We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay. Good Food. Great Staff.”
Review of YHA Swanage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hospitality i received was first class, all the staff very professional and helpful. I couldn't fault any part of this hostel. The rooms was warm, clean and plenty of hot water and electric points. The showers clean and constant flowing hot water. Toilets ok too. The lounge- comfortable sofas, TV, lots of information and books to read and views towards the sea. There is a separate games room with internet WIFI so that keeps the lounge free of laptops! The breakfasts i had were superb and plenty of it for £4.99. The selection of cooked foods were hot and delicious. The evening meals also delicious, I've never been so spoilt at a hostel. From £7.95 - £9.95 you won't go hungry and a good choice. Plenty of car parking at the rear, also outside the hostel. Short walk down the hill into town where there are an array of small shops and all the banks and co-op supermarket. Walks to the lighthouse and to the Castle Folly along the coast from the hostel so you can leave the car or great if you are travelling by public transport. Swanage railway and Beach near too.
A fantastic place to stay, with great hospitality and easy access to Coast and Countryside.

Room Tip: Bunkbeds in single sex rooms. All rooms have wash basins. Just ask if you have preferences or need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 127 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Travelling alone, I stayed one night in Dec at Swanage. I was the only visitor that night and found the reception very friendly and helpful. The room had a seaview and was warm and cosy. The lounge, kitchen and dining rooms were clean and tidy and the breakfast was excellent provided by another friendly member of staff. Good size car park at the rear of the building. Very close to town centre and sea. Only problem was the water in the room wasn't hot, but had I stayed longer I would have mentioned it- the showers were available anyway. Good night and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The building is lovely and the communal areas fine (an especially comfortable lounge with plenty to read). Unfortunately the carpets on the stairs are worn, the toilet and shower facilities working but very dated (taps only run when you are pressing on them making it difficult to wash your hands). Our room was very stuffy the window being non openable, ventilation being provided by a Velux style window in the ceiling, opened by climbing on one of the top bunks and probably of little use with rain and the wind in the wrong direction. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This establishment is shameful, a complete waste of time and money. The food was the epitome of vile. The breakfast was beyond poor, hideously cold beans, vulgar bacon, uncooked sausages and raw egg, I cannot imagine anything worse. The toilet smells revolting and brings bile to my throat, is the carbuncle on the backside of humanity. I severely do not recommend. However the room view was enjoyable. Looking from the window you're reminded that there is a pleasant world outside. That is all

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garry h, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thanks you for taking time to write your review, as all feedback is important whether positive or negative. I am pleased to inform you thanks to your feedback that changes have been made to our breakfast service and toilets & hope you will consider staying with YHA in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hostel, pretty clean and spacious with a games room and a lounge. Good location, up a hill but well within walking distance of the centre and the pubs and restaurants.
Dinner smelt good although we didn't eat there, breakfast did the job
Just make sure you check what times any large groups will be eating breakfast or you could find yourself at the back of a long queue!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

It has been a few years since my last YHA stay. But swanage was considerably better than the last without being great.

Sharing a dorm you can't expect much.
It smelt a bit damp in the room and the toliets/showers weren't exactly spotless, but neither were they filthy. Bed was comfy enough. Linen was clean. Breakfast was decent for a fiver.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip_A_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having never stayed in yh before, and for someone who has not been a youth for many moons, I was, to say the least dreading staying here. However, it far surpassed my expectations! It is a beautiful old building, full of charm and character, with wonderful views over Swanage Bay to enjoy once you have got your breath back after climbing the VERY steep hill....! Certainly not for someone with mobility issues ( the hill or the hostel).
It was far cleaner than I imagined especially considering the turnover of guests although it did have a rather musty smell at first but you soon became accustomed to it. We stayed in a twin room, 2 metal bunk beds..I still chuckle at the thought of my friend & I in these prison issue type beds, in fact my first words when we opened the door to our room was ' blimey it's like a cell', luckily my fear of heights bagged me the bottom bunk! There was just a hand basin, a stool & a chair + 2 plug sockets, no where at all to hang any clothes, luckily we'd packed a couple of coat hangers, so could hang a couple of things from the ends of the bed. The toilets and showers were very clean and we never had to wait to use them even though the hostel was full in the week we stayed.
I tried the cooked breakfast once, it was good value for £5, we didn't try any other hot meals as there was competitively priced meals in town.
The self catering kitchen was small and In dire need of modernisation, 4 slice toasters and a couple of extra kettles and oh yes a few egg cups would be handy! Unfortunately some of the guests didn't observe the kitchen rules and a few mums insisted on having the whole family in there to cook, plate up & even eat at the work surfaces even though there is a very spacious dining room to eat in. This was very inconsiderate to other guests, as was having toddlers trailing around even though it was clearly marked no under 7s in the kitchen! That said obviously people would make allowances for anyone staying alone with small children but sometimes I do despair at the lack of common sense and consideration in some!
The staff were polite and helpful but very low key, all in all I have mixed feelings about the hostel, it's rather expensive with basic facilities but rather charming too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
449 reviews
3 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Herston Caravan & Camp Site
0.1 mi away
The White Swan
The White Swan
#50 of 50 in Swanage
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Robertsbrook Guest House
Robertsbrook Guest House
#11 of 50 in Swanage
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Swanage

Address: 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Swanage
Price Range: $52 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, sea facing, Victorian villa is situated 5 minutes walking distance from the blue flag awarded beach of Swanage. Our hilltop location gives the front facing room's spectacular panoramic views of Swanage town and bay. Swanage town often holds music festivals, Art weeks and the Swanage Carnival every year. The town is a classic British sea side resort, and the gateway to the Jurassic coast, a world heritage site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing