We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed February 11, 2013

A lovely Victorian Hotel. Excellent breakfast, with a lot of choice. Wonderful setting, overlooking the bay, and within walking distance of the town. Very comfortable rooms, and conservatory lounge. Bar meals in the Conservatory were good value and well presented. The restaurant meals were quite expensive.

Room Tip: We had a room over the main entrance door. It was rather noisy, so ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorsetduckling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

735 - 741 of 979 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just leaving after a three day stay and have had a wonderful time. Well maintained and clean with nice interiors and comfortable bedrooms. The staff were very helpful and extremely polite. We haven't a single complaint. Beautifully set on the cliff top above the beach with steps down through the gardens to the beach or you can stroll down the road to it too. A beautiful sandy beach and traditional seaside town unspoilt and well maintained, with nice little pubs and restaurants.
The surrounding area is very much like the countryside round Ashbourne in Derbyshire with small steep hills Andorra of twists and turns and stone walled and drone tiled cottages. Really lovely.
The hotel has a lift and has ironed out the need for steps. It has a nice spacious dinning room where they do some top end food and lovely breakfasts , where you can view the harbour and a large well maintained conservatory overlooking same and the gardens too.

There is a little spa in the basement, a small pool and jacuzzi and some running machines.

We will be back

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we came here for valentines,its our second stay. not impressed with the male receptionist,quite rude to be honest. staff in dining room were superbe,nothing too much trouble,food was lovely. pool was great.last time we stayed i emailed the hotel praising them but received nothing in return which was rude but as the hotel ticked all the other boxes for us we decided to give it a go again, because of the male receptionist attitude we wont be returning. also the chambermaids cleaned our cups possibly with a cloth theyd used chemicals on as the tea we made after they left was quite bleachy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank UkDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had a lovely peaceful weekend at the grand. Service, food and hotel was great. We enjoyed our stay in room 302, overlooking bay and watching the doves outside on window sill. The only gripe as a veggie was being served half a tomatoe when asking for mushrooms and tomatoes on toast, but Alan made up with full English and croissants.
Loved having drinks and snacks in conservatory with panoramic views. The bar waitress sat night and reception could not be faulted. Hotel dated but don't let that worry you.
Will be back! Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had only driven through Swanage before so didn't know the hotel at all. Read reviews and the one consistent comment was how wonderful the staff were. We totally agree. They are friendly, helpful and treat each guest as special. We enjoyed a two night stay on a deal that included dinner on the first night. We decided to eat there again on the second night as the menu was varied and our experience was already confirmed as the standard of the food was high.
The hotel was warm and a wonderful inviting fire in the lounge kept out the cold bracing wind.
The views are outstanding and it is a great place to sit and enjoy a drink or two.
The bedroom was comfortable and clean and well equipped. Definitely be returning here, especially out of season as there are not enough parking spaces in the car park but plenty available on the road outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

the grand has wonderful views over the swanage bay and beyond. a lounge area where you can sit and gaze, with a tea or drink. as the weather was bad we played drafts and had a bottle of wine. the staff are always available and courteous. the food is good, available all day.
the spa is small, but adequate. the showers needed a good clean as greasy on walls.

Room Tip: sea view would be lovely.our room was on the 3rd floor, in a turret, very windy and the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jean j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Two nights in Swanage in January was always going to be a gamble with the weather so the comfort and friendliness of The Grand Hotel was all the more welcome. Our room was spacious, clean and well-appointed with just one shortcoming in that the bathroom was under the eaves meaning that you had to watch your head.

The restaurant served good food although the price was a little higher than I expected.
However, all in all, we enjoyed a very good break and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: A sea view room would make the trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexmaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
983 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,816 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: $92 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swanage is a classic Victorian seaside hotel that nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and dates back to 1898. It commands spectacular views across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point and many of the bedrooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views. On summer days the garden is the perfect place to soak up the sun, whilst enjoying a refreshing glass of wine or dining Al Fresco. Stroll along our private sandy beach,which can be accessed directly from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing