We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avondale(Seaford)
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalk Farm Hotel(Willingdon)
$100
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$67
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$58
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Eastbourne Willingdon Drove(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Eastbourne Hotel(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Apartments(Eastbourne)(Great Value!)
$141
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
705 results
Traveler rating
335
237
84
40
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
237
84
40
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscuckmere riversouth downsalfriston villagepretty villagenational trust propertycroquet lawnbar mealsoutdoor poolafternoon tealog firecream teasconeslovely hotelwedding partywedding receptionwaiting staffsurrounding countryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 705 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Recently celebrated our anniversary and stayed overnight. Room large and very comfortable though a bit dated.. Staff very pleasant and efficient. Overall obviously well managed. Highlight for us was that they had a special complete vegetarian menu and it was excellent and my husband and I can't remember having a better veggie meal for years - if ever. The restaurant service was very good - -there were 6 of us and all had different things food and drinkwise, but all was served up efficiently. It was too cold to go into the garden but on a sunny day it must be delightful. All in all a lovely experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, overlooking garden if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restlessSEEngland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am delighted you enjoyed our vegan & vegetarian menu. The Kitchen Team have worked very hard to ensure all of our guests are catered for when dining with us. We often discover diners who have never previously tasted vegan dishes, are keen to experience them, such is the quality of this menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully the weather will be kinder on your next stay as I can assure you the gardens really are wonderful.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and i stayed here recently celebrating our anniversary. Firstly i would like to comment on the extremely friendly staff, reception girls were very helpful and the bar staff were amazing, nothing was too much trouble. Two staff really stood out a lovely young man called Sam and a lovely lady called Hilary what an asset they are to this hotel
.
Room
As previously mentioned rooms are a bit tired but very clean and comfortable

.Restaurant
Well what can i say, food is second to none especially breakfast.... Incredible selection and tasty
Bar
Very comfy with open fires and sofas but best of all attentive bar staff as mentioned above.
Will be staying again as a perfect get away

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank starlight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for a birthday weekend. The rooms whilst not large were adequate and clean. Bathrooms were very tired, but I was assured by the Housekeeper that these are down for replacement. I woudl be reluctant to stay again until they are, as the bathroom really let the hotel down. Broken tiles, oversized hand rails on the bath which did not give you room to move, and a shower curtain that was so closed to the wall, when showering you resembled a distressed ghost.
We stayed for a birthday weekend. The rooms whilst not large were adequate and clean. Bathrooms were very tired, but I was assured by the Housekeeper that these are down for replacement. I would be reluctant to stay again until they are, as the bathroom really let the hotel down. Broken tiles, oversized hand rails on the bath which did not give you room to move, and a shower curtain that was so closed to the wall, when showering you resembled a distressed ghost.

The food and restaurant staff and bar staff were excellent and considering there was a Murder Mystery whilst we were there continued to smile and be friendly under immense pressure.

Another member of my party had a single room and that was tiny and badly laid out, that combined with the Managers cockerel crowing at obscene hours, did taint the stay as it was a celebration weekend.

All in all - a nice hotel let down by single room size, bad bathrooms and noisy cockerels.

The food and restaurant staff and bar staff were execellent and considering there was a Murder Mystery whilst we were there continued to smile and be friendly under immense pressure.

Another member of my party had a single room and that was tiny and badly laid out, that combined with the Managers cockerel crowing at obscene hours, did taint the stay as it was a celebration weekend.

All in all - a nice hotel let down by single room size, bad bathrooms and noisy cockerels.

Room Tip: do not opt for a single room, avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel due to the noise from cockerels
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CollyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We got married and had our reception at Deans Place on the 23rd of March. We had enquired and booked our wedding last January and from the moment we made enquiries about having our wedding at Deans Place we were met with such extraordinary service that remained consistent until after our wedding day.

Charlie and Natasha (who are the events team) are truly amazing at their job. It was Charlie oversaw our wedding and nothing was ever too much trouble, her attention to detail is outstanding. Communication between the two girls was brilliant; when Charlie was on holiday or had a day off Natasha knew all the details about our wedding and helped us out with any queries we had.

I was given access to the ceremony and reception room the day before the wedding to go in and make sure that I was happy with everything and it allowed me to set the room out. Charlie was there from the crack of dawn on the wedding day to oversee everything and stayed until after the first dance. (Even then she fully briefed and handed over to the evening staff).

Following our ceremony in the garden suite, we had a drinks reception and canapés. The choice of drinks and selection of delicious canapés was varied and was ready for us as soon as we left the suite.

We had Afternoon Tea in the Alfriston Suite for our wedding breakfast. Charlie gave us sample menus but the choice was ours and everyone was catered for. The quality of the food was outstanding, everyone commented on how fresh and delicious it was. The catering staff were so polite and attentive, we could not have asked for more.

The staff at the hotel quickly turned the room around for our evening reception and it looked stunning. We had a hog roast for all our guests at the reception which was around 100 people. It was organised together with an outside company. Again, the quality of the food was amazing and we have had so many people telling us how good it was.

Russell and I would like to thank all the staff at the hotel, but especially to Charlie who made our wedding day a day that exceeded all of our expectations. If you are thinking of getting married at Deans Place Hotel you could not want for a more organised, friendly and professional team of people to help and oversee your wedding day.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night on a half board basis. I upgraded the room, so we had a view across the gardens. Was the upgrade worth it, not sure. The hotel is situated in a lovely quiet village, although may be it was more quiet than normal due to the high street being closed off. Plenty of walks around and nice pubs.
The hotel was warm and the staff welcoming. Plenty of room to sit, drink and read the national papers in the bar.
We had dinner in the restaurant, where the service and the food was second to none.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank robins_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews