We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in early May mid week. Had a smallish but good room overlooking the pool and the Downs.(Room 25 I think?). Very quiet - slept really well. Lovely view from the room and as the weather was good, the view was especially pretty. Negative? the windows were 'shot' in that they were a little old and steamed up in places and the room is quite 'old fashioned' in style but perfectly clean.The hotel is pretty sort of country house feel with well maintained gardens and if you go out the back it joins the walking path near the river that is a couple of minutes to the the village.
The staff are really good and make you very welcome. We ate in the hotel 2 nights and the food was excellent. Again the restaurant staff were very efficient.The first morning at breakfast all hot dishes had to be ordered - we made the mistake of ordering 'Full English' - which was massive - one order would have done for 2 of us! The next day they started doing a hot buffet breakfast which was more manageable.
The village if Alfriston is very pretty with a beautiful village green and immaculately kept. Tried 2 of the pubs for meals and they were both o.k., but nothing special. The food in the hotel was far superior, though admittedly more expensive.
We had a wonderful stay andf would recommend and return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the Downs if you want a view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALEXANDER _123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear ALEXANDER_123
Thank you for sharing your experience with our other Tripadvisor Users and glad you had a lovely time and enjoyed dining with us. We are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and I thank you for pointing out the issue with the window in your room.
Our gardener Stephen will be delighted that you enjoyed his gardens while you were with us.
Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    209
    72
    30
    5
See reviews for
118
304
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one night, meeting friends. The hotel is very comfortable, with attentive staff,very good food.The service in the restaurant was a little slow ,but it didn't matter we weren't in a hurry and it was worth waiting for .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Gill c
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am sorry the service was a little slow, but I am glad this didn't spoil your visit. We would like to welcome you back anytime to Deans Place.
Best wishes,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Three-night midweek break. Hotel frontage antiquity really picturesque. Gardens well laid out and kept in good order. Room [43] smaller than expected, with views over a flat roof to the Cuckmere valley. Furniture repro old, generally in good order except for water marks on the main table. Two armchairs, quite comfortable. Beds comfy, with crisp white bed linen - blankets rather than duvets, which wouldn't have been my preference. Windowless bathroom with good-sized bath, shower over, small washbasin and undersized electric towel rail [this was operated via reception rather than in the room, which seemed bizarre, especially as the weather wasn't the warmest]. A nice hospitality tray with biscuits and a range of Twining teas was provided. Plenty of storage was available, although the hanging rail in the built-in wardrobe was frustratingly set too close to the carrier board to make easy use of our own hangers - a decent supply of the hotel hangers were provided.
Room was superficially clean, but closer inspection showed quite a few areas that needed attention. This was identified to the staff on leaving, as we had hoped housekeeping would address it during our time there.
Food was of very good quality, both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast plates were piping hot from the plate warmer by the buffet, but much less so if you ordered eggs from the kitchen resulting in food cooling down far too quickly. I learnt the trick of transferring the eggs to a plate from the warmer! Restaurant manager seemed a bit odd - a bit too zealous in some areas and inattentive in others. Dinner was either a chef's special, vegetarian or a limited a la carte. Prices were, I think, £27 for 2 courses or £35 for 3, with supplements for some dishes. The food, like breakfast, was tasty, well-balanced and well-presented. We would have eaten here more, but the chef's special wasn't on view early enough, and the choice of the a la carte was a bit beyond my preferred options. Wine was reasonable, though overall, dinner was not the best value for money.
Staff were in the main really friendly although a little more capability, enthusiasm or application to detail in some areas would have paid dividends. A number of recommended walks ranging from a short walk around the village to a day's outing were available from the front desk, and copies of these were handed out to help get the best of the local walking routes.
Quite a few foreign staff were present, and I would not have been surprised if the hotel had a regular turnover.
From my viewpoint, i wouldn't come back, but could easily see how this would be ideal for many.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LemurLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear LemurLes
Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay at Deans Place. We are particularly sorry to learn that you found there to be issues with our housekeeping. This is unusual to hear and your comments have been shared with the whole team as we are so disappointed to learn about your experience.
We are currently refurbishing a number of our bedrooms. We have 36 rooms in total at Deans Place, and few that are the same as you would come to expect with a building of our age. If you had any problems with the room, we would much rather hear your comments during your stay to allow us the opportunity to put things right, rather than afterwards.
We do have a variety of nationalities that work at Deans Place which I do not think should be viewed as a negative. We have links with various catering colleges around the world, this allows their students to spend a few months with us gaining first hand experience of working in a busy hotel, alongside our team of full time staff. Much like many students from the UK who travel and work abroad during gap years. We do not discriminate when hiring staff ; We advertise for a position and select the best applicant. Many of our foreign staff have trained their whole careers in hospitality and should not viewed by the public as lesser employees. As you can see from the majority of our reviews, we receive fantastic comments about our staff and I am very proud of them for this.

I do hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
James Dopson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a sunday noght special rate. Can't praise enough. Comfortable room, dinner and breakfast excellent, friendly, courteous and efficient staff. Would love to stay here for longer but not feasible today. Will return though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Jill P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let other Tripadvisor users know what a lovely time you had at our hotel. It especially pleases me that you found the staff to be "friendly, courteous and efficient" as this is something we pride ourselves on. I look forward to seeing you again and hopefully you will be able to stay for a bit longer!

Best wishes,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just spent four nights on a "summer break offer" and had a great time. The food in the restaurant is absolutely wonderful and highly recommended. It is proper fine dining and I can only assume that the adverse comments in the past are from people whose concept of fine dining is a steak and a big plate of chips!! This is far better. The staff are very friendly and obliging and always willing to help. There is free wifi, although the mobile signal is poor for those saddo's who need their mobile on all of the time. Very handy for Seaford and Lewes. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again. Just need to start a diet now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for two nights for our friends wedding, we arrived late on a Friday night (past 10pm), the lady on reception was very welcoming and the bar is open 24 hours, so a couple of late night drinks were appreciated to help us relax!

The room was gorgeous, four poster bed with duel aspect view - one of the windows overlooking the gardens! The room had everything you could need - hairdryer, flatscreen TV, tea facilities etc. The bathroom was a little narrow as it ran the width of the room, though was plenty big enough, with plenty of complimentary smellies!

The room we stayed in was at the top of the stairs and directly to the left, not all rooms have four poster beds and some of the doubles on the wedding weekend were singles pushed together!

Breakfast was delicious, hot and cold buffett plus a large selection of dishes cooked to order!

Plenty of parking at the back of the hotel, Alfriston is a village 5 minutes from the main road - the village itself is gorgeous, though as we were there for a wedding we didn't have time to have a mooch around which was a shame!

Would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a quiet and relaxing night away!

Room Tip: Request a room with a four poster bed - makes the weekend more special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Homertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Beautiful historical country hotel on the edge of Alfriston a wonderful village in the South Downs national Park. Spent time there in February 2013. Had cosy ,yet elegant, rich fabrics in keeping with age of hotel, single room with a bath! Didnt expect that but welcomed it as only shower at home. Very tired when i arrived so hot baths cosy log fires. excellent food. catered very well for my dietary requirements gluten dairy caffeine alcohol free.. Scones baked on site best gluten free ones I have ever had ! All staff very welcoming owner presented me with a complimentary history. Enjoyed walks every day including to Long Man of Wilmington. Alfriston village store delicious food. Had chance to read a newspapers everyday.. Met interesting people too important to me as a sole traveller. Overall a 5 star visit in a 3 star hotel. .

Room Tip: A mixture of room styles I older part of building at front more modern at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brightaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.2 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 41 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
19.0 mi away
Ashdown Park Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Seaford Road, Alfriston BN26 5TW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alfriston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its origins in the 14th century this hotel is situated in one of England’s prettiest villages, set in extensive gardens with a stunning backdrop of the South Downs. An ideal retreat when visiting Glyndebourne, walking the South Downs, or visiting the attractive towns, villages and stunning coastline of East Sussex. The hotel has a heated swimming pool available from May to September and has direct access to the South Downs way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deans Place Alfriston
Deans Place, Country Hotel And Restaurant Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing