We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant location and base for our walking group”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A brilliant location and base for our walking group”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

All 27 of our rambling group had a great stay at The Grand. It was a perfect base to enjoy all the great walks the area has to offer. The hotel staff were helpful and polite and handled the demands of a large group extremely well. We all thought the meals were excellent. And at the end of a hard day's walking - we so enjoyed relaxing in the conservatory overlooking Swanage bay.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRoseKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    351
    151
    91
    48
See reviews for
173
542
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury Wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Stayed at this lovely Hotel over Easter Holiday , The weather Was not that good, But Staying at this nice Hotel it did not matter, Had a wonderful view of Swanage sea front, "Superb" Had Dinner , And lovely breakfast, Room was cosy, The hotel is very comfortable, Nice lounge, Would love to Stay again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaRose_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Bedroom & bathroom both well past sell by date - faded & shabby. No plug in w/basin, bath stained and shower pretty unworkable. TV only worked (poorly) on one channel. Dinner passable, but breakfast poor - wildly overcooked & obviously had been waiting ages on the hotplate. Porridge (a speciality) uneatable. Not helped by bossy waitress who ran the dining room like a day centre for the confused. Such a shame - the location is superb and the sea views magnificent, but the hotel desperately needs to bring itself up to the standards its prices indicate.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank snoutthetinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We enjoyed a very relaxing and peaceful weekend at The Grand. The staff could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and the food was absolutely superb. It is in a perfect position to enjoy the costal walks and the views from the hotel are glorious. We definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Grand Hotel name gives perhaps a slightly false impression, but it is nevertheless a well-run hotel with good amenities, a fantastic location, friendly staff and serves good food. There are warts to be found, e.g. our room on the third floor was not overwarm and the shower was more a dribble. It is still the best hotel in Swanage, and during the summer with direct beach access it must be very popular. Don't dismiss it because of previous postings.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank puguf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Although we arrived at the Grand on a driery wet day in Jan ,we had a warm welcome by the staff on reception.Our double sea view room was a little on the small side but cosy and the view from the rather small window was to die for..The hotels decoration was a little tied and fraid around the edges and appeared to need a cash injection by the owners.Having said that everywhere was spotlesly clean.Both me and my wife were pleasently surprised by the quality of the food and service,especialy from a 3 star estaplishment, The resturant staff were attentive and freindly with a grand view of Sanage Bay to book.All-in-all a really nice stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrabbeyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

On our arrival we were immediately offered a free upgrade to a sea view room. This generous offer set a lovely tone for our stay. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful and their courteous service at meal times was very pleasing. Breakfast was more than ample and the plates were hot. The rooms were very smart, clean & tidy and the bed comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the bedroom. A good selection of papers were available in the comfortable lounges and the view, from the large conservatory, of Swanage Bay was wonderful. We will feel very confident to book a holiday break at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wychwoodReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,723 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing