We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality with the personal touch”
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #2 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We arrived late Saturday afternoon for a one night stay and was greeted by the owner David Cole who made us feel very welcome and was obviously proud to tell us that they had just been awarded 5 stars by the AA. David told us that they had recently started to do evening meals other than on Saturday evenings. Having enjoyed a fabulous breakfast the following morning we unfortunately needed to continue our journey without being able to sample an evening meal which was a disappointment! The deco is very modern and we particularly liked the dining room and bar. Our room was compact but very clean with tasteful furnishings. Our bathroom was a bit on the small side with a shower that seemed to suffer from low water pressure. However overall a lovely hotel and we had a very pleasant short stay. We did venture in to Swanage the following morning which looked quite sleepy uninspiring place although David had previously explained that had we been staying longer their was some very good walks in the area. We do intend to return one day and stay longer and would recommend to anyone who is wants a hotel with the personal touch. We would have scored 5 other than for the size of the bathroom with the inclusion of a bath.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Manager at The Swanage Haven, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and taking the time and trouble to share your experience, it is appreciated on many levels. We take comfort that your one night stay with us was on the whole a good experience.

I thought I would clarify a few points you made, the room you booked does state a standard double room, consists of s shower en-suite, a standard size bathroom with a shower ensuite sink and toilet , side by side not crammed into a corner.. So am a little puzzled by your comment, but note it. The only room with a bath ...was available when you booked ... A larger room costing more per night would have been an option maybe? Not sure about water pressure issue.. Hasn't ever seemed to be an issue with other guests.

Swanage ... A sleepy uninspiring ..place... A few who would disagree... With stunning sea views, fantastic wildlife and history, and great people :)

Maybe if you ever visit again , we could show you what a great place it really is. Thanking you for comments and input.

David Cole
Swanage Haven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 617 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome on arrival. David helped us with our luggage and explained everything we needed to know about the house and our room. The room was a standard double, but adequate in size. Both the room and the en-suite were spotless. Breakfast each morning was really something to look forward to. The fresh fruit salad was five star! On our second night we took dinner in the bar. Diane is an excellent cook, and the price was more than competitive with local restaurants, and far better in quality. We have no negative comments. A combination of friendly and professional service means that David and Diane set the standard for others to follow.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This B&B was perfect for us in Swanage! It has a few things that many others don't - parking for everyone, a bar and a restaurant. The restaurant here should not be over looked, we ate in one night and the food was lovely (all home cooked by Diane the owner) Our meal here was actually one of the nicest we had during our 4 nights in Swanage. The bar is also great and provides a nice place to have a few drinks before going for dinner. The two owners David and Diane do a brilliant job here - really friendly atmosphere, lovely clean and modern rooms, great home cooked and fresh breakfast! Location is good - it was around a 10-15 min walk to Swanage (we hopped in a taxi one night as it was raining and it only cost just over £3 so its not far at all) Definitely recommended if you are looking for an great relaxing and good value B&B with a few little extras that you won't get at other B&B's!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 - lots of space, perfectly nice shower room ensuite and lovely large window at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel2681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From walking through the door to leaving David and Dianne made us feel welcome, the bedrooms and dinning area are decorated to a high standard .
The breakfast was fantastic as was the evening meals that was all cooked by Dianne who I have to say is a brilliant cook.
Hope to return next year.
( I HAVE FOUND THE LOWER CASE KEY!!!!)
Thanks again for a wonderful weekend

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NgridGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne C, Owner at The Swanage Haven, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

David and I are thrilled your group had such a good time with us, the IT skills are coming on a treat :) look forward to seeing you all again x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My fiance and I travelled to Swanage for a week for a joint birthday holiday. We decided to book The Swanage Haven as it was close to the seafront and looked absolutely beautiful.

The room didn't disappoint. Stunning views from the window - shown in photo 6 on the slideshow - and a lovely bathroom (with a heavenly shower after the cold sea!) which is also shown on the slideshow. The room we stayed in, Room 8, is very cosy, perfect for a romantic break. Dressing gowns and slippers are provided - I think my fiance wanted to take his home!

The decor is wonderful and modern throughout the hotel, including the breakfast room, which is open and bright. The foyer is decorated with lots of sea-themed knicknacks, which is a lovely touch.

Dianne's breakfasts are absolutely delicious - the full English is to die for! There are also some yummy homemade treats on offer - pastries, muffins, preserves and bread.

It is less than a third of a mile to the seafront from The Swanage Haven, and under a mile to the high street, although there are good bus connections if you struggle with distances. (There are also good connections to Bournemouth and Poole, with the number 50 bus departing every 30 minutes, if you are travelling on public transport like we were, and worried about filling up your holiday with activities in Swanage alone!)

If we return to Swanage, we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you, David and Dianne for being fantastic hosts. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A cheery greeting and shown to our room by David.. All good. Very swiftly I arranged a quick soak in the hot tub... How refreshing! Later, slept well and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. We really appreciated the locally sourced and home make produce, bakes and preserves. Stayed two nights, no niggles except the shower cubicle a bit on the small size... But love the extra size of bath sheets... All in all to be recommended and we would certainly consider booking again... we chose not to have our room serviced as only staying two nights..

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mytrips08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at The Swanage Haven 4yrs ago, and it was good then, so on returning to Swanage again this year we didn't hesitate to book again...and it was even better than we remembered. Diane and David have achieved what many in the service industry fail to, and that is an unprecedented attention to detail, with finishing touches that make a real difference. The rooms are beautiful and feel more like a guest room in the couple's home rather than a room in a guest house. They have created a warm, friendly and very welcoming guest house and it was a pleasure to spend a few days there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Swanage Haven...and that comes from someone who has very high expectations and is not easy to please! - safe to say we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
962 reviews
2.0 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $99 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated. The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Swanage Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing