We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #50 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had an over night stay here and were very impressed with the food, my stuffed mushrooms were sooo delicious and my significant other cleared his plate of scampi. The salad was fresh and tasty and not a piece of limp iceburg in sight!!! Breakfast this morning was beautifully presented and equally as yummy.The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was small but adequate and spotless. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Eat here for lunch and dinner last week whilst visiting Swanage for holiday. Really good pint in here. Bar staff very good, really good customer service. Food is top quality; cheese and ham toasted sandwich was very delightful for lunch. Battered haddock and chips for tea was well worth the wait, and we made it within 5mins of last orders being called on the food. Very quick service and food piping hot! Pub and facilities very clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Space1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Must admit that I was wrong about this pub. I have just returned from spending 8 days in Swanage and not only did I visit this pub a lot, but I even ate there twice. Perhaps the bad smells encountered last time, might be to do with its a very dog friendly place, and the Blues Festival was on. Anyway, we had two reasonable pub style meals in the White Swan over the time we were there and I can say that I really enjoyed them. I love Dorset Piddle beer and that's always good quality. They also have good bands playing live, it's a friendly place, and the staff are very polite.

Will definitely return to the White Swan again on my next trip to Swanage.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I are regular visitors to Swanage. Always visit the White swan for a few beers. We had an evening meal for a change. Lovely food steak was cooked perfectly. Staff very laid back, but attentive. It was a busy night in the bar, but the food was quick and tasted great. Will certainly eat there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DeacsHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We booked into this charming pub hotel as we love Swanage and we wanted somewhere for food,good beer and a live band and we found the perfect place in The White Swan. The rooms were very comfy and cosy and clean,the food was tasty and home cooked and the beer was excellent and local which is important to us real ale freaks. The live band was cracking and the atmosphere all afternoon and evening was brilliant with really friendly staff and locals(a proper taste of Dorset). A must if you want a brilliant weekend of eating,drinking and music and then just a few steps to a warm bed. Outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barry016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Ok it's a pub. It is not haut cuisine but for what it is it merits the excellent mark. We called in for a Saturday afternoon quick lunch. The beer (Piddle) was excellent. We had two generous portions of moussaka. It was incredibly busy but the one waitress was superb at keeping everything on order complete with a smile throughout the whole process. People were made welcome. I overheard one error made, swiftly corrected with a smile and good banter from both customer and waitress. I had to stay and drink more beer while the good lady went shopping. (Newspapers are provided)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I came away for a night for my birthday, to chill without thehildren. I have to say we got just what we wanted a comfortable room and clean with all you need for a break away, the food was amazing, reasonable pub grub and huge portion, I for one wanted 3 courses but after the main I was too full for anymore. The staff were friendly and helpful and right in the middle of the town close to everything we needed. We are so impressed I can guarantee we will be back. Just to say also commenting on another review on here, yes the room was small, but what more do you need for a b+b and the small detail in the room made up for the size

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turbo2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.1 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Railway Cottage Guest House
1.1 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Address: 31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $129 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a traditional English pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere then look no further. Found in the sunny, coastal town of Swanage in Dorset, The White Swan has under gone a major transformation in the last few years, giving it a more fresh, modern look with out taking away any of its rustic charm. The present owner Simon Ginn took over the business at the start of 2008, having spent many years in pubs up and down the country. He has used all his experience and knowledge from being in front of the bar and taken it behind the scenes, his aim to turn the White Swan into one of the best pubs in town. Why not come and see for yourself what we have to offer. You can relax in the bar and choose from our wide selection of beverages, including local real ales, ciders, a variety of draught and bottled beers and an extensive wine list. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant; our menu offers something for everybody or you can try one of our popular daily specials. Located at the rear of the pub is our secluded, walled garden where it is easy to forget you are in the centre of town and just sit back and enjoy the sunshine and if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head, then try one of our clean and comfortable letting rooms. What ever it is you are looking for, you can be sure of a warm, friendly welcome and we promise you, you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing