We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Firstly this is not a five star hotel so do not expect it to be. However is has a five star view of Swanage bay. The beds are comfy and the breakfast was great - cooked to order.

Great value with groupon offer. Stayed in 309 very cosy with big bathroom. Staff also very friendly.Could do with a revamp but then it would be more expensive.

The Spa is not worth bothering with however. No water in the Jacuzzi. Pool very small and looked a bit run down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laulau32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (980)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 980 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

On arrival there was a problem with our Groupon booking because we didn't have the voucher on our person. However the receptionist was very helpful and trawled through paperwork and found a proof of booking.. Something to note if you are using groupon.

However that aside given what we paid £110 for 2 nights B+B we feel we had good value. Yes the hotel is a little dated in areas but clean.

I found the breakfast to be very good indeed and again the staff very accommodating, and friendly .

If you like a few pints whilst you are staying in a hotel expect a heavy bill if you drink the Peroni here! at £4.95 a pint ! Pardon!?

*Great staff
*Good breakfast
*Great views (in sea view)

*Tired decor
*Possible problems with Groupon bookings (bring your proof!)

We would stay here again.

Al and Fran
Lyme Regis

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frali77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Spent a lovely w/e in a well kept hotel with fantastic views across Swanage bay. Staff are a credit to the hotel, curtious, polite and well turned out. Room was not sea-facing but didn't intend spending all night looking out the window! Was rather warm even with the radiator switch off. Room was clean and bed very comfortable, toilet clean and shower in good working order. Dinner menu slightly limited and looked abit highly priced so we opted for the bar food menu and we were not disappointed with the quality and presentation of our meals. Again, breakfast was of a high standard and did not disappoint with a good range of options available, service was good, in a good quality dining-room again with great views. Good quality hotel, quality staff, quality food but thats what you pay for isn't it?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripper469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Visited this hotel in 2000, apart from some redecorating in some areas, the hotel was just the same. The pool area is a bit grim, the jacuzzi doesn't work and the pool needs a face lift as some of the tiles are broken and just looks tired.

However the Gym area was very well kitted out with the usual gym equipment.

The food was ok, but not anything special, and if not included in the hotel deal was rather expensive. The Lamb was tough (asked for a sharper knife to cut it) and had an excess of £8.50 supplement which was a bit steep.

The room was very nice to look at and clean. The two main things which I think are important are Bed and Shower. In our room the shower had a blockage in the drain, and overflowed whilst showering, so had to keep turning it off an on, which was a pain, I informed reception so hopefully they will deal with that. We had twin beds, which were pushed together, one had a new mattress which was very comfortable and the other had an old mattress which was very uncomfortable and you could feel every spring, it creaked like mad when ever you made the slightest movement. So that was disappointing.

Overall it was a relaxing break, the lounge and conservatory area where lovely to sit in especially by the fire and the hotel had a relaxed feeling about it. The views from the conservatory where worth seeing, and having access to the beach was nice to have a stroll into the town. The special offers are worth doing.

I think they just need to put some more effort into making certain that beds are comfortable and showers work well, that is so important.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a sea view, stunning when sun shines!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ded1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had read the Trip advisor reviews but was pleasantly surprised by the great breakfast and friendly and attentive staff. I was not happy to be greated with an additional £25 fee on check out for my 6 year old son to stay in our room - this was not mentioned when I booked the room even though they were aware that he was coming as an extra bed was placed in our room. We had already paid an additional £40 for a seaview room, which by the way was well worth it. There was just a weak apology. I felt this fee should have been waived as I was not expecting it. The childrens evening meal in the restaurant was very expensive at £13.50 for sausage and mash and 1 scoop of chocolate icecream! These two things alone do not make it as child friendly as i would have hoped, which is a shame as it has a fantastic location that would be ideal for families.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view and avoid room 105! as next to stairs and lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 970Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely old hotel, with welcoming feel. Seaview room was wonderful with everything provided in room, except maybe wine glasses. Bathroom a little old and tired, but fine.

No body wash or shampoo in the Gym showers downstairs which was rather inconvenient.

Very long wait for hot breakfast part of order, baked beans were cold, but the sausage was very tasty. No Croissants available on one of the mornings.
Dinner not very exciting and rather expensive for what you got. (£6.00 for a very thin soup, £9.95 for small cod and chips)
The staff were very friendly, helpful and competent.
I would recommend it to my friends and I will visit again.

Room Tip: Seaview is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel is in a wonderful location,on getting to the room the view was great looking out over Swanage bay……. However during the night a storm rolled in which would not have been an issue had the window not leaked and the the wind blowing through, which led to a very cold room.
I mentioned this to reception who very kindly put an electric radiator in the room, but i would have thought paying an extra £40 for a sea view would have been waived.
Decided not to eat in the restaurant as we didnt fancy the menu unfortunately the bar food didnt turn out to be much better well overpriced for two steaks which were a bit chewy.
Staff however were very nice and polite.
All in all a good place for a base ,but i recommend eating out.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 264michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
984 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,819 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: $91 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel, Swanage is a classic Victorian seaside hotel that nestles in the heart of the beautiful Isle of Purbeck and dates back to 1898. It commands spectacular views across Swanage Bay and Peveril Point and many of the bedrooms and public areas take advantage of these delightful views. On summer days the garden is the perfect place to soak up the sun, whilst enjoying a refreshing glass of wine or dining Al Fresco. Stroll along our private sandy beach,which can be accessed directly from the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing