We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

England was suffering the wettest winter for 100 years but it did not put a damper on our stay.
The hotel is situated just a short walk from the centre of Alfriston. There was flooding all around.even the front lawn and swimming pool area was flooded but it didn't matter at all.We received a warm welcome at this hotel. The room we stayed in overlooked the swimming pool area and had distant views of the Cuckmere valley. The room was very well presented although a bit country for our liking. The hotel has a nice lounge area/bar with a roaring fire.The restaurant service was excellent. The staff were very attentive and the food we both had was a delight. The restaurant was a little on the large and lacked intimacy but otherwise was excellent.

Room Tip: Request a room in the older part of hotel for character rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyg632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 659 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We Were on a Living Socal Deal in rooms 20 & 21 so comfortable & cosy, with tasteful furniture, Comfortable bed and a good bathroom.The Evening Meal was first Class it was so nice NO Mobile Phones Ringing in the Restaurant Poor Signal .We Finish the Evening by the Open Log Fire & a Few Drinks.The Staff were Excellent at all times nothing to much trouble, to make your Stay Enjoyable. Thanks To You All.

Room Tip: Alfriston is such a Lovely Village on the South Downs & Deans Place is on the South Side of The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here for the first time. Lovely hotel in super location. Excellent staff - all very friendly and attentive. Nice clean rooms. Comfortable amenities. Restaurant is very good. We will definitely return! Hot water a bit slow in coming and a computer for guest use would be useful - but these are minor points. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here on a super cheap deal. Had lovely cream tea included. Our room (1) had everything we needed, clean and comfortable but looking quite tired and in need of a makeover. The bar area is really comfortable. But the thing that makes this hotel special is the staff - really helpful and friendly. We felt so at home we really didn't want to leave! Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay with no disappointments. The room ( No 2) was smallish but cosy, with tasteful furniture, comfy bed and a good bathroom. My very small criticisms were not enough hangers in the wardrobe and a nasty plastic light pull in bathroom - so thats not so bad! We had very nice cream tea on our arrival with plenty of jam and clotted cream for our warm scones which we ate in the lounge in front of a open fire. We enjoyed a delicious evening dinner and wonderful breakfast but what impressed us most was the level of service provided by the staff at the Deans Place. All staff were polite and accommodating and I would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was compact with white bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and there was no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I really like Deans Place mainly because of the super friendly and helpful staff (with the exception of the person who checked us in and out). We had afternoon tea, dinner in the bar area and breakfast. It was all well presented and delicious. The bar area is cosy and romantic in the evening. We had originally planned to walk into the village and have a drink at one of the pubs but I am glad we stayed put. The barman was fabulous; friendly, efficient and knew when to be chatty and when not. The waiting staff at breakfast were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in (15) needs some TLC. The windows are old and draughty (but I have to say the weahter was foul and testing that to the extreme). The worst part of the stay though was when someone somewhere else, close by in the hotel emptied their bath or used their shower our bath tub glugged away loudly until they stopped. This happened at 7am on a rare night away without the kids...we were not impressed!!!! On check out we weren't asked whether we had a good stay etc which was just downright rude and left us feeling a bit unloved to be honest! But all in all a lovely break.

Room Tip: Room 15 has lovely garden views. I wouldn't chose it if I wanted a long lie in thought because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyjospangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay. Deans Place is a country style hotel, cosy and full of character. The lounge and bar areas have comfortable seating and a lovely log fire...just what was needed in our current unpleasant winter! We stayed in room 16 which overlooked the gardens and would have been lovely if they hadn't been under water! Our room was fine and had all we needed. The bed was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with fixed shower over, had toiletries and the towels were very luxurious. The hotel had free wifi which was a bonus as it was impossible to pick up a mobile phone signal. All the staff we met were delightful, very friendly and a credit to the hotel. The food was amazing and our compliments go to the chef and team. The waiting staff at both meals were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Our only negative was that it was noisy from about 7am as guests were starting to move around: but that was really down to the age and nature of the building and nothing the staff could have changed.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend to others

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank athenaeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
227 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,657 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#4 of 8 in Lewes
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Buxted Park Hotel
Buxted Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Uckfield
1,473 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Boship Lions Hotel
The Boship Lions Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lower Dicker
525 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range: $98 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing