We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grand Value”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to have a short break to shake off the January blues! We are both young full time workers from just down the road in Bournemouth but just wanted to step off the rollercoaster of the city. We found The Grand Hotel at a great price for just one night with breakfast so we booked it. Travelled here on a Tusday,stayed the night and spent the Wednesday exploring Durlston country park and castle which is just a mile or two up the road with amazing views and walks if thats what you fancy. The Grand Hotel has lots of character, a little tired looking but its nice to visit these kind of hotels and nice there are still some around, beats your everyday lifeless travel lodge hands down! Everything was clean and tidy, food was satisfying, the staff were very pleasant and always smiling,and a very nice welcome on arrival and departure from the front desk. We had access to the leisure club downstairs too so managed to have a swim in the fairly small pool and soak in the bubbling jakuzi. It was just all so nice and peaceful but that is the time of year as there was not too many people about. Would like to come again!
Mr T and Miss D.

Room Tip: Sea View! Higher rooms tend to have the pigeons singing on your windowsill in the mornning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glennytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    345
    145
    90
    47
See reviews for
162
537
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is a little dated but this just adds to the charm. It is in a great location with stunning views of the sea, beach and town. It is around a 15 min walk to the town centre either along the beach or road, if you take the beach option you will need to ascend or descend a long flight of steps. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the breakfast service was vas very good, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in mid January for a weekend. Lovely welcome from all the staff. Clean comfortable room. Great to have a pool, gym & sauna. Only faults were poor quality sausages & a very weak shower. We got a great deal & would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judyger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridport
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We took advantage of a special offer at The Grand as we wanted to do a bit of walking in the Purbecks. The walking was great, scenery spectacular, and The Grand Hotel was the icing on the cake. Maybe it's a bit dated and the joints are a bit creaky but the staff more than make up for it. Without exception they were polite, attentive and efficient. We had intended to eat out but there wasn't much open elsewhere in Swanage and the bar restaurant menu looked OK so we thought we'd risk it. It's not The Ivy but perfectly adequate and hard to beat as regards value for money. Service was excellent. The bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. I didn't sleep well but that was more down to the torrential rain and the fact we like to have a window open. I did think the creaky floorboards from the room above would keep me awake but it wasn't the case. The bathroom was dated but the shower in the bath was hot and powerful. Breakfast was Very good - some of the best kippers I've had, and the poached egg was runny (easy thing to overcook!). And the views from the dining room - just beautiful. We'll be back!

The one criticism? The spa. What was there was adequate although the sauna felt like it was built in the 1970s. But the opening times? It closed at 6pm and didn't open again until after breakfast had finished at 9.30am. Not terribly useful for the average active guest I would have thought.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We decided to go to the hotel on the spur of the moment, we were warmly welcomed by the staff .On entrance there was a lovely fire, many floral displays and unique pictures on the walls by local Artists . . The views overlooking the bay were beautiful, all the staff were very friendly,. The conservatory was warm and inviting very tranquil and relaxing as was the lounge area. Our room was lovely and clean, very warm with beautiful views . The food was excellent , we received first class service and the waitresses were very friendly and helpful especially Irene. We arrived midweek and had no trouble parking in allocated spaces, the hotel is within easy walking distance to the town. This is one hotel that we will definitely go back to again .

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view, are lovely with beautiful sound of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We only stay at the Grand when there are offers on but we've been coming on and off for years. The view from the bedroom windows is fantastic and well worth coming here for. Our bed was comfortable and the room clean but the bathroom looked dated and there was some mould on the ceiling. Nevertheless the water was hot and I much appreciated a soak in the bath. We visited in January and during a howling gale it was very cold in the lounge as the conservatory doors were left wide open; once I had the sense to get up and close them it was OK. The breakfast was served with a friendly smile and would have been good if it had all been hot. I was not over-impressed with the bar food but did not eat in the restaurant. There's a health club downstairs that you can use if you're a guest; we went down and played table tennis. I'd stay here again, but only with a sea view and not at full price.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view with a double window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

First we have to say that the staff in this hotel and superb!! They are very polite friendly and helpful, we had a panoramic view room which does cost a little more but was defiantly worth the experience even in January to open the curtains to see an exhilarating start to the day! Our room was comfortable but without any finery but you always have to remember this is 3 stars only despite it looking like a grand old hotel, yes it's a bit faded but is has charm. The breakfasts were superb as was the service, we also had a quick snack lunch on the conservatory terrace which was equally as good. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the panoramic view, it's worth the little extra to make the stay special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cortado10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
408 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,448 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing