We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Break in Swanage”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge with open fireplace ,TV, dvd, games large sunny kitchen diner,seating 10, doors to garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
lounge with open fireplace ,TV, dvd, games
large sunny kitchen diner,seating 10, doors to garden
master bed with ensuite shower
masterbed ensuite shower room
twin room on first floor
family bathroom on first floor with bath and shower over
spacious first floor landing leading to top floor
front twin bed top floor with ensuite shower room
top floor ensuite with large shower
top floor back bedroom with sink
Enclosed south facing terrace garden with modern rattan furniture
off street parking for 2 cars,essential in Swanage!
sandy beach just 2 minutes walk!
View of swanage beach in direction of Old Harry's Rock
just down the steps is the Cabin beach bar, just a minute away!
other access to beach down slope
walk from house on SW coast path,views of Swanage Bay
shady seat in garden
Window seat in kitchen
walk from house up Ballard Coast on south west coast path
walk from Durlston Castle,Swanage to Dancing Ledge
SW coast path from Kimmeridge to Tyneham
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MRS ANNAB...
1 review
“Family Break in Swanage”
Reviewed May 6, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

My husband and family and son’s family all enjoyed our stay at The White House. There were six adults, our four year old grandson and sixteen month old granddaughter. The house was the perfect size for all of us with beds for 8 and a travel cot.
The house is in a very pleasant neighbourhood a fifteen minute walk from town. In bad weather there are lots of games although we didn’t make use of them as we were catching up with each other.
The owner,Sian, was very helpful with information and even offered us an extra night free as the weather wasn’t the best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BM W
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family get-together in a comfortable house.”
Reviewed April 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

The house is close to all the amenities of Swanage. The patio garden is easy to clear up after doggy midnight visits. There is a friendly pub at the end of the road where dogs are welcome. The Grand Hotel is renown for the Sunday lunch carvery and it is a 2 minute stroll from the house. The weather was bright but cold, but the house was really cosy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madcow498...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great house and great location”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a lovely stay at the White House for my Dads birthday this weekend.

The house is well situated within walking distance of swanage town centre. Dian was very helpful in the run up to our stay and everything we needed was at the house. Including a high chair and cot for my wee one.

We loved the decor and style of the house. The only minor thing was the living room was a bit of a squish with 7 of us and a toddler. Other than that we were really happy with our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Reviewed February 27, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sj1981
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Very Special Family Christmas”
Reviewed January 20, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We have had a lovely time at The White House over Christmas. We all live in Dorset and are familiar with Swanage but wanted somewhere big enough for all 8 of us and two dogs to spend Christmas together without travelling too far. We spent four nights in this delightful property.
We have two children so we took the top floor which has two twin rooms and an ensuite. The other two couples took the floor below. One has an en suite and the other has a separate bathroom (with a bath). I loved the spacious landings and stunning staircase. The kitchen was a lovely sociable area for all of us at mealtimes and the lounge was lovely and cosy. The tv has lots of channels and Netflix etc. It has two fridges (which came in handy!) and a small fenced and gated outdoor area suitable for the dogs (we visited in winter so didn’t spend any time outside). This property is homely and feels very safe. We all love the Purbecks and did lots of walking. I love running so took the opportunity a couple of times to do some routes in and around Swanage. It’s a 5-10 minute walk downhill to the seafront and uphill back. Fond memories were made. Thank you for making us feel so welcome and for the panettone :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home with the added extras!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Sian for the loan of your beautiful home! We had 9 days of thorough enjoyment over the New Year period with our friends and the dogs and the welcoming bottle of Champagne went down a treat! The house is perfectly situated, ideal location for walking the beautiful countryside and of course the beaches, the dogs loved every second, and like us, did not want to go home!. The house itself is home from home, set up perfectly to cater for all our needs, we walked for most of the day and found nothing better than to curl up in the evening with a glass of wine in front of the lovely log burner! Ideally situated for the local pubs and restaurants, the Chilled Red in Swanage is a must.
Sian, the owner, could not have been more helpful, thank you once again, would thoroughly recommend this delightful home and will be visiting again in the future, if Sian will have us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan L
1 review
“Fantastic house yards from the beach”
Reviewed November 20, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Stayed for a weekend with a group of friends and the house was perfect - well appointed, great location with a pub at the end of the road and the beach a few yards further than that! A great base for walking the Jurassic Coast right from the front door - we made it to Worth Matravers.

The owner Sian was super helpful and really prompt with contact throughout and after the booking. Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing