We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Very Enjoyable Stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Island View

Island View's spectacular seafront location.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Island View's spectacular seafront location.
A calm evening's vista. Living room through the porthole.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Island View's spectacular seafront location.
A calm evening's vista.
Living room through the porthole.
The newly fitted kitchen interior.
Watch the boats from your own personal seat.
Curl up on this settee and see the world go by below you.
Kitchen/Dining area.
Kitchen area.
Double bedroom.
Watch the sunrise from your double bed.
The Attic bedroom.
The Attic bedroom/spiral staircase.
Island View's sunny hallway.
View across the bay to Ballard Down and Old Harry Rocks.
View from Attic window along Swanage beach to Ballard Down.
Swanage Stone Pier and Quayside.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Swanage, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mrscleans...
Dunmow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed September 25, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We found the place very easy and collection of the key was straight forward, when we entered the property it was very clean and well equipped with most things you would need. sunning views out of most the windows so even on a gloomy day it was nice.
the sound of the Sea to wake up and going to sleep too was very relaxing.

the only thing that was lacking was internet connection

will certainly book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locations and Views
Liked least: amount of stairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and I'm v.glad Island View delivered a great holiday base for you. Swanage has a good number of wifi hotspots, so while it is good to "stay in touch", I do have many returning guests like to have a real break from everyday life!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pipmunch
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Again!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is our second visit to this beautiful apartment, and it was every bit as perfect as the first time we came.
The location is one of the best in Swanage, and the apartment has everything needed for an amazing stay.
The weather was beautiful all week, which made for an even better stay!
Thank you so much for contributing to a fantastic holiday, making fabulous memories in beautiful Swanage.
See you next year!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
I am delighted that Island View and I have contributed in some small way to making your summer break a success :) Looking forward to seeing you again in 2017.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megalev
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lives up to its name”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brilliant, girlfriend booked this for my birthday without me knowing, just directed me on the way there (from Gloucester). Really good homely place, actually did some relaxing which never happens. Ann couldn't have been any more helpful with booking and during the stay, even put some balloons up for me (it was my birthday).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, location was perfect
Liked least: Showers a bit old school, nothing to worry about though
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2015
Absolutely delighted that the "surprise birthday break" worked so well - look forward to seeing you both in Swanage again soon :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderfully located, comfortable apartment with stunning views. I would thoroughly recommend Island View.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 31, 2015
Delighted you all enjoyed your week in Swanage - look forward to welcoming you back next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pipmunch
leicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great apartment, lovely landlady, beautiful Swanage. BRILLIANT!!!!!”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous holiday here. The flat was perfect. The location was brilliant, couldn't have been any better. The place was fully equipped and we wanted for nothing. The beautiful view only added to our brilliant stay. The booking, key collection/drop off was smooth friendly and hassle free. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone looking to stay on beautiful Swanage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of Island View and I'm so pleased that your stay in Swanage gave you all a great holiday. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzy7619
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment was in the perfect spot for us, right on the seafront with a fabulous seaview, with the beach, shops, pubs and cafes on the doorstep. Fab having parking too, but didnt move the car once as all we wanted was in walking distance. The apartment itself was very cmfortable and clean with plenty of space for us and all the essentials. The landlady met us and was lovely and helpful as were the other people we met in the town. We would definately return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Island View whilst attending your friend's special occasion. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was such a good find. We have just returned from our second trip, and have already booked for next year.
A lovely central position, in a welcoming flat with beautiful views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Nothing to include
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
Thank you for all your wonderful comments - I'm delighted that Island View lived up to it's reputation second time round and look forward to welcoming you back again in 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing