We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B & B For The 21st C”
Review of The Swanage Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Swanage Haven
Ranked #2 of 50 Swanage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We were attending a 50th party - everyone there was moaning about their accomodation. NOT US!
We tried not to be smug...but the 'Haven' was perfect! A real b & b for the 21st century.
Friendly hosts, TOTALLY MODERN, great breakfast, comfy bed, and even a hot tub (not tested!). Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuolomne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 616 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2008

The facilities and decor were absolutely fine. There were a few nice little extra touches in the room.

It was very conveniently located and the food was good and well presented.

The only problem I can mention was concerning a mix up with the booking that meant we were required to pay for a more expensive room or lose our deposit.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank thisissimz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

Spotlessly clean, tasteful modern decor, superb breakfasts, and very hospitable hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryAttrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2008

The Swanage Haven is a recently modernised guesthouse that has everything you could need for a short break in this lovely part of the country. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and all the electrics and plumbing work (yes I have stayed at much more expensive places where this was not the case!) Communal facilities include a lounge with bar and widescreen TV, and a hot tub. The breakfast is really excellent. You have masses of choice and everything is well-presented and delicious - even down to the perfect texture of the toast! Snacks are available in the evening. The hosts are welcoming and have a lot of knowledge about local tourist attractions.
The Swanage Haven is well-positioned for people who want to walk the coastal path and appreciate the scenery and culture of the area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldtrouthampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2008

We had an excellent 2 day break at the Swanage Haven, couldn't fault anything, comfortable clean room, first class breakfast and friendly hosts. The haven certainly deserves the reviews and rating on Tripadvisor.

If we go back to the area we would definetely return to the Haven and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaviraBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

would recommend to anyone - spotlessly clean,lovely modern decor,very friendly owners,high quality breakfast,good location.would definitely return again and again

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Fantastic accommodation.
Owners very friendly, house and rooms immaculate.
Breakfast selection above average and lounge even has a bar! Great place to stay if you're going to explore the Jurassic Coast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tharg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
2 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
970 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#9 of 50 in Swanage
356 reviews
0.9 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#3 of 50 in Swanage
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanage Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanage Haven

Address: 3 Victoria Road, Swanage BH19 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swanage
Price Range: $100 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Swanage Haven 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Swanage Haven is situated just 300 yards from the glorious sandy beach, offering peace and tranquility in the heart of The Isle of Purbeck. The rooms are generously proportioned & sumptuously decorated. The breakfasts are generous, the towels are fluffy and the linen crispy and delicious. Dianne & David Cole welcome you to The Swanage Haven in the heart of Swanage, an ideal base for exploring the beautiful county of Dorset. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swanage Haven Hotel Swanage
The Swanage Haven Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing