We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance Lounge/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - front entrance
Cottage - one minute to beach, seafront and shops - back entrance
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/Dining Room
Kitchen
Ground floor leading to outside lobby and boot area
First floor Double Bedroom
First floor Bunk Room
First floor Family Bathroom
First floor landing
Top floor Shower Room
Top floor bedroom
Entrance and outside Seating Area
Swanage main beach, sandy with shallow waters
Swanage beach
The famous Swanage Punch & Judy
Old Harry Rocks
Swanage Railway - Swanage to Corfe Castle
Beyond the Old Stone Quay towards the Lifeboat Station
Surrounding countryside a Hikers Paradise
Pumpkin Festival at the Square & Compass
The Blue Pool
Swanage - Victorian Seaside
View to Ballard Down
Fossil hunting at nearby Kimmeridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LincolnFr...
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great stay here, cottage is very nice, bigger than it looks on photos.and nicely decorated, key safe was a good idea, and communication from owner was very good.
looked clean overall, but some areas could have been better.
Please put some bins in upstairs, and also a full length mirror, there are two big mirrors but not full length, unless standing on a chair. there was a DVD player but no DVD'S and no guest book which is very unusual, but a nice selection of books and games.
Only thing that caused a problem was all the cushions on settee are feather,partner is allergic to feathers, and the feathers kept coming out, so had to move them, as was constantly sneezing within minutes of coming downstairs, but this would not stop us from staying again, as the location was brilliant , and so close to the chippy for a first night bag of chips on sea wall (Green Chippy is best ) and own parking space was great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: own parking, & location
Liked least: feathers in cushions, and no towels
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 5, 2015
So glad you liked the cottage and thank you for your review. I will make sure our housekeeper sees your comment as she prides herself on her cleaning and previously we have had only good comments. Thank you for your suggestions - it is always good when guests give us feedback as to what we can improve on so we can make changes if needed. Many thanks Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James M
1 review
“Great Experience”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We only stayed for 3 nights but, coupled with the unseasonal good weather, we had probably the best UK family break ever!
Our little boy loved going on the beaches collecting shells, the steam railway to Corfe Castle, the chain link ferry to Sandbanks, visiting Old Harry Rocks, the Brownsea Island boat trip, having ice-cream every day, and of course Swanage.
There are some really nice, but busy, cafes and the fish and chip shop is very good.
There is lots to do and the cottage is in a great spot. It is over three floors, but we only needed to use two. The beds were excellent and we even made a note of where they were from for our own house!
I agree with a previous review, the only down side to the stay was that there was no dishwasher because washing up was quite messy.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2015
Hi James, so glad you had a great time and the weather was so good for you. I really hope we can a dishwasher sorted before next summer - it is more of a problem of layout than anything else. Many thanks and we hope to see you again. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Y599DBjan...
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage near to beach and shops”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was great for our family, five adults and 1 toddler. The facilities were good especially as it had two bathrooms, necessary with six people. the cottage was clean and tidy, it looked as though it had been recently decorated and new carpets. The only thing it lacked was dishwasher. Our grandson enjoyed playing with the buckets and spades.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage is close to the beach and shops which was good for my husband as he is recovering from a recent illness
Liked least: There wasn't anything to dislike.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, great for the family”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great time at Taunton cottage. The location is perfect for the beach and town. The cottage is spacious, excellently equipped and the new bunk /cabin bed is brilliant. The children were very happy and this then made us happy ! Would definitely recommend .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian M
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great central location”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We enjoyed staying at this cottage which looked newly decorated and carpeted. It was very comfortable. There was no dishwasher but we ate out a fair bit. Fish and chips was only 50m away and the beach slightly further. Great location within walking distance of everything in Swanage so we left the car at the house saving on parking charges.
A minor point was that there were no waste bins upstairs so we had to use plastic bags in the bathroom. Nice shower on the top floor.
There were building works going on in the adjoining B&B - scaffolding everywhere - but didn't disrupt us much. And the keys wouldn't open the front door without quite a bit of fiddling about. Maybe they haven't been cut exactly correctly. The key in the key box was fine though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2015
Hi Ian, so glad you had a lovely holiday and thank you for your comments. We will always try to rectify any negatives if at all possible as soon as we can. We immediately had new keys cut when we realised they were sticking and they are fine now - so sorry you had a problem with them. The scaffolding is now down and we are pleased to hear it didn't disrupt you too much, it was beyond our control as our neighbours have been renovating their house. We do have plans to get a dish washer but finding a space has been a problem until we change the layout of our kitchen. Re bins I'm just funny about having lots of bins around the house, I'm the same at home! Glad you loved the location and the cottage and hope you will visit us again one day. Kind regards Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsRobert...
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - fab location”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and I recently stayed here in the May half term with our 2 children (both under 6). We couldn't not fault the cottage, great location, decorated beautifully and nice touches like the jam and flags for our sand castles (my eldest says thank you).

The boys bedroom was decorated so well, they loved sleeping in it, it was all a big adventure. It was great to not have to use the car to get around if we didn't want to, we loved being able to walk to the station and went to Corfe for the day on the train. I spent all my summers in Swanage as a child and the boys loved it just like I did. We were lucky that the weather was good and we spent a lot of time on the beach.

If you have little children though make sure you take a stair gate, saves worrying about toddlers walking around in the night.

Can not recommend this cottage highly enough. Thank you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond E
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We found Taunton Cottage to be an excellent choice for our stay in Swanage. It was comfortable, clean and well-equipped. The central location was also very convenient and the parking place was an added bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Conveient location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing