We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning views....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“stunning views....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend in August.We did know the hotel but had never stayed there so decided to give it a go.
Very friendly welcome on arrival and check in very efficient.The hotel had been refurbished downstairs and the louge area was light and airy with lots of co-ordinated sofas and chairs-a lovely place to sit and socialise.
The hotel is let down by the accommodation-our room had a superb view across Swanage Bay but was extremely tired.The furniture was dated and the bed was a 3/4 size double instead of full size.The bathroom was very cramped with literally no space to turn round and again in desperate need of an update.
We were booked in on a B&B basis so can't comment on dinner.The breakfast was adequate but not always what you asked for-think sometimes orders lost in translation!!!
Overall it was a pleasant stay but very overpriced for the standard of accommodation on offer.

Room Tip: sea views superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsgomurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    152
    58
    24
    11
See reviews for
106
186
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed for three nights without previously booking, just came across the hotel by chance and what a good choice it was too!!! We stayed at one of the hottest weekends of the year, admittedly the bedroom was very hot but that was the only complaint we had. The food was excellent and the staff were so friendly and helpful. When the garden re-opens next year we will go back again.

Room Tip: A room facing the sea would be well worth paying the extra for, also with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bulldog1063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome by the friendly staff .. We were warned prior to booking that there was building work going on due to underpinning the cliff but in reality the was no disturbance at all ... Food, service, staff, cleanliness were all absolutely 1st class... We would gladly recommend this 1st class hotel to any one wishing to have a relaxing visit to swanage ... Steve &Janice Blomfield

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve021265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The pines was a perfect stay for us in room 21. We booked the pines very last minute whilst on a little road trip round the coast. It was by far the most comfortable of the three places we stayed. We had a Family room as travelling with our 4 year old and this room is actually a suite - so has a separate single bedroom. Perfect - as meant it was home from home and our daughter could get straight off to sleep once put to bed. As when she is in the same room as us we have to coax her to go to sleep. Our room looked out on the fabulous hills (and carpark) and from the single room you could just see the beach. We enjoyed the views very much and even saw some shooting stars.

Arriving at the hotel you can tell they have recently refurbed the reception / lounge / bar area and it feels contemporary. I had read reviews on trip advisor so knew that the rooms were not necessarily yet updated in keeping with this. Although very clean and well proportioned this is the only thing that keeps this from being a 5 star review. The bed was 2 singles but actually very comfy and definitely the best nights sleep. We decided to stay a second night based on our experience of the first night and prolong our trip. Great views from the lounge and breakfast room are a unique point of this hotel. I was prepared again from trip advisor for the non buffet breakfast. I actually enjoyed being served my breakfast and food was good and you could order whatever you wanted. Service was excellent, sure beats helping yourself.

We ate out both nights. We got a taxi into town for £4.50 and strolled back probably a 20 minute slow pace. A slight hill at the end but good for burning off dinner and the four year old managed it fine.

Receptionists were all friendly and very helpful. They are currently restoring the gardens as some of the cliff fell always a few years ago -losing their step access to the beach. Although you can wander along a bit down the road and use the public footpath. We will definitely return in the future and hope to use the beach access.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

this is a nice place considering the size of the town which is tiny.these people run a well managed place and are very friendly.the breakfast was nice although the east european service that seems now to be standard in England did not immediately understand everything, but it happened to us in a 5 star hotel the day before,so...
the room was large tidy with a nice view.the bathrooms was a bit crammed but that is also often encountered.the works in-progress which will continue until christmas were not a spoiler as it was saturday.otherwise it might have been different.Friendly argentinian waitress in the bar who stayed in swanage after having been on an english course in the local harrow house school.life has its surprises

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view on the ground floor .you'll have a free garden with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have just spent a peaceful weekend at the Pines hotel. Our sea-view room at £95pp was rather expensive, but everyything was in order and we shall return soon. The staff were very courteous, making every effort on our behalf. We understand that Bob, the Maitre d' has been with the hotel since 1977, so they must be doing something right! The management really does attend to detail
The food, particularly the fish, both at breakfast and dinner, was excellent and the portions are generous.
A delightful, genuine, seaside hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room and hang the expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Despite of ongoing renovation works, this hotel seems to be popular due to its location (within 10 minutes walk from the beach in Swanage), with large & clean rooms and exceptionally good choice of evening meals but has aging bathroom equipment, awkward position of shower screen in tiny bathrooms, wobbly mattresses that makes it a bit overpriced at £140 per room per night (though the hotel offered a free accommodation and breakfast for our 6 years old child). It also offers a 3 course evening meal at £6+£18+£6=£30 (per adult) and £5+£5+£5=£15 (per child). The hotel’s breakfast included in the bedroom rate could be better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VS_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 14 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Property: The Pines Hotel
Address: 34-36 Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing