We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverdale House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverdale House
Ranked #2 of 7 Alfriston B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in the countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a great stay at the Riverdale House. Richard and Judy gave us a warm welcome on arrival, and kindly arranged a booking in an excellent gastro pub nearby. The room (Heselwood Suite) was perfect for the 4 of us, with very comfortable beds. The room exceeded our expectations in many ways. The amenities included bottles of water for each of us, a mini bar with fresh milk, coffee, tea and chocolates, and even mini bathroom amenities. The breakfast was delicious, from the English Breakfast to the Porridge. The service was fast and attentive, and the cherry on the cake was the lovely view overlooking the valley.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and I would definitely recommend staying with Richard and Judy.
Thank you again!

Room Tip: The Heselwood Suite is beautiful, perfect for 2 to 4 people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astriddeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was first trip abroad and Riverdale House was my first stop on my trip. It was everything I could have hoped for and more. I would love to go back and spend my entire vacation there! Perfect and I can't wait to travel back there someday!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed in the Cuckmere Room for 3 nights over the May Bank Holiday weekend. Very comfortable bed with Egyptian cotton sheets and down duvet. The room itself was spotless, bathroom very nice with a big bath and constant hot water. Breakfast was delicious. The owners - Richard and Judy were amazing hosts-very helpful and lovely.
The B&B is only 6 minutes walk from the Alfriston village with all the pubs and restaurants.
Might seem to be a bit expensive but is worth every penny! Will definitely go back to the Riverdale House as we had an amazing time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline_4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assisi, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Dear Richard,

thank you so much for ou perfect stay. After a long day in Sussex it was beautifull to arrive in your accomodation. The room was very nice, clean and confortable, and your breakfast gave us the right energy to face a new travel day.
Thank you also for your suggestions: Restaurant (Wingrove House) and things to do and see. It was very usefull.
I hope to be back soon, there so many thing still to see around!
Ps: Say hallo to the foxes!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kleren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We had a wonderful long weekend in the south downs based at Riverdale House. We round Richard to be very helpful and willing to go the extra mile without being asked.

The location is good as it is very quiet, right on the South Downs way but you can still get into Alfriston.

Rooms were clean, big enough and had everything you expect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JONATHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Enjoyed a lovely stay at Riverdale. Our room was clean, comfortable and well equipped. Bed very comfortable and room nicely furnished. Great choice of breakfast and cooked well. Richard and Judy are very good hosts. We were welcomed on arrival and given lots of useful information about the village and surrounding area. Quant old village with superb pubs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

We needed some where to stay at the last minute and Richard was very accommodating dealing with our booking over the phone. The B&B was very comfortable - wonderful sheets, bed and towels. All very clean and nothing was too much trouble. Really friendly and welcoming couple. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 123debbie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.5 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
Chestnuts Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 7 in Alfriston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale House

Property: Riverdale House
Address: Riverdale Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Riverdale House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing