We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carluccio's Brighton - Terrible Experience”

Carluccio's - Brighton
Ranked #326 of 1,133 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Carluccio's Brighton - Terrible Experience”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was my third visit (and definitely the last) to Carluccio's in Brighton. It was lunchtime and the restaurant was barely a third full. We sat for 10 minutes before a waitress appeared. She was quite surly and disinterested in taking an order. We ordered drinks (water and a glass of wine) which took quite a while to arrive. We made our order - for starters olives, bread and calamari. The olives and bread were fine. The dunking olive oil very unpleasant indeed. The calamari was probably the worst we have ever tasted, overcooked, dry, and with a pathetic little slice of lemon that had been cut hours beforehand. The waitress asked if everything was ok and I said that the calamari was unacceptable. The restaurant manager appeared, apologised that the chef hadn't cooked it properly and that she wouldn't charge for it. What then followed was little better. Sea bream on a tiny bit of grey mash - awful presentation; sea bream ok but a bit dry, but very unappetising looking plate of beige/grey food, and a seafood salad mainly chicory with ok prawns, mussels and slightly rubbery squid. The bill came to over 40 pounds and was hopeless value for money. The attitude of the staff was appalling apart from the rather apologetic restaurant manager. I could never recommend this restaurant - noisy yes, waiting staff poor (I think depending on who is on), food inconsistent as I did have one meal (a goat's cheese salad) there which was fine - but then something that couldn't really go wrong - and I actually had to apologise to my son for taking him there. Staff training needs to be addressed here, as does the plates that leave the kitchen. I would definitely never go back there given the poor food, even poorer value for money and poor service. This restaurant needs to be aware of the fierce competition of Italian style restaurants in Brighton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    142
    98
    69
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Umbertide
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Living in Italy makes one critical of Italians in the UK but having had a good cappuchino the other day (almost impossible to find in the UK) we tried it for lunch. Shared arancini (rice balls with mushroom) - excellent. My wife had pan fried rose veal with rosemary potatoes and I had zuppa di pesche with mussels, white fish, prawns and clams - like being in Sicily. Faultless as was the service

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Consistant Italian Food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I like Carluccios because it's good food that you can rely on being good every time. A good list of wines and always interesting specials. If, like me you are a fan of Carluccios then you will find this one a nice place for people watching and some really good, friendly staff.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Guaranteed good food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

You always know what to expect when you eat at Carluccio's. Good food and good value for money. The decor is always good and the staff friendly The service is v good 9/10. You get the added bonus of taking something home from the deli

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank luxury4poster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstpierpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great service from delightful Polish lady!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having had lunch at the Fenwick outpost in London sometime ago,we decided to try our local.Dreadful weather drove us rapidly in from the street,where we were greeted enthusiastically by a jolly girl who made a table near the entrance our resting place.We were then somewhat neglected for 5 to 10 minutes, much to our surprise and annoyance,but the wait was worth it when eventually our delightful and extremely attentive waitress arrived.From then on the service was merry and amusing.Now for the food.Mixed olives,ok,Focaccio bread,divine.Lasagne,bordering on ordinary,Salade Nicoise dull ! Excellent bottle of Italian Vino !!We will return,but not immediately, as there are a great many Italian eating houses in Brighton and Hove that are cheaper and easily as good.Great service though!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carluccio's - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton and Hove, East Sussex
 

Been to Carluccio's - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing