We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“return stay to the Grand Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Swanage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“return stay to the Grand Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a retired couple we have appreciated the calm and comfort of the Grand hotel on several occasions over the years. Returning for 3 nights with our daughter and 16month old grandson we think they have the "baby" policy just right. Having to bring your own travel cot sets the tone and there is a polite notice that disruptive children should be taken from the dining room. Babies and well behaved children are warmly tolerated but we are very happy that adults' comfort and relaxation take priority. We will continue to return, not least for the excellent food!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    332
    138
    89
    44
See reviews for
149
524
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hotel. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a pleasant sense of old world charm about it. I liked the set up in the main foyer of the hotel - it had a welcoming feel about it. We enjoyed tea and coffee in the afternoon after a day out and about. The views from the hotel of Swanage Bay were stunning even on a cold November day. Breakfast was lovely. My husband enjoyed the full English breakfast and I had cereal, fruit, yogurt - we also enjoyed the croissants etc. There was a good selection of items to choose from.

Our bedroom's decor was a bit dated and I think once the rooms have been refurbished it should give the rooms a more contemporary feel - the furniture was fine. We stayed in Room 309 a double room. I quite liked the sloped ceilings.
The double glazing in our room could certainly do with updating and the only dust I found was on the window sill. The bathroom was huge and the water was hot. We enjoyed our room with the view of Swanage bay and the sounds of the sea - lovely.

We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: It was worth paying a bit extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Had a very enjoyable stay at The Grand Hotel on a 2 night break. It has great location with comfortable rooms, gym and a small swimming pool. The food in the restaurant was excellent but the choice was quite limited. The breakfast was really good and freshly made to order and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall we would recommend this hotel in Swanage which is a lovely seaside town with a fabulous coastline.

Room Tip: Choose a room on first floor if possible to get free wi Fi in your room. Avoid 3rd floor room 310 wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have just got back from a 4 night break at The Grand. We had booked a KGB deal so was slightly dubious, but there was no need. We went with two children (18 & 6), they shared a twin room (No.101), a lovely big bright room, there was no bath only a shower cubile, but this was fine. My husband and I had a double room (No.105) this was also a lovely room, it had been newly decorated and had a nice bathroom, wth a shower over the bath, the bath took about a minute to fill up it was amazing. The celiings are lovely and high, we tried standing on a chair and still couldnt reach the ceiling. We were over the entrance, didnt want to pay extra for a sea view.
What you have to bear in mind is that the hotel is old, so is full of character, its not like a soul less Travel Lodge. It has a very large communal lounge area with lots of sofas and chairs. There is also a long conservatoy area which over looks the sea. The steps to the sea/beach front can be accessed direct from the hotel garden. The beach must stretch for half a mile long and is lovely and sandy. The walk into town, which is a lovely walk, takes about 10 minutes if you have a gentle stroll.
The breakfasts were certainly entertaining. They didnt get any of our orders right the first time, but the staff were quick to correct any mistakes.
Would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Room 105 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Enjoyed stay at Grand Hotel although our room (especially bathroom) not wonderful but hey we only sleep and shower there and the bed was very comfortable. Room 310 has sloping ceiling in bathroom and you have to be careful not to bump your head. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Pleasant view of hills but not the sea. Public rooms have comfortable sofas and conservatory has beautiful view of the bay. Dining room also has sea view. Good choice on menu and food tasty and well presented. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Friends in room 302 were pleased with their sea view but only one person in room 304 can watch TV fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loulou47070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Middlesex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Attended the 18th Swangae Blues festival, (which was great) but I'm afraid the Grand Hotel did not live up to expectations. Firstly ordered a bottle of Champagne in one of the rooms (Brother in laws 60th Birthday) checked over the phone 3 days in advance and assured our wishes were in hand. Arrived on the day and just to make absolutely sure I asked at reception (difficult as didn't want to spoil the supprise) assured again that all was arranged - Bingo!! what a suprise No Champagn! Went down to complain and told that a bottle will be brought up ASAP - (offer not taken) I could of made more of a fuss but didn't want to spoil the start of our weekend)
Anyway went down to a have a drink in the bar ordered a bottle of wine and 2 beers, paid and walked it over to our seats, literaly minutes later the guy I saw in reception came over and said would we like the Champagne at the table (after paying £33 for the order - I dont think so)
Not all doom and gloom though - as it was raining we decided to have the evening meal in the restaurant which was very nice - Irene our waitress could not do enough for us (she didnt know our disapointing start) meal was excellent, good value and plenty of it. The hotel rooms are in need of some TLC being very tired in places and the bathroom - in both rooms - were probably the worse bathrooms we've ever been in (more like 1 star B&B than 3 Star hotel) So overall bad start, poor rooms, very good restaurant and, it must be said the views and the garden area stunning. It would not take a lot to want to go back; a general tidy up, refurbed bathrooms and - oh yes I would not order any suprise Champagne!

Room Tip: Back rooms have a good view of the Purbeck Hills - if you dont want to pay extra for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopsmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The really mixed reviews made me a little nervous of our trip - we were taking advantage of the recent Kgb deal and wanted to walk the coast here so went with the philosophy that as long as it was clean it wouldn't have cost us a fortune if it was awful and we would escape our teenagers for 2 nights..BUT It was great !!!, it is a little fading in places and almost what I'd call quirky with its mixture of styles the staff were really friendly individuals and like the furnishings a mixture of personalities but ultimately all of them were helpful and can't do enough for you, our room was inland facing on the 3rd floor (wonderful view of the Purbeck Hills from our bed), it was small but adequate, clean and tidy with a bath and shower in the bathroom so ticked all the boxes, the lift was small and clunky but we found it hilarious. We didn't actually eat an evening meal here as we choose to explore Swanage but if the breakfast was anything to go by the food is great with lots of optional extras and a fabulous view whilst you ate - the service in the restaurant was superb and they remembered our drinks order the next day and had our pot of tea with us in no time at all. If you do choose to eat out don't miss the Black Swan, we found it by mistake but the food was divine and the people there really welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 304 was quiet without rooms above or beside it on either side so you are assured of peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlenetotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.6 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 14 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#5 of 14 in Poole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing