We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT...TAKE US BACK!!!!!!!”

Review of Chaucer Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Arif-Ball
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT...TAKE US BACK!!!!!!!”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Couldn't have found and tied the knot at a more PERFECT and unique fairy tale wedding venue! Our guests may not have been too impressed with the 3 hour journey, but immediately appreciated why we made the choice to have our wedding outside of London upon arrival and have not stopped talking about it since, with their biggest highlight being the Archery! The blank canvas it offers is second to none as it allowed us to create a personal, intimate and fun-filled day that we will never forget, ! The staff were fantastic from the moment we viewed the venue, especially Laura who will put you at ease and answer any questions along the way. To conclude, we cannot wait to return to this beautiful, tranquil place for a weekend getaway, and wish we could do it all over again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill T
Orkney Islands, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant wedding venue”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My niece and her husband had a large party staying here for their wedding, and the wedding meal and evening's entertainment took place in the barn. Drinks were served downstairs and I think there were over 50 of us who sat down to the meal and then enjoyed music and entertainment for the evening.
We were not staying in the barn ourselves and the wedding took place in their Quaker meeting house, but the barn was the perfect place for the party. I wish I had known the reason for its name at the time! It was a little difficult to find, although our SatNav took us there, other guests had to follow us, after losing the road several times.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Family Stay”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second time at Chaucer barn and we had an absolutely fantastic time.

The barn was completely as described with ever detail being completely perfect. It was really lovely to have the barn for a whole 3 days and we made sure we made the most out of our time. The room configurations we asked for along with additional cots placed in various rooms were all carried out for our arrival which instantly made us feel at home.

The rooms were all presented to a very high standard with each individual room having its own character. My wife and I opted for the flint bedroom which was extremely large with a walk in shower and bath within the en suite. the other rooms were all equally as lovely with there being much debate over whom should get which rooms.

The barn is perfect for a family retreat with all facilities needed for children being available on site

The barn also has perfect cooking facilities to cater for a large group of people with a double Aga and an oven along with any other equipment one would need to cook for so many people. This all made cooking a roast dinner on Sunday for 16 people surprisingly easy.

Laura who organised our stay was absolutely fantastic making sure everything we needed was organised in advance so we had nothing at all to worry about.

Thank you Chaucer Barn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful dinning room
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AandS959
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THE wedding venue in Norfolk”
Reviewed December 27, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We married at the barn in October. The barn is so beautiful, we fell in love with it the first time we came to see it. All of our guests felt the same way when they arrived too. The staff are great, always willing to help out and advise. We had such a brilliant few days and we definitely didn't want to leave. Hopefully we can come back for an anniversary one day and enjoy it all over again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful property and gardens and great staff!
Liked least: A few bits of the decor need sprucing up a bit to make the venue perfect
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarus
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Wedding Venue”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We had our wedding here in Feb 2012, and it was ideal as it offered good accommodation for guests coming from overseas and afar in the UK as well as a hall for 50 people and plenty of common rooms or areas with comfortable sofas and log fires. The whole place has a wonderful atmosphere and was a perfect venue. They couldn't have been more helpful with all the organisation of the wedding. The caterer they work with proved to be wonderful. The food was fantastic and he was more than happy to muck in with changing the main hall from dining room to wedding venue to dinner venue to dance hall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole character of this beautiful building.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elena p
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant 40th!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing half term at Chaucer Barn, what an amazing and stunning venue to spend a few days with a large group in.
It was like a home from home and there was even a lovely filled hamper for us upon our arrival.
Laura and James were very helpful and always on hand for any questions.
The children loved it, the adults loved it even more once the kiddies were tucked up in bed!
You have to visit this place to se how stunning it is, the pictures are only half the story.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the garden
Liked least: we liked it all!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodger C
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Yes what a place perfect for a wedding like the one we were at everything and more is here a truly magical place yes it may cost a few bob but boy is it worth it would come back in an instant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing