We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #1 of 47 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

From the minute we arrived, right through till we left, nothing was too much trouble. David and Diane were so welcoming and friendly. Our bedroom was spotless and comfortable with a large ensuite. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and all locally sourced. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the spa facilities but definitely an added bonus. We will definitely book again next time we visit Swanage.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments and making our first weekend open in 2014 such a happy one. hope to see you again . Dianne & David x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    52
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
487
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our second time staying with Dianne & David at their lovely b & b. We stayed a week last summer and had the king size at the front so decided to try a different room this time and had the superior double at the back which is on the top floor. A lovely room with amazing views of the hills and beautiful en suite shower room. The food is beautiful and plentiful and we spent a couple of evenings in the bar having a drink and chatting (and laughing!!) with Dianne and David.
A lovely relaxing place to stay with many places to visit even in the winter :) and we will be back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beech62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently spent four wonderful nights at The Swanage Haven, and, as on previous occasions the service, food and accommodation were first class. David and Dianne were welcoming as always and were always on hand with advice for days out places to eat etc. (stay in for your dinner is my advice!). Our spotless room was spacious with an en-suite far bigger than our bathroom at home. The bar area (added since our last visit) means that weary legs only have to make it down the stairs to enjoy an evening of local ale and a chat with other guests (and David). Four nights just wasn't enough and hopefully we will be back again very soon - we still need to try out the hot tub!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great B & B. This was our second stay and still as lovely as ever. Good location, free on site parking, comfortable bed, nice room, super shower and amazing breakfast! What more can you want? and all at a great price. The breakfast is locally sourced, beautiful freshly made fruit salad, cereals, home made cake, great "full english breakfast" plus many extra choices such as smoked salmon on scrambled egg. Easy walking distance to the sea front and town. Plus even a hot tub in the garden to use.

Room Tip: Pay a couple of pounds extra for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladytraveller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Couple staying for one night, warm and friendly arrival, good sized room which was extremely clean and comfortable, decided to have a pre-dinner drink in the bar which was nicely decorated and supplied a range of drinks including locally brewed ale (to the delight of the other half!). Breakfast was the best I have tasted and generous portions, David and Dianne were nice and chatty, everything you could want from hosts :)

Overall this b&b is more like a hotel in terms of quality and we will definitely be recommending to friends and family - hope to stay for longer next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
hi Charlotte, thanks for taking the time to review us and we are glad you had such a nice visit. we look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival by David, guest areas clean and tidy. Bedroom a very good size and comfortable bed. Good provision of items in room, including robe and slippers. Bit chilly with change in weather, but additional blankets and heater provided in room.

Warm welcome to breakfast, excellent choice and standard of food. Easy access system for when coming and going and on site parking a real plus point.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked the small room, which was advertised as such but we were surprised how well laid out it was. Another time we would book a larger room but have no complaints. The bed was comfy, the room and bathroom spotless, and the breakfast to die for. We were seeing relatives, otherwise we would certainly have had dinner here. The owners are wonderfully helpful.....and brilliant cooks. They take a huge pride in their hotel and it shows! Lovely decor, good parking system, great food, comfy beds and rooms, plenty of hot water and would stay here again!!

Room Tip: The small room (is advertised as such) is perfectly good, but we would probably go for a larger room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinotour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hi, great to meet you, thank you for your review it was our total pleasure and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbour House Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#5 of 47 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Property: The Swanage Haven
Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated . The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing