We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Wingrove House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wingrove House
Ranked #1 of 6 Alfriston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival. Loved the room, ( No 1). Clean, fresh decor, large bathroom and overlooks the church. Also, away from the road.
Food was fab, as was the service. Excellent breakfast, with wide choice. Looking forward to another stay in the autumn.
Many thanks to Nick and his staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupinscox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    35
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
164
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wingrove for my boyfriend's birthday while we were visiting a friend. From the beginning the owner, Nick, was prompt, professional, informative and attentive. When we checked into the hotel, I can't quite describe the decor as there's the exterior which resembles the old plantations of colonial America - mixed with a mild, non-agressive hint of the hunting lodges in England, all beautifully kept together with a Sussex, coastal feel. Modern, comforting and above all - homely. You come away to Wingrove to experience unassuming luxury and Nick really does that with aplomb.

Try as I might, I could not convince the owner to accommodate any form of a wedding party, or family event. Quite rightly, Nick keeps his coveted 5 rooms for couples, who wish to escape for a night, two, three, even a week - close to Glyndebourne and wanting for nothing.

Our biggest regret, is not enjoying the whole evening at the Wingrove. Next time we will firmly ensconce ourselves in the restaurant and lounge in the cosy bar/lounge area for as long as we dare keep up the incredible waitresses and waiters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucytlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I have a couple of "discerning traveller friends" who we needed to treat to a night away in sumptuous surroundings before Christmas. We have been visiting Alfriston for years anyway so when the opportunity arose to stay at Wingrove House we couldn't wait. A very warm welcome awaited us, as we were shown to our rooms, and once settled in, made it back down to the lounge with the lovely leather furniture, quirky decor and roaring fireplace for drinks with our friends. It is such a relaxed atmospheric place, a perfect winter getaway. I'm sure equally as nice in the summer out on the rattan sunloungers!
The rooms are the way I like to see decorated in a boutique hotel. Plush, with fab big beds and room for girlie paraphernalia on the surfaces! [would of liked a light over the bathroom mirror].
The restaurant is equally glam with a roaring fireplace and well placed tables so as not to overhear or be heard. A very small point, we were served the wrong ice cream with dessert. OK, but my friend has an allergy, so quite important! I'm not going to let them lose a star for that though!
Breakfast is also relaxed, in the same restaurant, with a mass of goodies to choose from in the fresh fruit line, yoghurts etc and the hot meals.
All in all a great stay and will definitely go back as soon as we can:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukebox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to try the restaurant at Wingrove House, on the recommendation of friends, on a bitterly cold Saturday in February. Initial impressions certainly did not disappoint. The restaurant and bar in this lovely period house are gorgeous and appear to have been quite recently renovated. Despite booking a couple of hours ahead only, we were welcomed by a friendly restuarant manager and shown to a table next to a large, wood burning stove.
The menu has plenty of fish and vegetarian choices and the wine list is good value - £5.50 for a generous glass of New Zealand, Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc.
The starters were quite disappointing, "Deep fried goats cheese" was three pepple sized pieces in batter, unimaginatively nestling next to some cold, undressed mixed salad leaves. My partner had the 'Sussex Smokie' which was, again, quite a small portion and still in the ramekin in which it had been cooked (possibly microwaved?). Neither were awful - just average pub fare. Both came with bread which was a little on the stale side and with hard butter.
The main course was much better - a wonderfully fresh and beautifully pan fried sea bass fillet which we both had. This was served on bed of tomato risotto with parmesan which was also delicious. This came with no more than a garnish of spinach although, to be fair, we declined the side dishes which are extra.
The bill with the two large glasses of wine tip came to just over £30 each. All in all, an enjoyable couple of hours in wonderful suroundings and with friendly, efficient service. We shall definitely return soon - with the hope that the food can fully befit this great venue.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband & I had a lovely stay here last week. The service was very good and our room was excellent. It was so lovely after a cold day out walking to come back to a log fire not only in the lounge but also the dining room.The food in the restaurant was great and beautifully presented. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful...thank you! I hope we'll be back sometime

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were invited to dinner at Wingrove House by dear friends. As we do not drink and drive and taxis to Alfriston can be a bit hit and miss we decided to stay the night. We had booked room 5 a twin option and on being shown up to it we found a charming room with top quality furnishings and a good sized shower room with a double shower.We were given a small flask of fresh milk for the tea and coffee tray provided.
After unpacking our few bits we went to explore the large sitting room downstairs with its huge log burning open fire. The walls are decorated with numerous sets of antlers and many interesting artifacs. The sofas are extremely comfortable and we had our pre-dinner drinks here . A most cosy atmosphere.
There was an extensive menu for dinner and after making our varied choices we all raved about the delicious meal. The wine list was extensive and reasonably priced.
Breakfast was served in the dining room, which again had a huge log fire to welcome us. Coissants and homemade jam, fruit salad, cereals, etc., brown or white toast and marmalade/jams, cooked full english, tea/coffee, etc, etc.
The staff were friendly and always aiming to please but not intrusive.
We cannot praise Nick and his staff highly enough. We will definately be back. What a find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlesmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 2 nights in early January, in Room 1, which has good views over the lawns toward the church, so it's at the back of the house away from the road. Lovely room, with tasteful decor and a comfy large bed. The large bathroom had a good sized tub, with shower over. All immaculate. There's no shortage of heating in the building, we even switched it off in January to cool down a bit!

The breakfast was great, a wide selection of choice and good coffee. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner on the first night, and the food was very reasonably priced and delicious. I really was impressed with the pricing of drinks too - a 500ml bottle of local ale was just over 3 quid, which is way less than you'd pay at many pubs. I've often seen cafes charging 4.95 for similar beer. A pleasant change not to feel ripped off!

Service was friendly, the owner showed us around and the receptionist was helpful. The restaurant staff were easy-going, not at all stuffy service!

Would like to return in summer, to enjoy the outdoor patio more. Perhaps the only (minor) downside of this place is that it doesn't really have much garden space, but the church lawns are close by.

I checked a few other places to stay in Alfriston, but this is by far the best.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have baths, whereas the others have only showers. But those ones have balconies I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apcore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#7 of 40 in Eastbourne
1,549 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 8 in Lewes
769 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Avondale
The Avondale
#2 of 2 in Seaford
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingrove House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Property: Wingrove House
Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alfriston
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing