We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for an overnighter in Swanage”
Review of The White Swan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Swan
Ranked #49 of 49 Swanage B&B and Inns
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for an overnighter in Swanage”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We visit Swanage frequently for the day but don't often stay the night and tried everywhere to get a cheap B&B and couldn't get in anywhere for the night as most B&Bs seem to want you for several nights to make it worth their while. Not here though - managed to get booked and it was so casual I sent an email to confirm!

On arrival we were taken up to a lovely room with all modern facilities and we were very pleased, especially at the price - £75 for the night for B&B for the 2 of us. We had already booked a restaurant nearby for evening meal but had a drink in the pub before going for our meal - place was really super busy but they have live music later in the evening.

When we arrived back from our meal the music was so loud and the place was heaving that we were concerned we would never get any sleep. However, we were wrong. The soundproofing is very good and we were hardly disturbed at all, nothing to worry about. We slept really well, beds/pillows really comfortable. Breakfast was between 9-10 which for some may be a little late but it does say in their book that if this is inconvenient to speak to them.

Breakfast was fantastic - really impressed. Warm freshly cut bread to help ourselves to toast. Cooked breakfast was super - 2 sausages, 2 bacon, egg, beans, mushrooms, fried bread/toast as required and tomatoes. Hope I haven't forgotten anything! And there was cereal to start if required.

What might put some people off is it is definitely a pub frequented by lots of locals and quite rowdy inside.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisyday4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    23
    19
    18
See reviews for
13
59
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Good beers on offer (Ringwood, Piddle & Otter), not perfectly kept however, have had better.

Service a little off-hand, but a pleasant outside area at the front (when not inhabited by the local tramps).

Nearly a sea view as well, although not quite on the waterfront.

Worth a visit for a lunchtime pint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jfre70562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stopped here for four nights good choice for brekkie,plenty of too. Great location for local amenities, plus other atractions.i.e Monkey world;and trip into Bournemouth.Great food served in the afternoon/evening must try the fish&chips fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Visited Swanage last week, called in here three times, twice for a drink and once for a meal after finding the atmos in the Black Swan up the road hostile!

Cant fault this palce, the food was good and the Piddle real ale a very nice taste.

Dont take my word for it try it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Called in with my father for lunch today (25.1.12) and the bill was just over twenty pounds. The young man behind the bar seemed to view customers as an inconvenience. There were no welcomes or pleasantries, thank you's or anything. Their card machine was playing up, so had to be prompted to retry when the card was decxlined. After retrying all was ok (no apology naturally). The food is pretty good, but not cheap - seven quid for a baguette etc. The brunch looked good and worth the money. On refllection, he may have been getting into character for their Burns evening that night

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Swanage hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised with the clean, fresh and very pleasant modern rooms in this character hotel situated in the heart of Swanage town centre. The pub offers a range of Piddle Brewery Ales, great entertainment and lovely food. The mixed grill has over 20 oz's of meat on the plate and is very good value for money. The service was friendly throughout. Thank you Tracey and your team for a wonderful stay - I would gladly recommend this anytime !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_gordon_mott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and the fact that The White Swan is so centrally located may our short break very enjoyable. The room was very clean if a little small. The on-suite was very small and not that clean. The radiator had most of its paint peeling off and the shower base was dirty. However the power shower was fantastic . The food was outstanding. Full of flavour and huge portions .

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#4 of 49 in Swanage
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#13 of 49 in Swanage
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#10 of 49 in Swanage
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Town Hall Lodge
Town Hall Lodge
#14 of 49 in Swanage
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan

Property: The White Swan
Address: 31 High Street | The Square, Swanage BH19 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for a traditional English pub with friendly staff and a great atmosphere then look no further. Found in the sunny, coastal town of Swanage in Dorset, The White Swan has under gone a major transformation in the last few years, giving it a more fresh, modern look with out taking away any of its rustic charm. The present owner Simon Ginn took over the business at the start of 2008, having spent many years in pubs up and down the country. He has used all his experience and knowledge from being in front of the bar and taken it behind the scenes, his aim to turn the White Swan into one of the best pubs in town. Why not come and see for yourself what we have to offer. You can relax in the bar and choose from our wide selection of beverages, including local real ales, ciders, a variety of draught and bottled beers and an extensive wine list. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant; our menu offers something for everybody or you can try one of our popular daily specials. Located at the rear of the pub is our secluded, walled garden where it is easy to forget you are in the centre of town and just sit back and enjoy the sunshine and if you are looking for somewhere to lay your head, then try one of our clean and comfortable letting rooms. What ever it is you are looking for, you can be sure of a warm, friendly welcome and we promise you, you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Swan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Swan Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing