We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnuts

Chestnuts
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Alfriston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quaint.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Chestnuts offers a perfect haven for an informal lunch, tea or just a cuppa. With friendly staff and very nice food at reasonable prices. Its small and quirky and just cute!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneJaundoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    23
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having looked at our Trip Advisor comments we decided to go to Chestnuts for tea. What a wonderful treat we had! Everything was wonderful from the moment we stepped into the tea room - the friendly service, pretty decor and of course the food. We ordered 'prize winning' scones with coffee for our afternoon tea and it was delightful. The coffee was served in a large filter jug and was excellent, scones possibly best and lightest. Great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 64jane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very individual, very English, cafe in a superb village.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Chesstnuts is toward the southern end of the village and for goodness sake beware of the traffic as the pavement outside is nearly non-existent. The menu offers a sensible choice given the size of the building.

It's tiny. Well, small. You're bound to be on speaking terms with other customers as the backs of your and their chairs are bound to clash. Moving through there is a more spacious larger table on a plinth and access to a garden. Around you are somple toys for kids and books to read while you wait for your order to be freshly prepared.

And it is. Your waiting time may be a tad longer than most cafes but seeing the width of the walkways to and from the kitchen you understand why. We wanted a small lunch each and the imaginitive menu or specials catered easily for our different choices. Service is very friendly, pleasantly unstructured - and that's not meant to be rude. It's just very individual.

The place is an understated gem.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harbroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good food and refreshment,worth the walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

take the time and make the effort to walk that bit further down the narrow street, seemingly heading out of Alfriston and you find Chestnuts.

from moist, fresh and tempting cakes to a varying menu of savoury options, to china tea cups or mugs, this place has it all.

On a cloudy Saturday we went in and found friendly service and being hungry selected two of the daily savoury specials. The Halloumi burger was both original and tasty. Served with sautéed potatoes and lovely relish and all cooked to order,

We were so full and satisfied from our first course and had no room to sample the splendid selection of cakes, all off which looked and sounded very tempting.

we thought it was good value and had a good selection, with ample portions,
for example, a pot of tea for 2 @£2.80 ( that was 4 mugs worth !!!)

great book selection too !!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Godstonetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a lovely little tearoom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were lucky enough to stumble across this lovely little tearoom when we went for a walk through Alfriston. We ordered a cream tea, savoury and sweet, it was great to see a variety of cream teas available. They arrived warm and delicious, one of the best cream teas I have ever had. The service was friendly, the owner went out of her way to help two lost ramblers. It is rare to see that kindness in a business setting.
There were board games and books to use for rainy days. It felt more like being invited into someone's home rather than a cafe.
We loved it and intend on returning there when we pass through again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DollyS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chestnuts also viewed

 
Alfriston, East Sussex
 
Alfriston, East Sussex
 

Been to Chestnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing