We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did the milk for the floor come from?!”

Alfriston Clergy House
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Where did the milk for the floor come from?!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

It is very difficult to "rate" the Clergy House as National Trust properties come in varying forms: grand houses, less grand properties but of interest due to a well-known person having lived there, woodlands, coastal areas. Any member of the National Trust would surely be interested in viewing the very first property it purchased (for £10). If not a NT member, and visiting Alfriston, curiosity would surely lead one across the green to view the little house. Others will undoubtedly share my view that it could so easily have been left to decay but we are so fortunate that someone had the foresight to rescue this lovely little cottage for an enjoyable and rewarding visit. Don't forget the milk floor! Worth a visit to see something pretty unusual.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doreen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    83
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A gem worth saving”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Clergy House was the first of the National Trust's purchases and it has since gone from a dilapidated building to a lovely place worth visiting. Children are given an incentive to visit , with costumes to wear and on this occasion, a hunt for hidden animals. Adults can enjoy the well written explanatory material. The gardens are delightful, at this time of the year, the tulips making a magnificent display and the vegetable garden in preparation for interesting crops.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank cindylou45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“The first National Trust property”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

After parking at the public car park in the village and a coffee at one of the little cafes walked through the village to the Clergy House, where we haven’t been for some twenty years! It is a 14 century Wealden “hall-house” and was the first building to be acquired by the National Trust, in 1896. We were pleasantly surprised as on our last visit, some time in the 1990s, there was only one room and the floor was being refurbished. Hence the time lapse between visits. There was far more to see and we thoroughly enjoyed it, part of the garden has been damaged by flood water, which was still evident along the edges.
There is now a little shop selling NT wares.
Its a little gem and well worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank woodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sweet place to while away a little time”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Essential to committed NT visitors. The first property purchased by the Trust.

Warm welcome. Lovely timber and thatch property. Small with a pretty garden. Would have liked to have been able to go upstairs. Recommend having a tub of local ice cream whilst sitting in the garden and enjoying the views.

Helpful?
Thank RachelCockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unusual, old and interesting.... but please build a toilet!!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Having explored all the big trust properties near us, we finally got round to visiting alfriston clergy house. We had been put off visiting earlier as there is no cafe and it is a small property.
We are very pleased to say that the local car parks are easy to find and have plenty of spaces. GO TO THE PUBLIC TOILETS IN THE CAR PARK! Even though it was a freezing day, the walk through alfriston - a delightfully beautiful village - was a joy. Our fear of the property not having a cafe melted as there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in the village to eat lunch at; we had a lovely lunch sat on comfy sofas at the Tudor restaurant. GO TO THE TOILETS IN YOUR CHOSEN CAFE.
The clergy house is an easy 15 minutes walk through the village and is hidden next to the gorgeous parish church.
The house itself is fairly small. Sadly you can not go upstairs and there are only 3 main rooms downstairs. But they have packed a lot in and each room is very different and shows the house in it's varying stages. From the outside it is a gorgeous medieval wattle and daub house with a thick thatched roof. The gardens are large and whilst they looked good in winter, i am sure that they will be more impressive in the summer months.
We were lucky enough to see the house dressed for Christmas. In the entrance room the history of the house is explained to you. The first room is was set out portraying a Victorian Christmas. The next room is the main medieval hall and is gorgeous, complete with authentic medieval flooring, displays explaining the traditions of a medieval Christmas and even the opportunity to dress up as a lord or lady. And then finally, a quick history lesson on how the national trust was created; this is the first national trust property bought. I was impressed with how much there was to see and learn in such as small house.

Whilst there is no cafe there is a remarkably well stocked shop. If you need the toilet by this point, you are out of luck as THERE ARE NO TOILETS and the closest public toilets are where you left your car.

We really enjoyed our afternoon out at the clergy house. It was fun, informative and interesting. My only gripe is - as you can probably guess - is that there is NO TOILET.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfriston Clergy House also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
Lewes, East Sussex
 

Been to Alfriston Clergy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing