We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful if ageing hotel set overlooking swanage bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful if ageing hotel set overlooking swanage bay”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

You will feel most welcome at the grand food is of a high standard, whether taken in the dining room or conservatory,with stunning sea views. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable, sea view worth the extra!
Bear in mind though the age of this hotel,i have seen it described as tired, which i would not go so far as to say,but hey it all adds to the charm.overall we enjoyed our 2 nights at the grand, if i had any negatives it would be the cost. Then again we were no strangers to rhe bar!
Bottom line? With its setting close to swanage id say worth a stay . Oh and visit the lifeboat station.Charming!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mashton2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    351
    152
    91
    48
See reviews for
173
542
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beautiful location and wonderful views from my room. All let down by shabby out of date decor, badly designed bathroom, indifferent breakfast and lack of parking. However, there is easy access to the beach and only a short walk to town and local amenities meaning there is no need to use your car. Staff were pleasant and reception was very helpful. Glad I was only staying one night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New forest
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is is wonderful hotel with character, with marvellous sea views. Our room had a wonderful view and was very pleasant. The breakfast was good, and theere is a pleasant garden,with steps down to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Grand at the end of June 2012

A group of 6 cyclists and we arrived at about 7 o clock in the evening -

The receptionist was okay - except she was a little bit unsure about what we could do with our bikes.....in the end she said we could put them against the front fence overlooking the bay --

No worries - we had a small security concern as they were in full view of everyone...and then we met Irene..

Irene...who was a waitress in the main restaurant, not only saw to it that we could have a meal in the bar/conservatory area,despite the fact that we were too late for this, but also located a safe area that we could put our bikes - she went out of her way to do this and even made sure that we were ok in the morning

Breakfast was superb by the way !!

The Grand is a very nice hotel - and a fantastic location - superb views etc, but Irene really made it for us..!!! When we talk about the Grand Hotel, Swanage we shall always remember Irene

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SBTJOHNNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The staff are hard working and friendly but their efforts are let down by the surrounding facilities and decoration of this tired hotel. The beds are great with lovely linen but the bathrooms (whilst clean) are damp and could tend towards mould. The shower took for ever to warm up and the delivery of water was poor. Irene in the restaurant is the star of the show with the food an unfortunate second (the bar food could be a better option!!).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolkahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Lets start with the positives. The staff in the restaurant were great and worth the tip. The dinner on both nights we stayed was very good though the vegetables were a tad undercooked for my taste. The view out is amazing and the short walk to the beach is an additional bonus. We sat in the conservatory and had a cream tea and enjoyed the view. Clearly a lot of decorating has gone on recently. The public area and rooms all look like they have been recently repainted.
The not so good... I can cope with average bedrooms but I do insist on well appointed bathrooms. The one with our room was really not very nice (photo). The shower was totally inadequate and I hate to see brown stains on the bath surround and shower screen. The bed was the smallest I have ever slept in claiming to be a double. Nonetheless, if you feel that the whole was reasonable value you can put up with a few issues. The two nights DB&B cost the best part of £400 including the tea and a few drinks and that was supposed to be a 'special' rate. For a decent room with a good bathroom and sea view it would be pricey but OK. For a small cramped dark room with poor bathroom and no view it is grossly overpriced and extremely poor value.

I do think the hotel is making an effort to improve and, so long as I negotiate my rate and pick a bedroom, I might even stay again.

PS The lift is kind of scary!? The seagulls and doves nesting made sleeping problematic!?

Room Tip: Don't let them give you 205. It is small dark and overlooks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Have just returned from my husband's surprise 60th birthday weekend at The Grand and have had a great time. 14 family and friends spent 2 nights bed, breakfast and dinner and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful and the food excellent. We are a group who like good food so we were relieved to find that some of the poor reviews of the food that we had read were not confirmed. The restaurant manager was so helpful and the restaurant staff charming.
We slept in a variety of rooms and in the main they were comfortable. Our overall room criticism was the showers which really didn't work very well but this was outweighed by everything else. The viewsare spectacular and to be able to walk down steps straight to the beach was a great bonus. We would certainly return particularly for this type of occasion.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citrus125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
420 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,482 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,730 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing