We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Quintessential Tea Room”

Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to our historic tea house! Alfriston was granted its market charter in 1406, and the house at Badgers dates from 1510 – over 500 years old! We know it was the village bakery for 200 years until 1933, and proprietor Michael Luttig and manager Lynn Attfield continue the tradition of exceptional baking on the premises. “Dissenters” from St Andrews Church met here in the late 18th Century until they built their own independent church (now the United Reformed Church) in 1801. We even have a Standing Stone in the pavement outside the front door…
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint Quintessential Tea Room”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Lovely food, tea served in silver tea pots and bone china cups, great value for lunch and high-tea. A favourite spot to take ladies who lunch :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthbound-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    55
    18
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton Aston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quintessentially English”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a lovely place to just call into and take afternoon tea. The staff were so helpful and were very efficient in delivering our order. China cups and a silver teapot all added to the whole atmosphere.
Do try the cream tea its great, though there was plenty of choice and there was certainly something for everyone.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank goldwingbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Delicious cake with a plate!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were driving through Alfriston the other day to go and visit my grandmother in a nursing home nearby, and we popped into Badgers to pick up some cake slices for everyone to enjoy together later that afternoon. My husband went in, and came back to the car laughing and shaking his head. He said the place was just delightful, with guests sipping their tea from proper English tea cups with pretty flowers and the cakes were all home-made and looked amazing. Unfortunately they are not normally asked to pack their cakes up as take-away’s, so the staff were all running around trying to figure out how we could take the cake slices away. He said they were all being so kind and helpful and he was going to give them a few minutes to figure something out. He went back to collect the cake and came out this time laughing even more than before, and when he reached the car I realised why. The staff had put all the cakes onto a lovely bone china flowery plate, wrapped it all up in cling-film and given him the whole plate!! They hadn’t asked for a deposit or his contact information, nor had they even asked him to bring the plate back, they just gave us the plate! Talk about village trust. We took the cakes down to my grandmother and had a lovely tea party with her and we all agreed that the cakes where just fabulous, and she was thrilled to see them all served on this lovely plate. The next day we took the plate back and the staff were so surprised they looked very pleased. What a wonderful team of staff and even better the cake was totally mouth-watering. Thank you Badgers!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank nulux-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely tearoom”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Went with the family for lunch,very friendly service although the food was a bit slow to arrive ,it was worth the wait ! All four of us loved the food .Very charming ,my wife loved the tea served in proper tea sets. unfortunately unable to stay for afternoon tea but the scones and Victoria sponge cake looked Devine . If your want somewhere to have a leisurely old fashioned afternoon tea in charming surrounding ,I would wholeheartedly recommend !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Fernand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just Perfect!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is everything you would want from an English village tea shop. Beautiful decor and atmosphere, fantastic food and service. I loved the vintage china and quirky touches like bead-work on teaspoons!

I had homemade soup with a cheese and pecan scone (divine). My friends had a toasted panini and smoked salmon sandwich.

We didn't get chance to try the cakes as our visit was late afternoon but the ones we saw did look delightful - an earlier visit next time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chezcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery also viewed

 
Litlington, East Sussex
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to Badgers @ The Old Village Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing