We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful experience from check-in to departure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wingrove House
Ranked #1 of 7 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience from check-in to departure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The other reviews have said it all. Nick is a great host and is backed up by very willing and capable staff. The food is delightful, authentic and local, stylish but not fussy. The setting is lovely and it's very easy to feel at home right away. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    33
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
164
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is the second time we have visited and both times we have been impressed by this friendly and quality small hotel set on the edge of the charming village of Alfriston

Our double aspect room had a view over the very english village green with its gothic church facing us. The guestroom was large and decorated in a sumptuous modern manner, if a little on the masculine side. The room is well fitted out with quality furniture. The bathroom was good if not fully thought out, with things not always placed handily (a fault in many smaller individually owned hotels). The fan was very loud and lasted a long time.

The owner is obviously interested in giving the very best for his guests and has incorporated innovations which may delight or annoy such as the internal wooden horizontal shutters instead of curtains. He has gone for all singing, all dancing TV, DVD and satellite equipment. The installer geek may know how to operate the three controls in tandem but we couldn't, nor could the young girl at the desk who came straight up that evening to help and nor could the owner next morning. Hopefully the installer who arrived the following morning as we left could sort it out. To us this didn't matter, as who wants to watch TV or a DVD when you have the delightful village and surrounding area to enjoy?

This time we didn't use the restaurant as we had had a meal at nearby Glyndebourne (very convenient if you do not want to travel back to London in the evening after the Opera). We remember our first meal as being very good. The breakfast was more than excellent.

The owner is happy to spend time chatting and gives excellent advice of places to visit, drink and eat. A walk across the water meadows is a must and you have so much to visit including nearby Charleston. Do not miss the nearby church at Berwick where Vanessa Bell and Duncan Grant painted the whole of the inside with murals. Wonderful hidden gem.

This is the sort of hotel you love and easily forgive its idiosyncrasies for the joy of its quality and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend. We had room 2 and it was spacious, quiet, with lovely views and a very spacious bath. The staff were lovely, the food excellent, the wine reasonable, and the location brilliant.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad one, we had a sneaky look in the rooms that had been cleaned and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stormy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

What a gem - Everything was perfect, the room dinner in the evening and breakfast. Everything was done for the guests comfort - there was even a heater and comfortable chairs on the balcony. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully maintained, the owner and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This old colonial-style guesthouse/hotel (only six rooms) in the gently rolling Sussex downs provides a wonderfully friendly and comfortable stay. Situated in the medieval village of Alfriston - a picturesque place of tearooms, restaurants and guesthouses in ancient buildings that lean precariously over the winding narrow main street. The owner, a local man, is present most of the time as a genial and ever-helpful host, conducting his young staff like someone who has invited you to stay in his country house for the weekend. Altogether a charming experience.

Room Tip: We would have preferred a room with a verandah, but ours had a good view of village green and the ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The most comfortable, luxurious and individual house that I have come across to stay in; the rooms and restaurant are fabulous and there is a beautifully kept garden. The staff are extremely accommodating and Nick Denyer ensures that the high standards are maintaned throughout. Even in this cool summer they take the trouble to light the wood burner in the sitting room.

No big screen 'lounges' or hostess trolleys here, thank goodness...

We can't wait to return.

Sinclair

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinclair12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed overnight for my husband's birthday. A warm and friendly welcome was followed by tea and cookies on a huge leather sofa in the lounge room near the crackling fire. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and had a huge, comfortable bed and pillows. The bathroom was large with a lovely deep bath and Hermes toiletries. We ate in the restaurant and weren't disappointed. All three courses consisted of fresh, local ingredients, cooked perfectly. We had a peaceful night's sleep and were treated to a first class breakfast the next morning. The staff were all friendly and helpful and genuinely wanted you to enjoy the experience. Every part of the hotel was exquisitely furnished and even the music in lounge was perfectly chosen. We came home feeling refreshed and relaxed. All in all a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nics218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
21.7 mi away
Gravetye Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Property: Wingrove House
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing