We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A brilliant holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property
Steam Railway Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room French patio doors in lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Steam Railway Cottage
Living Room
French patio doors in lounge
Sunny Courtyard Garden
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Main bedroom - kingsize bed
2nd Bedroom double bed
3rd Bedroom with Bunk Beds
Main bathroom
En suite shower room
Dining Room
Swanage Bay Punch and Judy
Steam train near Corfe Castle
Swanage Steam Railway Engine Workshop
View from bedroom window
Corfe Castle Station
Swanage Steam Railway Sation
Steam train at nearby work shed
Swanage Steam Train
Swanage Bay Beach
Durdle Door
North end of Swanage Bay Beach
Swanage Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo W
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant holiday!”
Reviewed September 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Steam Railway Cottage with our 2 year old and 4 month old and want to share how fantastic it is. We have stayed in several cottages in the South West, and this is the best we’ve encountered by far. The cottage is spotlessly clean, modern and comfortably furnished, with some lovely home from home touches. The owners very kindly put up safety gates, a travel cot, and high chair ready for our arrival and provided cutlery and crockery suitable for children. We also appreciated that blinds and sockets had been made safe in the children’s room. These touches make such a difference to a family holiday! The location is excellent, 5 minutes to town and no more than 10 to the beach. Our daughter loved the viewing area for the Swanage railway, just a toddle up the road and our week was punctuated with excited shouts of “Train!” every time the steam engine chuffed past. Brilliant. We can also recommend Farmer Palmers (toddler heaven), Monkey World, Knoll Beach Studland, the steam railway to Corfe and, of course, the lovely town of Swanage.
A brilliant holiday and can’t recommend the cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Safe for children.
Liked least: Nothing - all great.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth4...
Peterborough
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Thoroughly Recommended”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We stayed a week at the Steam Railway Cottage, which we booked before noticing the reviews already on TA. And we were not to be disappointed.
The house itself is perfectly furnished and decorated, and is set about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Swanage. We booked because I like railways and it overlooks the Swanage Railway another plus point, though my wife is not so sure...
The property has a garage, which you do have to leave your car in and not in the private court yard. Not a problem for me though my VW Touran was a tight squeeze and just fitted.
The only slight issue I had with the property is that I did find the bed in the master bedroom slightly hard at times, but am sure others would find it giving a perfect nights sleep (all down to personal taste). Other than that I would readily score the property 5 out of 5.
The only room for improvement would be if WiFi could be offered, but this was not really an issue for me as I am on O2 and my iPhone was consistently picking up 3G on 2 to 3 bars (I like to stay connected so that I can search out what to do, timetables, restaurants etc).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The mattress
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank Z
Alicante, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant holiday rental”
Reviewed December 28, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We were stunned by the quality of this holiday rental. Located in the beautiful seaside town of Swanage and close to local amenities it really is a perfect place to spend a short break. The extensive facilities and the attention to detail make it a real home from home experience. The owners were particularly accommodating and eager to help. We were staying with our young grand daughter near to Christmas and the fact that when we arrived there was a beautiful Christmas tree and a baby cot and high chair already erected meant that we felt instantly at home. The facilities available in the cottage were outstanding and gave the impression that the hosts genuinely wanted their guests to be as comfortable as possible. This property comes with our highest recommendation and we are looking forward to staying there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and amenities
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 6, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
chuck7257
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“fanatastic”
Reviewed July 27, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

The owner of Steam Railway Cottage was easily accessible,polite and very friendly. The property its self was first class. Everything was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The cottage was abit further to walk than anticpated,but the town had wonderful shops and a beautiful clean beach. Easy to find the property and a good quiet location.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing