We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Ye Olde Smugglers Inne
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding Service”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Service was unbeatable – the staff were all really friendly. It was lovely to get to know the friendly locals from such a quaint and picturesque town! Atmosphere was great on the whole and food was good too. Highly recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judi_Bamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    48
    19
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Cream Tea”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stopped in at Ye Olde Smugglers Inne with a friend after we had been working nearby. We shared a cream tea which was sufficient, I have to say the scones were amazing.

They were still warm, dusted with icing sugar, fluffy rather than heavy - really really good.

I was allowed to bring my dog inside and she sat by the fire place, the decor inside was very traditional and interesting, every nook had something different to show off. Even though it was 3pm the candles were lit. The landlord was really friendly.

Highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NVNew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton England
Level 6 Contributor
517 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Cold afternoon, we were the only customers. Staff were sitting drinking tea on the only sofa in front off the fire. Unpleasant atmosphere, no attempt to welcome us or to offer any suggestions about food or drinks. Miserable experience - there are many better venues in Alfriston. However can highly recommend the village stores next door, amazing range of food and superb service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateharmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“def worth a visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

mid afternoon on a Friday....deserted bar....bacon brie and cranberry sandwich was delicious....came fairly quickly too....2 drinks...2 sandwiches... £13.....barman was friendly....has free wifi.....would go back again if were in alfriston

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cowes, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Barman needs Maths lessons!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived at 12:45 from a coach. The one group in front of me ordered 3 £12 lunches which required using a machine for calculation and took 15 minutes. I ordered after 20 minutes and we received our food at 1:30 - coach leaving at 2:00 and I was with very slow-walking older friend.
Food was average with fish plonked on top of chips and dish of peas. Euro tomatoes and brown stalks on salad leaves.
No time to eat it all before walk back. The staff in this place seem disorganised and incompetent and slow, very slow. Costs were high for pub food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daphne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ye Olde Smugglers Inne also viewed

Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Alfriston, East Sussex
Eastbourne, East Sussex
 

Been to Ye Olde Smugglers Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing