We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coast path walking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Hotel Swanage
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Abingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coast path walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Special deal through laterooms.com gave us sea views for just £30 per head. A swim, hot tub and sauna after the days hard walking along the coast path, followed by an excellent meal represented good value. We even managed to check the next days weather using a netbook as the hotel included wifi access in the price. The staff were polite and helpful. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jwe906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    336
    142
    89
    46
See reviews for
157
531
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

The staff at this 3 star hotel make it a 5 star, the building is a good quality victorian house, but this head chef makes the difference , the food is out of this world !. the rooms are very comfortable, and a good warm welcome can be absolutly assured. Highly recommended.
a great stay, I will be coming back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

Forget the previous bad reviews! Stayed for 3 nights at special offer rate for dinner, bed and breakfast. Hotel warm and comfortable, sea-view room clean with fantastic outlook of the bay and staff unfailingly polite, friendly and obliging. All food was excellent - we enjoyed the complimentary afternoon tea and mince pies too. Overall, this was really good value for money and we shall certainly be staying there again.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Special 3 night break £55 per person per night for DBB with sea view was excellent value. Both dinner and breakfast well cooked and presented. Staff friendly and effecient. The room with fantastic view over Swanage Bay was a little tired especially the bathroom, but was clean.
If money was spent on the bedrooms then it would come into the excellent category overall. Parking is a problem but not much can be done about that. I cannot understand some of the really bad reviews put on this website in the recent past.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights at special offer rate which was good value. Brilliant views and perfect loaction. Food was very good and service could improve slightly. This was down to staff numbers, as the staff on duty were very efficient. Would have said this hotel was excellent but what let it down was our room , which was under the eaves. Room was clean and newly painted . The carpet had seen better days and needs replacing and broken furniture should be removed or fixed. With a few more finishing touches, this could be a very nice comfy hotel. Would try it again for a short break.

Room Tip: Go for sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MCGL_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed here during the summer with my partner and were lucky enough to have fantastic weather. We stayed in a room at the front overlooking Swanage Bay and this hotel has by far the best views in the area. The hotel decor is similar to that of the hotel in Stephen King's `The Shining' and seemed to serve an older geertion of clientelle primarily. The gym was a great addition and the front garden was very well kept, a beautiful way to spend an evening; having a drink, sitting, overlooking the bay. I think it was a bit over priced for what it was but had a good stay none the less. Make sure you book room facing over the bay (for an extra cost) otherwise it seems a waste.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have just enjoyed a 2 day break at the Grand Hotel, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived, the hotel has just undergone a refit and the bar and restaurant areas are lovely, it also has a lovely large conservatory which overlooks the bay, The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of hot and cold, the evening meals were OK but had a limited choice for vegetarians but overall well cooked.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Haven Hotel
The Haven Hotel
#8 of 13 in Poole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.6 mi away
Harbour Heights Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#9 of 13 in Poole
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Swanage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Swanage

Property: Grand Hotel Swanage
Address: Burlington Road, Swanage BH19 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HRS and LateRooms so you can book your Grand Hotel Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Swanage Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing