We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Anchor Cottage

Anchor Cottage, character cottage with easy access to hill and country walks, beach.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anchor Cottage, character cottage with easy access to hill and country walks, beach.
well equipped kitchen with small table/chairs and stairs to master bedroom lounge with comfortable seating, tv etc., gas fire and doors to front patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Anchor Cottage, character cottage with easy access to hill and country walks, beach.
well equipped kitchen with small table/chairs and stairs to master bedroom
lounge with comfortable seating, tv etc., gas fire and doors to front patio.
dining room overlooking  rear garden, stream and Purbeck Hills.
Swanage bay, award winning beach, sailing, pedaloes,scuba diving and fishing.
downstairs twin bedroom
downstairs bathroom
front patio with patio table and chairs and views of the purbeck hills
listen to the sounds of the stream in the rear garden
conservatory dining room with doors to sunny rear garden
walk from the cottage to Old Harry Rock
Rear garden with stream.
lounge with gas fire,tv,settees and french windows to front terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bagtag01
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very well kept property which is clearly loved by the owners. Shelves of books and cupboards with games, along with the interior decoration, were details which made this feel like more than a holiday let.
A pretty view out of the conservatory, and a leisurely 10 minute walk down the hill to the beach. Fabulous! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sightseer...
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Really excellent cottage, situated in an attractive and pleasant location on the outskirts of Swanage. Property was within easy reach of coastal walks, places of interest and beaches along the lovely Purbeck Coastline. Property was spacious, clean and tidy, and well equipped. We really enjoyed our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Glad you enjoyed Anchor Cottage!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jennyfost
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home from home”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Anchor cottage is a well kept, clean, homely little cottage that was easy to find. On the outskirts of swanage it was in a quiet and peaceful location. Within walking distance to the coastal path, a local swimming pool, park and swanage itself.

The cottage had all the facilities you require for your stay, it was light and airly and had very comfortable beds!

We would definitely stop here again and highly recommend it.

Thank you Diane and Bob we really loved stopping at your cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kev420
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage with great views over the fields, with all the amenities you need.”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great location only a few minutes from Swanage but on the edge of the village. Rear garden backs on to fields with a small stream running though. Loved sitting in the conservatory looking at this view. Our two boys loved sitting watching the stream. No concerns over safety as only a few inches deep. Cottage well equipped and well maintained. Would definitely recommend and return. Purbeck is a great area with lots to do.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2017
Thank you Kevin.glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage and in Purbeck.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
1 review
“Well equipped and comfortable -”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Very enjoyable stay but had difficulty finding anchor cottage as no number or name of road was given. Lots to see and do within 25 mile radius.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conservatory and garden
Liked least: We were very happy with the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Hi Mark glad you found our cottage lovely and well equipped.however we apologise for neighbours demolishing an extension.Unfortunatly we had no warning of this until our summer was fully booked.we have spoken to him to be considerate to our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WaywardSo...
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A superb holiday cottage”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

Anchor Cottage is a charming holiday rental. Our first reaction was to call it quirky, which indeed it is. However the charm and comfort of the place grew on us during the week we stayed. It has the feeling of being a real family home.

It has a very well equipped kitchen, which looks out over the garden which includes a stream and is beautifully planted. We were lucky with the weather during our stay and enjoyed sitting out in the garden which is a real sun-trap. There is a large conservatory which acts as a dining room. All of these are at the back of the house and are secluded and quiet.

The bedrooms are both light and spacious. We loved the view of the night sky through the dormer window in the main bedroom! The living room is comfortable and airy, facing the front of the house. There is a little road noise during the day, but the double glazing keeps this out quite well.

There is plenty of parking space on the long drive. We found this a good base from which to walk. It has good access to the local footpaths. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the centre of Swanage and the steam railway up to Corfe Castle. Well worth a visit. There is also a regular bus service with stops very close to the cottage.

Unlike most rental properties, it is only bookable for a short season during the summer months. The owners make the booking process very easy and the directions and information which they provide are comprehensive.

This is certainly a cottage which we would like to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely garden (a real sun-trap), covenient location and peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing