We had the set lunch and chose moules followed by grill. Excellent. Couldn't fault the food, the pleasant and friendly staff and the overall ambiance. Will be going back for a crack at the main menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hi Jane C,

Thanks alot for popping in on the spur of the moment to dine with us. I really appreciate your review, its great for the morale of the team to know that their efforts are appreciated both in the dining room and in the kitchen. I hope I can welcome you back soon, to try the a la carte menu as you suggest.

kind regards,

Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    300
    127
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“For Fish and non Fish Lovers”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a superb evening on Saturday, excellent food and service and we were using a deal! Would definitely recommend and we will be returning as soon as we can. Good choice of fish and seafood and a good choice of meat dishes for those not keen on fish.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Denise F,

Thanks for the great feedback, look forward to welcoming you back soon,

kind regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Oysters, position, menu, general ambiance, we use it regularly for family occasions even in winter when we sit outside under the heaters

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blondiehanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, General Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Blondiehamin,

I really like your succinct description, many thanks !!

regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DEFINITELY FISH”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a really good fish restaurant in Brighton. Discovered it on a wet Monday evening in November but even so there were plenty of other customers (a good sign). The food was excellent with a big choice of all the obvious fish dishes. Service was also good. Essentially the reviews are correct - a good restaurant for a special occasion or a night out - not cheap but good value. Quirky paintings on the wall from pre war Paris add to the original atmosphere. If you like fish and are visiting Brighton this is the place to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, General Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi DavidG,

Thanks for taking the time to leave your very positive feedback about your recent visit to English's. We love it when new guests discover English's as well as our longstanding regulars returning. I delighted that your experience backed-up the positive reviews you had seen. The fact that you describe us as 'not cheap but good value' is exactly what we set out to achieve! Many thanks again.

regards,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Been there for ever, let's hope it's there for evermore”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I can't remember how many times we have been to English's over the years. Fashions come and go, nouvelle cuisine, towers and drzzles, eating off planks of wood, but English's is still serving up the excellent fish and seafood it always has. There are few restaurants where, you know from the minute you walk through the front door, you are going to be well taken care of, you will eat well, be well served, and given good value, whether you chose at the pricier end of the menu, or go for good old fish and chips. My son had the excellent plaice in breadcrumbs with chips, I had the more luxurious coquilles san Jacques. My husband had the fish pie. There were 2 menus, one at £14.95 for 2 courses, another at £24.95, and lots to chose from on the a la carte, main dishes from under £14 up to how ever much you'd like to spend. A great list of wines (including sparkling) by the glass. It was my birthday, so we ate oysters and didn't hold back. Our bill came to just shy of £50 a head, but I'm guessing you could dine for less if you eat of the menu and pass on the oysters.... or more if you go for the lobster.
A Brighton institution that deserves to survive for ever.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englishs, General Manager at English's of Brighton, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hi RetiredGSP,
It is clear that you fully understand what we are at English's. Your quite right in that we avoid fads and just concentrate on keeping the Classics up to date. As a regular ove rthe years I'm look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thanks again.
reagrds,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed English's of Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to English's of Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing