We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We did not like the room much.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We did not like the room much.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have stayed before and generally the hotel is OK. This time we had a room on the third (top) floor. It was up in the roof with a great sea view ( at no extra cost). The room looked OK on first impression but we soon found thinks wrong.
The curtains were light and very thin. As soon as the sun came up it was totally light in the room. OK if you want to read in bed at 6 am but not if you like to sleep.
The bed was a standard double and soft enough but the duvet was really horid. It was warm enough (10.5 tog) but made if some stiff cardboardy stuff that was not very comfortable.
The bathroom was quite small. The loo would not flush efficiently; it was necessary to try about 4 times to clear a few sheets of loo paper. The wash basin only had a tiny glass shelf so there was no where to put your wash bag and stuff so you have to put it on the floor. I hate that. The shower only made a pathetic dribble, I guess this is lack of water pressure on the top floor.
When you have washed your hair the hair drier is on a very short flex so that if you dry standing up you will be holdind the drier, the flex plus the holder the drier sits in.
There was somebody on reception when we checked in and that was done well. Every other time we came in and went to reception for our key there was nobody there. We had to go looking for the erception persion who was to be found serving in the bar. So you have to wait while they finish that and then they can come and get your key. I can understand the economy of having the receptionist do two jobs but just don't expect me to like it.

Room Tip: Top floor appears to have bad water pressure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    351
    152
    91
    48
See reviews for
173
542
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We've just returned from a 2 night Groupon offer.The view of Swanage bay is stunning from the Conservatory.
We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfast was good and plentiful.Shame about the windows in the Dining room,which had condensation between the panes and therefore spoilt the view.
We decided to try a meal in the Conservatory on the first night even though the menu was abit pricey.We were very disappointed when it arrived.The portions were very small.I had the sea bass.It was the tiniest fillet served with just potato,no veg or salad!My husband had the Rib-eye steak,asked for it to be cooked medium but was well-done and very little to accompany it.We complained to the waiter about the portion sizes and as we didn't hear any more about in complained to reception the following day who gave us a full refund.
Never-the-less we chose to eat out on the second night!
Our room 205 was fine although the pidgeons were a nuisance and noisy at times.
We would go back again on a B&B basis as such a beautiful view and enjoyed the Spa facilities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 506stephnicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic location, good food and excellent staff. Room (number 300) was OK, but a little hot as was in the roof space, at the hight of summer this would be a bigger issue. The room was behind "the Grand Hotel" lettering and birds nested at night on the supports, so you could not leave the window open for ventilation without the fear of a bird in your room, or the noise that they make.

Even in taking into account the comments made, the location is just fab and I would love to stay there again! I would also be keen to treat my family over a weekend, although the price is an issue. At £55 B&B it is good value, but at say £240 per night for a family of four it is out of our reach (£1680 for a week). We have just stayed in a four star hotel Half board in Portugal for £283 for 5 nights for 3 people!!!! This is the problem that all UK hotels face.

Room Tip: Don't have a room in the roof - see my full review above. A sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a century old hotel which is located in a fantastic position overlooking the bay of Swanage There is a large garden with benches and direct access to the beach via a long flight of steps. Our room 301 was quite near the lift so we had noise from that. In addition the small bathroom had a sloping ceiling so that you really had to mind your head when getting off the toilet!! If you are tall you really do not want to be allocated this room. The shower cubicle was very small and the tray very badly needed replacing, though the shower head was very good. Bedroom very small tho bed comfortable and whole room very clean. Breakfast was good - in a lovely dining room overlooking the sea, with hot food cooked to order. The loud female supervisor was rather sergeant major-ish but other staff we found very friendly and helpful.On our last day I ordered tea for one to drink in the lovely conservatory & it was £2- on a tray with nice cup & saucer - I drank 3 cups which I think must make it a real bargain ! We didn't try the restaurant as it was a bit nouveaux cuisine for us but plenty of places in the town. We had a fantastic 2 days as the weather was beautiful and we stayed all day on the beach - my husband even swam in the sea !. The gym was quite small and the pool ridiculously so - with a third of it being taken up by steps far too big for it but I had a little swim - if there were more than 2 people you couldn't! Parking on the hotel is extremely limited and we found we always had to park up the road, but apart from these few things we did have a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A very relaxing break, the Staff friendly and welcoming, room was very clean and well appointed, magnificent sea view, food to a high standard, the location is excellent. Highly recommended for couples enjoying a a celebration or just a break away from everyday life.

Room Tip: The south side is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We read the previous reviews about afternoon tea here after having spied the hotel across the bay in Swanage. Needless to say they were so damning we were compelled to try it out to see just how bad it could be.....we found the staff to be more than helpful especially as officially we were too late for tea and the service and the scones were generous. It is undeniably a dated hotel but charming at the same time, unpretentious and efficient. And the views really are as impressive as everyone claims.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Semybazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Grand hotel through groupon. Although given a room on the top floor (which is normal with groupon!) the room was really nice. Plenty of space, comfy bed, tv and kettle. The only issue was the shower had a really low pressure head on so it was only a light spray which made hair washing very difficult, also there was no hairdryer in the room but with the shower being the way it was it would have been a bonus to actually get our hair wet enough to wash it! However, the showers in the spa were powerful so we used them after the pool as much as possible.

The pool area was great, really clean and nice and quiet. We actually had the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna to ourselves both days. As previously stated the showers were really good, there was a decent changing area with hairdryers too. Only issue was on the 2nd day, the hot water had been turned off for maintenance and didn't come on til over 2 hours later than it should so it meant our showers were freezing cold after swimming.

The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice of cereals, croissants, jams and juice etc. Cooked breakfast was really nice although better on the first day than the 2nd.

The bar area and patio was lovely to sit in and had an amazing view of the coast. The drinks from the bar were quite expensive though (£12 for a pint of fosters, an ameretto and a bag of peanuts!) so we only stayed for half an hour.

All in all I would definitely use this hotel again if I found another good deal as its a bit pricey to pay full price to stay here, the location is perfect, straight onto the beach from the back garden and only a 5 minute walk to the town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenbeck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
417 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,480 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,724 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing