We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most relaxing friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A most relaxing friendly hotel”
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We enjoyed a very relaxing and peaceful weekend at The Grand. The staff could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay and the food was absolutely superb. It is in a perfect position to enjoy the costal walks and the views from the hotel are glorious. We definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloucestershireHejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    340
    143
    89
    46
See reviews for
157
532
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Anglia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

The Grand Hotel name gives perhaps a slightly false impression, but it is nevertheless a well-run hotel with good amenities, a fantastic location, friendly staff and serves good food. There are warts to be found, e.g. our room on the third floor was not overwarm and the shower was more a dribble. It is still the best hotel in Swanage, and during the summer with direct beach access it must be very popular. Don't dismiss it because of previous postings.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank puguf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2010

Although we arrived at the Grand on a driery wet day in Jan ,we had a warm welcome by the staff on reception.Our double sea view room was a little on the small side but cosy and the view from the rather small window was to die for..The hotels decoration was a little tied and fraid around the edges and appeared to need a cash injection by the owners.Having said that everywhere was spotlesly clean.Both me and my wife were pleasently surprised by the quality of the food and service,especialy from a 3 star estaplishment, The resturant staff were attentive and freindly with a grand view of Sanage Bay to book.All-in-all a really nice stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrabbeyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2010

On our arrival we were immediately offered a free upgrade to a sea view room. This generous offer set a lovely tone for our stay. The staff were very professional, friendly and helpful and their courteous service at meal times was very pleasing. Breakfast was more than ample and the plates were hot. The rooms were very smart, clean & tidy and the bed comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the bedroom. A good selection of papers were available in the comfortable lounges and the view, from the large conservatory, of Swanage Bay was wonderful. We will feel very confident to book a holiday break at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wychwoodReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Have just returned from having a (special offer) Winter break at this hotel ... and I honestly cannot fault anything over the course of our stay. At the time of booking, we were the only guests in the hotel and were therefore offered the choice of any of the rooms. We chose a double room with a sea view and balcony (room 103) - absolutely stunning (ok, agreed, the ensuite bathroom was 'dated' but everything functioned perfectly).
The booking in procedure was the quickest I have ever experienced at any hotel, the staff were all wonderful and very pleasant at all times (baring in mind that our stay coincided with the harsh weather conditions of January 2010). Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and my partner and myself were made to feel totally relaxed at all times during our stay.
As everyone has previously said, the views from the various rooms (bedrooms, conservatory, restaurant etc) are absolutely stunning, to watch the (winter) sun come up and go down was just pure bliss and left you feeling at peace with the world.
The hotel was warm and cozy (our room was very warm and cozy - spot on) and the food is superb at breakfast and dinner. Bar snacks are available and my partner enjoyed some lovely Dorset baked ham and mustard sandwiches one mid afternoon in the conservatory, overlooking the bay.
Only been back home for half a day as I write this, but missing the hotel greatly already. Many thanks to all at The Grand - you were simply brilliant.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife’s 30th.. Fancy website and reassuringly expensive, so expected what I saw online. didn’t get it, walked the whole hotel trying to convince ourselves to stay. The smell of hospital disinfectant everywhere, not a single item of furniture matching in the room, TV smaller than my mobile phone, bathroom smelt of mould, broken windows in the gym, very strange coloured water in the pool. When I called down to reception and said, “erm we have had a good look around and it’s not quite what we had in mind” rather than an "oh how can we fix this" a very casual "well the deposit is non refundable". We took the hit and ran, All the way to a hotel in a large chain, not quite the small intimate place I was looking for but neither was the RAND. G missing from the front sign, crashed abandoned car in the car park. Please please do not go to this hotel.. The view was nice, but print it off the website and put it on your wall, and go somewhere else...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevorKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Horrible place, hugely overpriced. Very dishonest manager. I booked over the phone and the rates quoted were per person not per room. The room that we got was disgusting, with pealing wall paper, dirty, dark and with plastic dirty walls in the bathroom imitating marble.
Very average food and service. A real rip off.
The location is stunning, shame that this hotel is a disgrace in such a beautiful part of England.
Could any one tell me how to report this hotel to the Tourism Authorities please? I feel cheated.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcatoMansito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing