We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ASK Italian - Brighton

ASK Italian - Brighton
Ranked #350 of 1,098 Restaurants in Brighton
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located on Ship Street in Brighton, we’ve created a restaurant with a distinctive new look inspired by modern Italian design. And with the help of our expert friends, including awarding-winning chef Theo Randall, we’ve created a menu that features a range of simple, classic Italian food and an all Italian wine list.
london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

I'm not usually a franchise fan - but I was really impressed!! The staff were so polite and efficient and we were sitting in a 'room' to ourselves and could easily have been forgotten about. The interior was so funky and just the right balance. Not too echoey. We didn't feel like we were waiting too long for food and the waiting staff seemed to notice when we were ready for more drinks. I had the sea bass which I would highly recommend. Served beautifully on a sizzling dish. My other half had the pork , which I tried, and it hit every taste bud. I really enjoyed my first experience of ASK here and the hours flew by. We had a window seat and enjoyed people watching, good food and good wine. Didn't feel like a franchise that dishes out the same old dishes- felt so much more personal than that. We shall be back!

Helpful?
Thank clare_bear83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    76
    35
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have eaton here several times with vouchers. Service is vey good and food tasty and well presented. Have had the pizza, pasta and meat special and all have been very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackiebfromuckfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent stretched Pizza and the staff were very good and attentive.

Reasonable price.

Pleasant family meeting place. We did not book but no waiting for a table

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mkljrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I booked a table at Ask to celebrate my birthday. When we arrived at the restaurant they had no recollection or our reservation and although we told the lady we booked over the phone she still felt the need to ask if we had booked online?? We were then told we could sit wherever we wanted, which wasn't hard as there was only one other couple in the establishment. It all felt very sloppy and disorganized and we felt the lady serving us was really not interested in making any proper effort to make us feel comfortable. Once seated I was extremely disappointed to see that the inside of what is a lovely period building had been decorated with vile bright paints which totally spoiled the atmosphere. Most tables had really bright spot lighting leering down on them, enough to give anyone a stinking migraine. I decided I did not want to continue our meal out so we left to which the waitress shouted out a very sarcastic "ciao!" We went onto Zizzi where we received a much better reception and surroundings. Unfortunately I have been unable to comment on the food but will say the Worthing branch of Ask did cook up a tasty pizza for myself and a friend about a month ago. It is such a shame that a chain has ruined what could be a lovely restaurant in a period property!
We will not be visiting any Ask restaurant again as this is my second bad experience in one of their establishments.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food if a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have not visited this chain before and thought we would give it a chance. The set up here is a little strange with small rooms rather than one large restaurant, which if we hadn't been by the window would have felt a bit claustrophobic. We started with the garlic mushrooms which came in a very hot griddle pan, we thought they were very over-priced for the amount you received and the hot pan continued to cook them while you were eating them which made them a little tough. The mains were very good no complaints at all as were the sweets. We used our Tesco vouchers to pay for part of the meal, otherwise I don't think we would have had three courses due to the price. All in all good food but a little too pricey for our pockets for a chain Italian.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Potters18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASK Italian - Brighton also viewed

Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to ASK Italian - Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing