We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic location, good food and excellent staff. Room (number 300) was OK, but a little hot as was in the roof space, at the hight of summer this would be a bigger issue. The room was behind "the Grand Hotel" lettering and birds nested at night on the supports, so you could not leave the window open for ventilation without the fear of a bird in your room, or the noise that they make.

Even in taking into account the comments made, the location is just fab and I would love to stay there again! I would also be keen to treat my family over a weekend, although the price is an issue. At £55 B&B it is good value, but at say £240 per night for a family of four it is out of our reach (£1680 for a week). We have just stayed in a four star hotel Half board in Portugal for £283 for 5 nights for 3 people!!!! This is the problem that all UK hotels face.

Room Tip: Don't have a room in the roof - see my full review above. A sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

678 - 684 of 970 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is a century old hotel which is located in a fantastic position overlooking the bay of Swanage There is a large garden with benches and direct access to the beach via a long flight of steps. Our room 301 was quite near the lift so we had noise from that. In addition the small bathroom had a sloping ceiling so that you really had to mind your head when getting off the toilet!! If you are tall you really do not want to be allocated this room. The shower cubicle was very small and the tray very badly needed replacing, though the shower head was very good. Bedroom very small tho bed comfortable and whole room very clean. Breakfast was good - in a lovely dining room overlooking the sea, with hot food cooked to order. The loud female supervisor was rather sergeant major-ish but other staff we found very friendly and helpful.On our last day I ordered tea for one to drink in the lovely conservatory & it was £2- on a tray with nice cup & saucer - I drank 3 cups which I think must make it a real bargain ! We didn't try the restaurant as it was a bit nouveaux cuisine for us but plenty of places in the town. We had a fantastic 2 days as the weather was beautiful and we stayed all day on the beach - my husband even swam in the sea !. The gym was quite small and the pool ridiculously so - with a third of it being taken up by steps far too big for it but I had a little swim - if there were more than 2 people you couldn't! Parking on the hotel is extremely limited and we found we always had to park up the road, but apart from these few things we did have a lovely time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A very relaxing break, the Staff friendly and welcoming, room was very clean and well appointed, magnificent sea view, food to a high standard, the location is excellent. Highly recommended for couples enjoying a a celebration or just a break away from everyday life.

Room Tip: The south side is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We read the previous reviews about afternoon tea here after having spied the hotel across the bay in Swanage. Needless to say they were so damning we were compelled to try it out to see just how bad it could be.....we found the staff to be more than helpful especially as officially we were too late for tea and the service and the scones were generous. It is undeniably a dated hotel but charming at the same time, unpretentious and efficient. And the views really are as impressive as everyone claims.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Semybazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Grand hotel through groupon. Although given a room on the top floor (which is normal with groupon!) the room was really nice. Plenty of space, comfy bed, tv and kettle. The only issue was the shower had a really low pressure head on so it was only a light spray which made hair washing very difficult, also there was no hairdryer in the room but with the shower being the way it was it would have been a bonus to actually get our hair wet enough to wash it! However, the showers in the spa were powerful so we used them after the pool as much as possible.

The pool area was great, really clean and nice and quiet. We actually had the pool, Jacuzzi and sauna to ourselves both days. As previously stated the showers were really good, there was a decent changing area with hairdryers too. Only issue was on the 2nd day, the hot water had been turned off for maintenance and didn't come on til over 2 hours later than it should so it meant our showers were freezing cold after swimming.

The breakfast was really nice, plenty of choice of cereals, croissants, jams and juice etc. Cooked breakfast was really nice although better on the first day than the 2nd.

The bar area and patio was lovely to sit in and had an amazing view of the coast. The drinks from the bar were quite expensive though (£12 for a pint of fosters, an ameretto and a bag of peanuts!) so we only stayed for half an hour.

All in all I would definitely use this hotel again if I found another good deal as its a bit pricey to pay full price to stay here, the location is perfect, straight onto the beach from the back garden and only a 5 minute walk to the town.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helenbeck29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked two nights for two people with groupon for £100. There were no standard rooms available so we had to upgrade to a sea view room for £20 per night extra.

We were very glad we did. The view from our room was stunning and it made the trip. We feel that if it hadn't been for the view we would have been very disapointed with the hotel.

The room was clean and comfortable but was like a blast from the 1980's. Cheap orange pine furniture finished the look off nicely. The shower, despite looking like an ancient relic, worked very well. The bedroom doors were not at all soundproof - the couple along the corridor from us sounded like they were having a great weekend.

The dated feel continues throughout the hotel, carpets in the gym area being very threadbare in places.

Sitting in the conservatory for a drink gives stunning views also, but I noticed spiders and webs on the frames.

The garden is lovely and well kept, and the hotel has access to the beach via steep steps.

The breakfast was ok. My other half had a full english breakfast which he said was lovely. As a vegetarian my options for hot breakfast ware limited to baked beans and grilled tomatoes. Coffee was good and hot.

Staff seemed sparse. We seemed to have to wait where ever we needed attention, be it reception, bar, breakfast room or pool. That said, staff were all lovely, no complaints there.

We found it strange that there was a charge for towels in the pool, so took the towel from the room. The pool and jacuzzi were lovely. The sauna a bit old and creaky.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again, but only in a sea view room. This hotel without the view wouldn't feel like a treat.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a sea view room. It's not worth it otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We have just come back from 2 night stay at the Grand and I must say that we enjoyed it in every aspect.
After spending a week at the Hilton in London for a week at Easter with our teenagers this was a much needed weekend break for me and my husband, the staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful throughout our stay.
The room 111 was clean and bright with a balcony looking over the bay, if you can this is a must do for staying at the Grand. I only have 2 negative points and that is that the floorboards creak a lot around the hotel but it's what you expect with a hotel of this age and that the kettles in the room could do with a descale!! I must just mention 2 of the members of staff who we spent time with, Andrew the bar man was really chatty and friendly and Bridget one of the waitresses was very attentive aswel so thank you both for making our stay a bit extra special. The food was amazing both in the bar and the restaurant, the pool, spa pool and sauna were amazing aswel. We were the only 2 people in there both times we went down to the leisure facilities, I do think you need to update your website and paperwork though as there is no steam room!! It was lovely to go to sleep and wake up to the sound of the sea, we had the balcony doors open a little bit to make the most of the sound. We will be returning for our wedding anniversary in July but hopefully for a bit longer as I didn't want to leave yesterday to come home. Thank you all for such a lovely stay in the very Grand Hotel

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
291 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
978 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,809 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: $98 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swanage is a classic Victorian seaside hotel that nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and dates back to 1898. It commands spectacular views across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point and many of the bedrooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views. On summer days the garden is the perfect place to soak up the sun, whilst enjoying a refreshing glass of wine or dining Al Fresco. Stroll along our private sandy beach,which can be accessed directly from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing