We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel,Great Service,Great View”
Review of The Pines Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pines Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel,Great Service,Great View”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have recently returned from a 4 night stay with my wife. Like most other people it was not my first stay at this hotel. Most guests have returned because it is a family hotel very dog freindly. It has some fine views over Swanage Bay. The staff are very attentive and the food is good. Our room had been recently decorated as was a lot of the hotel. The price for the 4 nights was very reasonable and even when I have stayed in peak summer the cost was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Worth having a sea view but does add to the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    163
    64
    25
    11
See reviews for
110
199
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Burntwood, Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We are presently enjoying the third day of a three day break at this very comfortable and welcoming hotel. This is our first visit here but many other guests have been several times previously and that must be a good endorsement. Our room is newly updated, has a balcony and view over the bay.I am anticipating with pleasure the delicious dinner that awaits me this evening.The menu is varied and appetizing with fresh local seafood (the crab salad is particularly good) and meat dishes to choose from,though I have not been able to resist the fish so far.I may this evening! Breakfast is also varied and well.cooked.
I must also commend the staff for their courtesy and helpfulness.All in all a very pleasant stay and one I would be happy to repeat.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing room on first floor.Room 1 is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scholarsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed two nights to celebrate a family wedding anniversary. We were made most welcome; the staff from front-of-house, through to dining, bar and housekeeping were delightful and invariably helpful. Breakfasts were good, as others report, as were the celebratory luncheon, an evening meal and an evening bar meal. Grandchildren were well catered for with understanding. Many guests mentioned that bedrooms were hot, but that might have been because it was an unseasonably mild weekend after a long cold and wet spell; but hey, the windows do open and the sea air is refreshing! It was my first visit to Swanage, and if going again I would certainly look to stay at The Pines.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay at the last minute for New Year's Eve. Whilst £140 was expensive for a single night I have to say the standard of service, eye for detail and helpfulness of staff was second to none. The breakfast is outstanding, again with a superb standard of service and delicious food - all served overlooking a beautiful view of the sea. My only complaint would be that the room decor is slightly dated (but still very clean). It also attracts mainly an older retired clientele but as two twenty something's we were still treated to a first class stay. I would never normally pay £140 for a nights stay but on this occasion it was thoroughly worth it. I would recommend this hotel to everyone and hope to stay again one day soon. It made for a perfect start to 2013!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wacko_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Once again a visit to the Pines hotel. This time with a group of friends. Again it was a most enjoyable visit. Excellent rooms, service and food. The staff remain polite and willing to please. We all considered it a good experience and will return.

Room Tip: Request sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank euniceSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Pines Hotel for 2 nights. I can appreciate some of the reviews that say the hotel could do with a little updating. However, everything was clean and warm and we had a room with a beautiful sea view and in bed at night you could hear the waves gently lapping the shore, I've never slept so well! Hotel service was fab and all the staff made us and our labrador very welcome... Super breakfast too! We loved our stay here and will definately be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here 30 October 2012, Hotel location good & not far from Swanage.
Room was ok, ticked all the boxes & the staff were good.
Breakfast was brilliant, filled me up for the day.
Great views of sea & very peacful.
Well recomended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
927 reviews
0.9 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,471 reviews
5.5 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines Hotel

Property: The Pines Hotel
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pines Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Pines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pines Hotel Swanage
The Pines Hotel Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing