We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS HOTEL IN SWANAGE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“FABULOUS HOTEL IN SWANAGE”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have just spent New Year at the above hotel. Well I thoroughly recommend this hotel. If you book at the Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal rate you get a marvellous restaurant style meal with 3 courses included. Its is like eating in a first class restaurant. You can also have a selection of bar meals if you have Bed and Breakfast.

We had a room in the Louisa Lodge, which is a new builtd with a sea view and balcony room 37. Very handy as it is so close to the car park. Yes we had to walk down to the main house for our meals but it was worth it.

However if you want to have an even bigger room stay in the main hotel which used to be a nunnery. The Hotel is only a short walk from the town, bus station and steam railway and beach.

The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly - nothing was too much for them.

Room Tip: Rooms 37 and 38 had a balcony and nice sea view. Room 40 had a fantastic view of the bay. Room 28 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAT S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    196
    77
    25
    28
See reviews for
85
287
36
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

this hotel was extremely disappointing. the service was awful. the room we were given would have been more fitting in a carehome rather than a 3 star hotel which charges £140 per night.

there is not much else to say, except don't stay here. it wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NottsLegalEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Once again my wife and I returned to Swanage for Christmas dinner on the Steam Train (which was excellent) and to stay the weekend of the 7th to 9th December at the wonderfully quirky Purbeck House Hotel.
The place is a 1 off, not part of some anonimous chain. The staff are friendly and helpfull and breakfast was lovley. Our room was warm and inviting with a fantastic view of the bay and the complimentry bottle of wine was a nice touch.
The number 1 place to stay in Dorset

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalkyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

The main part of the hotel provides a warm and homely environment. The hotel part is not modern, ie it is not glass and stainless steel, just warm wood. We are always well looked after when visiting the hotel and have always had a superior room made avaiable for us. The superior rooms are large and airy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterloovilleDavid_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Dorset, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had our staff Xmas party here this last weekend and what a truly great evening it was. The venue is gorgeous and full of charachter as it used to be a convent many years ago. I certainly remember it when it was. There are some stunning original features retained and it gives a feeling of timelessness. The attentiveness of the staff was second to none. From the moment we stepped through the door and were offered a glass of mulled wine, the ordering of starters and pudding and served from the carvery by the charming chefs was seamless. Top marks to the chef who made our vegan chocolate brownie for myself and a colleague. DELICIOUS!!! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room was spacious and airy, well it would be, it was like a giant conservatory. There was plenty of room for everyone. Someties at these do's one an feel hemmed in. Nice touch to have the disco all organised by the hotel itself. The food was delicious and generous and piping hot. The only disappointment, for me, was that I couldnt have any of the most gorgeous looking roast potatoes and parsnips because they were cooked in butter; being a vegan, just couldnt do it. Please, if we come next year, can you cook them in veg oil/ Please, please, please!!!. A massive thank you to all the staff at the Purbeck House Hotel for helping to make our party special. Will definately be booking this again for next year. Stunning venue. I loved the room which must have been the chapel. Quite eerie because there was a big piano in that room with no ne playing but there was piano music wafting in the room. Nice touch. All in all. Great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyjiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very last minute booking - literally on the day we travelled. Very good value. The staff were all briliiant - helpful, knowledgeable. They made this a really enjoyable one night stay. Great choice for breakfast. Restaurant looked good, but being tired, we went for a bar meal. Good value and good beer.

Room Tip: We were at the top of the hotel. Very quiet and comfortable. Nice and warm, even on a cold December...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We love Swanage and have spent many a happy holiday when the children were small, mostly self-catering. So we thought a couple of nights in a hotel would be lovely. Swanage is still lovely, the Purbeck House Hotel is not! We arrived on Friday afternoon 16th Nov and found that there was plenty of parking and all looked good. We walked through the unkept gardens and found the reception via a back door. Receptionist was cheerful and told us we were on the first floor of Louisa Lodge. I reminded her that I have a Gluten Free diet and she confirmed this was on the booking form. (We booked with 'Late rooms', £179 for two nights B & B). She gave us directions and sent us off to find the room ourselves. We found our room on the 1st floor, which was spacious and very clean, so we thought 'great'. The bathroom on first appearance seemed clean, but on closer inspection there was dust on the toilet roll holder and the general decor was poor, there was even mould on the back of the bathroom door where wet towels had been hung. Towels were clean, but small, (I could only just get one round me and i'm a size 10/12!). The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep and was really looking forward to breakfast. This is served in a large conservatory. The staff seemed quite friendly and I noticed on the form where they ticked off our room number it said 'wheat free'. When the waiter came to ask what we wanted I asked if there was any Gluten free bread. He said he would check with the chef, he returned and said that it had been ordered, but had not arrived. I was not pleased! I ordered bacon, mushrooms and beans. The mushrooms were out of tin and tasted disgusting. So I didn't eat them. The buffet was very poor, tinned fruit, bread, cheap yogurt and jam. When we had finished what we ate, we went to Reception to complain, the receptionist said she was sorry, and I told here there was no excuse and there is a very good Co-op five minutes walk away. Next morning when we went to breakfast, there was a loaf of Gluten Free bread on the buffet table, still in its wrapper as much as to say, we've got it help yourself. It would have been nice if the staff had have said, we have your bread for you and is it on the table for you. For the price we paid we expected much better service. All in all very disappointing. We have spent many happy holidays in Europe and have found the staff to be most accommodating and have made sure to check that the food is OK for me to eat. The British catering fraternity have a lot to learn!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucille53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#2 of 6 in Swanage
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#4 of 6 in Swanage
420 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Haven Hotel
Haven Hotel
#7 of 13 in Poole
1,482 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandbanks Hotel
Sandbanks Hotel
#10 of 13 in Poole
1,727 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin Poole
Hotel du Vin Poole
#4 of 13 in Poole
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge

Property: Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
Address: 91 High Street, Swanage BH19 2LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Swanage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Purbeck House Hotel, "An Oasis of Relaxation and Enjoyment." Purbeck House Hotel is a family-run hotel steeped in over a century of history. Nestled in extensive gardens in the centre of Swanage, close to shopping centre, Pub, Restaurant, this unique family-run hotel combines the atmosphere of a traditional country house with all the amenities of a modern hotel. Steeped in history, the 38 bedrooms are divided between the main house, constructed in 1875, and the newly-built Louisa Lodge (completed in 2003). All of the bedrooms are en suite, Tea/Coffee making facilities, LED HD Flat Screen TV, Iphone Docking Station, Iron and Iron Board, Direct Dial Telephone, Free Broadband WiFi Connection and some have sea or garden views. The hotel has a large car park and is only 300 yards from the sea front and the clean, sandy beaches.This Family howne this Hotel for the last 15 Years ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Swanage
Purbeck House Hotel And Louisa Lodge
Purbeck Hotel Louisa
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge Swanage, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing