We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I took my daughter here for a two day break just before christmas. Lovely comfortable room, clean and tidy with a fantastic sea view which would be hard to beat.
The staff were helpful and friendly. The decor was understated and elegant with the christmas decorations tasteful and the background music pleasant and not at all intrusive.
The big let down was the food which we found very average and overpriced for what it was. If it had been half the price it would have been fine, but was not up to the standard we would expect for the price, so much so that we chose not to eat in on our second night.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (943)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Swanage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 943 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed on a two night B&B Groupon offer. What instantly impressed on entering the Grand was the very cheery welcome at reception. We paid £20 per night extra for a sea view room, well worth it for the wonderful view. However, this was somewhat spoilt by the fact that the window was rather dirty. The room was lovely and warm – not the latest décor, but all in reasonably good order. Refreshingly, there were no contemporary “designer” scatter cushions on the bed. Simply, nice quality white bedding and good quality pillows. Although, we needed to be very careful not to bumps our heads as the bed was in the centre of a gable dormer, the sloping ceiling started from around three foot up the wall.

The bed comprised two three foot, good quality mattresses zipped together, sadly however, the bed was fitted with a mattress protector with a waterproofed underside. These things always result in a poor nights sleep for us. Invariably meaning you wake feeling clammy.

The room also had a table, two reasonably comfortable chairs, wardrobe and a fair amount of drawers. An 18 inch TV, with a good range of Freeview channels. Unfortunately the free wifi didn't reach our room (309), apart from an occasional/intermittent weak signal, it was also not accessible in the conservatory, but was good and very fast in main lounge.

The bathroom was plain and functional and it was nice to find a working, heated towel rail and good quality towels. However, it soon became clear that it was not all that well cleaned. The basin had a greasy film on it, and the underside of the toilet seat was lets say, rather “grubby” plus, someone had written “clean me” in the dust on the window glass.

Breakfast: Cereals and fruits were self selected, with cooked breakfast being ordered and served at the table, all nicely presented with good quality ingredients and served by the cheeriest of staff.

We didn’t have an evening meal, but we did have afternoon tea on two occasions which was served in the conservatory or lounge. Not best value at £6.75, as the cake and scones were on the small side, but perhaps it’s the views that you are paying for. Both the dining/breakfast room and the conservatory have fantastic views of the bay, plus a large comfortable lounge area.

What a shame there is so little parking space. For a hotel with 30 rooms, there are only about 12 spaces on the hotel site. If you weren’t one of the lucky ones, it’s a case of search the street for a space. This situation doesn’t encourage you to go out in the evening for fear of returning, to find you have no parking space.

The Grand is a very relaxing and comfortable hotel due in no small way to the excellent reception, bar and waiting staff. However, with its lack of off-road parking spaces, dirty windows in the room and bathroom, old and poorly cleaned WC and basin, I feel, at rack rate, this hotel is not great value. A real shame, as with a little effort, it could easily be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayare14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. When we booked, the offer was a room for two nights, one night on a dinner bed and breakfast rate and the other on a bed and breakfast rate.
About two weeks before our arrival date we were sent an e mail to say that we would not be able to eat in the restaurant on the second night of our stay due to the fact that they had Christmas Party nights on a Friday and Saturday night during the month of December and that the restaurant would be fully booked. Whilst this did not matter to us, as we dont mind going out for a meal locally to try different restaurants, we feel we should have been told at the time of booking as I am sure some residents would not like going out in the evening, especially in December, when it is so cold.The meal we did have in the restaurant was ok, but we found the restaurant to be quite cold. The hotel itself is in a good location just being a pleasant walk along the seafront into Swanage town centre. There are plenty of independent shops and restaurants and a cinema. The hotel has a lovely conservatory overlooking Swanage Bay. The room we were given was of good size, the bathroom being huge but with a lot of wasted space. The shower was poor. The bedroom was not planned very well, as the dressing table did not have a mirror or any electric plug sockets.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My partner and I have just returned from a two night break at this hotel. We have stayed here once before and we went back just to relax. It has a great location and the walk along the sea into Swanage is lovely. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and we enjoyed our stay. One fault we found this time was that the restaurant dinner menu had become expensive since our last stay and so most people ate in the bar or conservatory which lead to the poor barman being rushed off his feet! I feel that they should introduce a more reasonably priced set dinner menu for 2 or 3 courses which would then encourage more people to eat in the retaurant.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea facing room as the view is spectacular and eat dinner in the bar or conserv...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblesSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at the Grand, food was excellent the staff were superb giving first class service to all guests and I must add they displayed a great deal of patience with the overblown self important penny pinching egotists that moaned about everything possible on half price or less vouchers. Our room was spotlessly clean warm and very welcoming with comfortable beds, tea and coffee facilities were at hand and the ensuite bathroom was scrupulusly clean. The extra for a sea view is well worth paying with the stunning view of the bay doubly spectacular this weekend with the stormy weather. I can't recommend the Grand enough, I have to say I was a little concerned by some of the earlier revues but witnessing the petty attitude of people who seem to delight in whinging I can honestly say my doubts were expelled. The Grand is Grand.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

kgb have come up trumps with this offer. We upgraded to a sea view room and what a view with our own balcony. Room 111 is the one to ask for! dinner was lovely and breakfast too! Staff are friendly and attentive can't find a fault.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a lunch there recently - a 2 for one offer from Travelzoo. £19 instead of £42 except that the maximum 2 course option from the menu didn't add up to £42. In fact the cheapest option on the menu for 2 people was about £27.

The meal was from a bar menu and served, not surprisingly, in the bar or the conservatory with superb views. It was very much average basic pub food with no imagination.

The only positive thought after reading previous reviews were the serving staff. The 2 lads doing this duty were welcoming and very pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank youngandfiftyish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 6 in Swanage
428 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Knoll House Hotel
Knoll House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Studland
235 reviews
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,503 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range: $141 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing