We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaview Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Seaview Views”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights Bedroom still in need of some refurbishment but it is kept very clean ,bed very comfortable .En suite still in the sixties style although clean.Great views looking over the gardens &bay .Excellent leisure facilities.Breakfast great and a good choice on offer ,staff very helpful.Evening menu meals could have had some tradinal meals all a bit to fancy for us.Decor for the Grand is very dated but clean. Just like to say Naomi on the reception desk was the most friendly and helpful and had great knowledge of the area.

Room Tip: for sea views 207 -206 -205
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiskeytiff876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    340
    143
    89
    46
See reviews for
157
532
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from a very successful cricket tour of the Swanage area with 15 other cricketers. We had nothing but praise for the hotel, very comfortable with a range of leisure facilities. We were particularly impressed with the extremely attentive staff who couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast was always a delight, with plenty on the menu. Thanks for a grand stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEjustME_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

It was a nice stay but do feel the price is to high for here. the hotel need's a lot of work doing to it.
when ever we were at the bar no one was there to help us if it had just been the once it would have been fine but it was each time.
the breakfast was very nice all you could want.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed for two nights with breakfast and were delighted with our experience. Great service, amazing location. Had an absolutely great stay here, would definitely stay again. Breakfast and the spa/gym area we also loved. Minutes from the beach, town and amusements. Only thing I would say is people upstairs very loud, ceilings quite thin, could hear every move. However it was a great room to sleep and very big. Exactly what we wanted and needed.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Used a Travelzoo voucher to have a 2 course lunch off the Spring menu, choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and 3 desserts costing £19 for 2 people. I thought it was good value. The service was efficient and the food was tasty and well presented. Usual cost would have been £50, so it was quite cheap. Made a real change and would recommend it to anyone if it comes up again. We sat in the conservatory on a hot sunny day...it was hot in there although the door and windows were open. Stunning views over Swanage Bay though. Inside the hotel the bar and lounge looked inviting. Parking is poor as they only have a few spaces, so we parked up the road, which could be an issue on a very busy day. There appeared to be quite a few people there on the offer which is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKKBmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Grand Hotel is in a great location with a superb view of Swanage Bay and has easy access to the beach. The food offer in the evening has improved considerably. Rooms are comfortable and it is well worth asking for a sea view. The staff are friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 379Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our family celebrated a Diamond Wedding for 20 people, which included four childern under 6. The event was well coordinated with good communication via email in the few months leading up to the day. (thanks to Lindsay).

A Sunday Lunch menu (including a childrens option) was issued in advance to allow guests to choose and for preparation of the kitchen. The menu was a guide and any other requirements could be considered. For 20+ people, a 10% discount was offered, which worked out around £15 per head plus drinks. Geat value.

The venue was great with our one long table overlooking the beautiful Swanage Bay. The staff were very attentive and efficient and looked after our group throughout the time we were there.

The food was also of good standard, fresh and of generous portions.

Overall, we had an excellent day and our thanks to all of the staff that served us. I would recommend this venue for this and other types of occaisions and would certainly consider returning again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Mart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing