We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal base for a holiday in Swanage”
other travelers have booked this property
Steam Railway Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room French patio doors in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room
French patio doors in lounge
Sunny Courtyard Garden
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom - kingsize bed
2nd Bedroom double bed
3rd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Main bathroom
En suite shower room
Dining Room
Swanage Bay Punch and Judy
Steam train near Corfe Castle
Swanage Steam Railway Engine Workshop
View from bedroom window
Corfe Castle Station
Swanage Steam Railway Sation
Steam train at nearby work shed
Swanage Steam Train
Swanage Bay Beach
Durdle Door
North end of Swanage Bay Beach
Swanage Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KWAKBeerf...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ideal base for a holiday in Swanage”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Highly recommended. Good email communication with the owners beforehand. As other respondents have noted the cottage is in an excellent location. It is convenient for the amenities of the town centre, the Swanage railway, and, since we had two children aged five and six with us, a very good playground (just over the railway bridge).

The house comfortably accommodated four adults and two young children. A bathroom with shower, an ensuite shower and three wcs meant no undue pressure on those facilities. The kitchen was suitably equipped for a holiday stay for six people. Those in our party who used the TV, DVD and CDs were very happy with them. WiFi was excellent – we encountered no problems with our computers, phones or internet radio. The courtyard garden got the sun for most of the day and was ideal for pre-dinner drinks after a day on the beach or walks in the Purbeck hills. The children always found things to occupy themselves around the house and garden and we found Swanage to be a very family friendly resort, not overly commercial.

As regards parking, we had two cars. We parked the smaller car in the garage and the larger one on nearby Court Road – although spaces there can go quite quickly during the day. Overall then Steam Cottage provided a very good base for our week's stay in Swanage and we can recommend it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a detached house in a town centre location with good access to all amenities
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a convenient location”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely house in a convenient location. Garage was a bit of a tight fit for my MK6 golf but I could just squeeze in with mirrors folded back. Apparently it's OK to part in front of the garage if your car won't fit or you're a nervous driver!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teresab79
uk
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent, comfortable family accommodation”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a great stay at Steam Railway Cottage. The house is very comfortable and has everything you need when staying with young children such as stair gates. It is spacious, spotlessly clean and in a great location within a few minutes walk of Swanage town centre, the beach and of course, Swanage Railway which my young boys loved! Highly recommended

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideally situated for all tastes”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This rental ticked all of our boxes. Secure garage parking, within feet of the heritage railway, with the station, bus station, town and shops an easy stroll away. Inside it was comfortable with the extra touches only a caring owner gives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: settee
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve-G23
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Home Comforts”
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Steam Railway Cottage is conveniently located for walking to the shore and the town centre and for trips out of Swanage by car or train. It has plenty of space for 4 adults and is warm and comfortable, furnished to a good standard and very well equipped. We had a great week despite poor weather and found it ideal for exploring the lovely coastal paths of Purbeck. The garage is a bit scary for anything but the smallest cars, but we found that with a bit of manoeuvring we could park across the front of the garage with minimal overhang into the road.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizn25
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, great position, comfortable and well-equipped.”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Visited with daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter. Comfortable cottage and well equipped both inside and out. Very useful folder with lots of local details. Wi-fi worked well. Plenty of space and useful to have two bathrooms. Convenient base for Swanage and further afield.
Much appreciated the goodies to make a much needed cup of tea after a long journey and the bottle of wine to enjoy with our evening meal!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy E
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable cottage in good location”
Reviewed September 21, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a very comfortable stay with our grandchildren and family . The cottage was very clean and well equipped- the welcoming bottle of wine was a nice touch.
Ideally situated for Swanage steam railway,town and beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing