We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avondale(Seaford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalk Farm Hotel(Willingdon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveler rating
334
237
84
40
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
237
84
40
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuckmere riversouth downsalfriston villagepretty villagenational trust propertycroquet lawnbar mealsoutdoor poolafternoon tealog firecream teasconeslovely hotelwedding partywedding receptionwaiting staffsurrounding countryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
452 - 457 of 704 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a lovely place to stay with no disappointments. The room ( No 2) was smallish but cosy, with tasteful furniture, comfy bed and a good bathroom. My very small criticisms were not enough hangers in the wardrobe and a nasty plastic light pull in bathroom - so thats not so bad! We had very nice cream tea on our arrival with plenty of jam and clotted cream for our warm scones which we ate in the lounge in front of a open fire. We enjoyed a delicious evening dinner and wonderful breakfast but what impressed us most was the level of service provided by the staff at the Deans Place. All staff were polite and accommodating and I would not hesitate to book again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was compact with white bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and there was no noise.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I really like Deans Place mainly because of the super friendly and helpful staff (with the exception of the person who checked us in and out). We had afternoon tea, dinner in the bar area and breakfast. It was all well presented and delicious. The bar area is cosy and romantic in the evening. We had originally planned to walk into the village and have a drink at one of the pubs but I am glad we stayed put. The barman was fabulous; friendly, efficient and knew when to be chatty and when not. The waiting staff at breakfast were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The room we stayed in (15) needs some TLC. The windows are old and draughty (but I have to say the weahter was foul and testing that to the extreme). The worst part of the stay though was when someone somewhere else, close by in the hotel emptied their bath or used their shower our bath tub glugged away loudly until they stopped. This happened at 7am on a rare night away without the kids...we were not impressed!!!! On check out we weren't asked whether we had a good stay etc which was just downright rude and left us feeling a bit unloved to be honest! But all in all a lovely break.

Room Tip: Room 15 has lovely garden views. I wouldn't chose it if I wanted a long lie in thought because of the plumbing isues described.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammyjospangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay. Deans Place is a country style hotel, cosy and full of character. The lounge and bar areas have comfortable seating and a lovely log fire...just what was needed in our current unpleasant winter! We stayed in room 16 which overlooked the gardens and would have been lovely if they hadn't been under water! Our room was fine and had all we needed. The bed was spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom had a bath with fixed shower over, had toiletries and the towels were very luxurious. The hotel had free wifi which was a bonus as it was impossible to pick up a mobile phone signal. All the staff we met were delightful, very friendly and a credit to the hotel. The food was amazing and our compliments go to the chef and team. The waiting staff at both meals were attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Our only negative was that it was noisy from about 7am as guests were starting to move around: but that was really down to the age and nature of the building and nothing the staff could have changed.
All in all we had a very pleasant stay and would recommend to others

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank athenaeastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had a nice one night stay at this lovely hotel. It was very cosy and all the staff were very friendly. A splendid breakfast was offered in the morning. The hotel is situated in a quaint village with a few local shops.We would love to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pand68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night for business got there and was greeted by friendly staff got into room and was pleased how clean and nice it was. Old style furniture and bed all really nice. Food from bar menu was lovely and service was quick and friendly. Had agood night sleep. Only drawback was the hot water took ages to actually get hot. Apart from that would still stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews